Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Assessment and Update on the Northern Goshawk

Species Information

Common names of species:
Northern Goshawk Laingi subspecies
Queen Charlotte Goshawk subspecies of Northern Goshawk
Scientific name:
Accipiter gentilis laingi
Classification:
Bird

Description and Taxonomy

The Queen Charlotte Goshawk is a subspecies of Northern Goshawk (hereafter goshawk), a medium-sized, robust forest raptor. Three subspecies have been recognized in North America: A. g. atricapillus, A. g. apache and A. g. laingi, the Queen Charlotte Goshawk. A. g. atricapillus is found throughout forested areas of North America, except on the northwest coast, the extreme southwest USA, and Mexico (Squires and Reynolds 1997). A. g. apache occurs in southern Arizona, New Mexico and Mexico (Whaley and White 1994). A. g. laingi (Queen Charlotte Goshawk) occurs in southeast Alaska (Titus et al. 1994), on the coastal islands of British Columbia (American Ornithologists’ Union 1957), and, perhaps, the Olympic Peninsula (Beebe 1974). These subspecies are defined on the basis of colour and morphological differences (Taverner 1940), but the genetic validity of the apache and laingi subspecies is under debate. No significant genetic differences were found in blood samples of the three subspecies (Gavin and May 1995), but samples from Vancouver Island or the Queen Charlotte Islands, which are the core range for Queen Charlotte Goshawks (Iverson et al. 1996) were not used in the analysis. Flatten et al. (1998) compared morphometric data from captured birds in southeast Alaska and Vancouver Island, and from museum specimens from the Queen Charlotte Islands, and confirmed that the Queen Charlotte Goshawk is smaller and darker than A. g. atricapillus.

Distribution

Global

Goshawks are widely distributed in boreal and temperate forests of the Holarctic. In North America, it ranges from near the tree line in Alaska and northern Canada south to Mexico in the west, and Pennsylvania in the east. In Eurasia, it occurs from Great Britain, Scandinavia, northern Russia, and Siberia south to southern Europe, Iran, the Himalayan Mountains, eastern China, and Japan (American Ornithologists’ Union 1983; Squires and Reynolds 1997).

North America

Goshawks are resident in forested areas from near tree line in west-central Alaska across northern Canada. On the Pacific coast, it is resident south to Washington. In the interior, it is resident south throughout Canada to the southwestern USA, northern Mexico, the Great Lakes states, and the Appalachian Mountains in northeastern USA. (American Ornithologists’ Union 1983; Johnsgard 1990; Marshall 1992; Duncan and Kirk 1995; Braun et al. 1996; Squires and Reynolds 1997). The Queen Charlotte Goshawk occurs in southeast Alaska (Titus et al. 1994), on the coastal islands of British Columbia (American Ornithologists’ Union 1957), and the Olympic Peninsula (Beebe 1974), and, perhaps, coastal Washington and Oregon (Jewett et al. 1953). See Figure 1.

Map of the Canadian distribution of the Northern Goshawk Laingi subspecies.

Figure 1: Canadian Distribution of the Northern Goshawk Laingi Subspecies

Canada

In Canada , goshawks are resident throughout forested parts of the country from the Yukon south through British Columbia, across the northern forested parts of the prairie provinces, and most of Ontario, Quebec, and Labrador (Duncan and Kirk 1995; Squires and Reynolds 1997). The Queen Charlotte Goshawk occurs only in coastal British Columbia (Campbell et al. 1990), mainly on the Queen Charlotte Islands and Vancouver Island (American Ornithologists’ Union 1957), and probably on other large coastal islands (McClaren 1997). Although evidence for occurrence on the coastal mainland of British Columbia is generally lacking (T. Ethier pers. comm. in Duncan and Kirk 1995; R.W. Campbell pers. comm. in Crocker-Bedford 1994), it seems likely that the Queen Charlotte Goshawk occurs on the north and central mainland coast. For example, one radio-tagged Queen Charlotte Goshawk, originally captured on northeastern Vancouver Island, dispersed to Loughborough Inlet on the coastal mainland, 15 km from Vancouver Island (D. Doyle pers. comm.).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’Autour des palombes (2000)

Information sur l'espèce

Noms communs de l’espèce :
Autour des palombes de la sous-espèce laingi
Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, sous-espèce de l’Autour des palombes
Nom scientifique :
Accipiter gentilis laingi
Groupe taxinomique :
Oiseaux

Description et taxinomie :

