Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status on the Northern Goshawk (2000)

Population Size and Trends

Inventory Results

Goshawks are a rare to uncommon forest raptor throughout forested parts of British Columbia; until recently, provincial records of nesting were relatively few (Campbell et al. 1990). During the last few years, inventories of nesting goshawks have occurred in several regions of British Columbia in response to the high conservation priority placed on this species. Surveys in coastal British Columbia located 41 Queen Charlotte Goshawk nests on Vancouver Island during 1991-1999: 1 nest-1991, 4 nests- 1994, 6 nests-1995, 8 nests-1996, 9 nests-1997, 7 nests-1998, 6 nests-1999 (McClaren 1999; D. Doyle pers. comm.). On the Queen Charlotte Islands, 5 active nests have been reported during 1995-1999: 1 nest-1995, 2 nests-1996, 0 nests-1997, 1 nest-1998, 1 nest-1999 (Chytyk and Dhanwant 1999; Chytyk et al. 1999).

Population Estimates

A habitat capability model developed for the Queen Charlotte Goshawk, estimated 1,700 pairs in coastal British Columbia and 800 pairs in southeast Alaska (Crocker-Bedford 1990b). The British Columbia estimate included the coastal mainland even though it is uncertain if the Queen Charlotte Goshawk occurs there. More recent refinements to the model reduced the estimate for southeast Alaska to 100-200 pairs (Crocker-Bedford 1994). Although a new estimate for British Columbia was not made, Crocker-Bedford (1994) suggested the British Columbia population was substantially less than 1,700 pairs. This conclusion seems reasonable given the results of recent surveys on Vancouver Island (McClaren 1997, 1998, 1999) and the Queen Charlotte Islands (Chytyk et al. 1998; Chytyk and Dhanwant 1999). However, the accuracy of these estimates are questioned by other goshawk experts. Even so, results from the above-mentioned surveys suggest that densities, although uncalculated as yet, on Vancouver Island are possibly much higher than on the Queen Charlotte Islands.

If we use the maximum of Crocker-Bedford’s (1994) revised population estimate for southeast Alaska (200 pairs), and apply the same reduction (25% of his 1990 estimate) to his original British Columbia estimate (1,700 pairs), then there would be an estimated 425 pairs of Queen Charlotte Goshawks in coastal British Columbia. 

The Queen Charlotte Goshawk is known to nest on large coastal islands (West Cracroft, Quadra and E. Thurlow islands (E. McClaren pers. comm.) and perhaps the north and central coastal mainland of British Columbia (Campbell et al. 1990; Crocker-Bedford 1994). The coastal mainland is comprised of many rugged small islands and islets and steep glacial fjords and high alpine areas. These terrain types offer few areas of preferred Queen Charlotte Goshawk nesting habitat, i.e., lower elevation moderate slopes (McClaren 1999; Chytyk and Dhanwant 1999). It is thought that the drier biogeoclimatic zones on the east side of Vancouver Island contain the best Queen Charlotte Goshawk nesting habitat in British Columbia (D. Doyle pers. comm.). The coastal mainland is somewhat wetter than eastern Vancouver Island and, possibly, does not offer as good quality nesting habitat as is found on Vancouver Island.

We estimate that about 10% of Vancouver Island, mainly in the northeast, has been inventoried for nesting Queen Charlotte Goshawks (D. Doyle pers. comm.). Forty-one Queen Charlotte Goshawk nests have been reported by McClaren (1999) during the last 5 years. If we assume that those 41 nests have been found in about 10% of the landscape, that the area surveyed is relatively high quality goshawk, and the remainder of unsurveyed habitat is somewhat lower quality, then a reasonable population estimate for Vancouver Island may be about 300 pairs.

We suggest that a conservative estimate of the relative density of Queen Charlotte Goshawks on the Queen Charlotte Islands is about 50% of that found on Vancouver Island, for the following reasons:

  1. Generally, it is thought that goshawk territories increase in size the higher the latitude (Squires and Reynolds 1997). The Queen Charlotte Islands is almost 4o latitude further north of Vancouver Island and, consequently, territory size on the Queen Charlotte Islands is likely slightly larger than on Vancouver Island. On Vancouver Island, the closest inter-territory distance is 3.2 km, while a cluster of 5 territories averaged approximately 6 km apart (McClaren 1999). Using the average of 6 km inter-territory distance as the diameter of a circular territory, a rough estimate of territory size for Vancouver Island would be about 2800 ha. Territory sizes in southeast Alaska and, based on our impressions, probably the Queen Charlotte Islands, appear to be considerably larger than those suggested by data for Vancouver Island.