L’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte est une sous-espèce de l’Autour des palombes, un rapace forestier trapu de taille moyenne. On reconnaît trois sous-espèces en Amérique du Nord : l’A. g. atricapillus, l’A. g. apache et l’A. g. laingi (Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte). L’A. g. atricapillus se trouve dans toutes les régions boisées d’Amérique du Nord, sauf sur la côte nord-ouest, dans l’extrême sud-ouest des États-Unis et au Mexique (Squires et Reynolds, 1997). L’A. g. apache se trouve dans le sud de l’Arizona, au Nouveau-Mexique et au Mexique (Whaley et White, 1994). L’A. g. laingi (Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte) se trouve dans le sud-est de l’Alaska (Titus et al., 1994), sur les îles côtières de la Colombie-Britannique (American Ornithologists’ Union, 1957) et, peut-être, sur la presqu’île Olympic (Beebe, 1974). Ces sous-espèces sont définies sur la base de différences morphologiques et de couleur (Taverner, 1940), mais la validité génétique des sous-espèces apache et laingi ne fait pas l’unanimité. On n’a en effet relevé aucune différence génétique notable dans les échantillons de sang des trois sous-espèces (Gavin et May, 1995), mais aucun échantillon n’a été prélevé sur l’île de Vancouver ou les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, soit dans l’aire de répartition centrale de l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte (Iverson et al., 1996), aux fins de cette analyse. Flatten et al. (1998), qui ont comparé les données morphométriques d’oiseaux capturés dans le sud-est de l’Alaska et sur l’île de Vancouver et des spécimens de musée des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, confirment que l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte est plus petit et d’une couleur plus sombre que l’A. g. atricapillus.

Répartition

Répartition mondiale

L’Autour des palombes est largement réparti dans les forêts boréales et tempérées holarctiques. En Amérique du Nord, son aire de répartition va des environs de la limite des arbres en Alaska et dans le nord du Canada jusqu’au Mexique au sud-ouest et jusqu’à la Pennsylvanie au sud-est. En Eurasie, on le trouve de la Grande-Bretagne, la Scandinavie, le nord de la Russie et la Sibérie jusqu’au sud de l’Europe, à l’Iran, à l’Himalaya, à l’est de la Chine et au Japon (American Ornithologists’ Union, 1983; Squires et Reynolds, 1997).

Répartition en Amérique du Nord

L’Autour des palombes vit dans les régions boisées, depuis les environs de la limite des arbres dans le centre-ouest de l’Alaska et le nord du Canada. C’est un résident de la côte du Pacifique jusqu’au Washington. Dans l’intérieur, on le trouve au sud dans tout le Canada, jusqu’au sud-ouest des États-Unis, dans le nord du Mexique, dans les États des Grands Lacs et la chaîne des Appalaches du nord-est des États-Unis (American Ornithologists’ Union, 1983; Johnsgard, 1990; Marshall, 1992; Duncan et Kirk, 1995; Braun et al., 1996; Squires et Reynolds, 1997). L’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte fréquente le sud-est de l’Alaska (Titus et al., 1994), les îles côtières de la Colombie-Britannique (American Ornithologists’ Union, 1957), la presqu’île Olympic (Beebe, 1974) et, peut-être, la côte du Washington et de l’Oregon (Jewett et al., 1953). Voir la figure 1.

Figure 1 : Carte de distribution au Canada de l'Autour des palombes de la sous-espèce laingi

Figure 1 : Autour des palombes de la sous-espèce laingi - distribution au Canada

Répartition au Canada

Au Canada, l’Autour des palombes vit dans toutes les régions boisées du pays, du Yukon à la Colombie-Britannique, dans les régions boisées du nord des provinces des Prairies et dans la majeure partie de l’Ontario, du Québec et du Labrador (Duncan et Kirk, 1995; Squires et Reynolds, 1997). L’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte ne se rencontre que sur les côtes de la Colombie-Britannique (Campbell et al., 1990), surtout sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte et l’île de Vancouver (American Ornithologists’ Union, 1957), et probablement sur d’autres grandes îles côtières (McClaren, 1997). Bien qu’on manque généralement de preuves de son occurrence sur la côte continentale de la Colombie-Britannique (T. Ethier, comm. pers., in Duncan et Kirk, 1995; R.W. Campbell, comm. pers., in Crocker-Bedford, 1994), il est probable qu’il fréquente la côte nord et centrale du continent. Par exemple, un individu muni d’un radio-émetteur, capturé à l’origine dans le nord-est de l’île de Vancouver, s’est dispersé jusqu’au bras Loughborough, sur la côte du continent, à 15 km de l’île de Vancouver (D. Doyle, comm. pers.).