  2. The Queen Charlotte Islands contain proportionately less potential nesting habitat than Vancouver Island. The northeast portion of Graham Island, the northern of the two large islands on the Queen Charlotte archipelago, is a large area of stunted lodgepole pine forest and open bogs, generally considered low quality nesting habitat (Johnsgard 1990; Squires and Reynolds 1997). The southern portion of Moresby Island, the southern of the two large islands, is mostly rugged, small islands and islets, that do not contain many moderate slopes or flatter valley bottoms, preferred nesting habitat of Queen Charlotte Goshawks (McClaren 1999; Chytyk and Dhanwant 1999). Relatively, Vancouver Island does not have many stunted forests, islands or islets, however, it does have a greater proportion of alpine and subalpine areas. As well, the majority of second growth found on the Queen Charlotte Islands is relatively young and generally not suitable for nesting habitat (Chytyk and Dhanwant 1997). Large-scale logging did not start to impact the landscape significantly until the mid to late 1960s on the Queen Charlotte Islands and, consequently, there are few large areas of second growth >50 years old. This contrasts with Vancouver Island where the rate of commercial logging accelerated in the 1940s and, as a result, there is significantly more areas of second-growth forest old enough to provide nesting habitat.

  3. There is a smaller prey base on the Queen Charlotte Islands than on Vancouver Island. Provincial records show that several key prey species of grouse, woodpecker and medium-sized songbird are absent from the Queen Charlotte Islands, but are present on Vancouver Island (Campbell et al. 1990, 1997). The absence of these species on the Queen Charlotte Islands may have a more dramatic effect on Queen Charlotte Goshawk populations during winter months (Chytyk and Dhanwant 1999) when starvation is a major cause of death, as noted on Vancouver Island (McClaren 1999).

  4. Population inventories conducted on Vancouver Island and the Queen Charlotte Islands provide some evidence for lower population densities on the Queen Charlotte Islands. Inventories have been conducted on Vancouver Island between 1994-1999 and on the Queen Charlotte Islands between 1995-1998. During the two inventory periods, 41 nests were found on Vancouver Island while 5 nests (approximately 12% of 41) were found on the Queen Charlotte Islands. Because survey efforts were greater on Vancouver Island than on the Queen Charlotte Islands, but not sufficiently greater to account for the much higher success in nest detection, we suggest densities on the Queen Charlotte Islands are lower rather than higher.

The Queen Charlotte Islands has an area of 9,596 km2 and is roughly 31% the size of Vancouver Island at 31,284 km2. Using the 31% geographical area proportion and the conservative estimate of the population density on the Queen Charlotte Islands being half that of Vancouver Island, then, we suggest that the Queen Charlotte Islands has an estimated population of approximately 50 pair of Queen Charlotte Goshawks. These estimates suggest that about 14% (41 of 300 estimated pairs) on Vancouver Island, and 10% (5 of 50 estimated pairs) on the Queen Charlotte Islands of the population has been documented by surveys. These percentages seem reasonable given the areas surveyed, the results of those surveys, and the area remaining to be surveyed.

The status of goshawks breeding on the coastal mainland is uncertain. They may be Queen Charlotte Goshawks, as assumed by Crocker-Bedford (1990, 1994), A.g. atricapillus, or a mixture of both. However, if we ignore the possible population on the mainland coast and other coastal islands, we suggest that a conservative population estimate of Queen Charlotte Goshawks in British Columbia is 350 pairs. If we include the mainland coast and other coastal islands, then we estimate >425 pairs.

Population Trends

Population trends are unknown in British Columbia and, apparently, anywhere else in western North America. Some studies which report declines have apparently not applied sufficiently rigorous statistical methods to determine trends (Kennedy 1997). However, Crocker-Bedford (1998) and Smallwood (1998) point out that it may be nearly impossible (due to practical factors such as costs) to obtain a data set for this raptor species with sufficient rigour to prove any trend statistically. For the Queen Charlotte Goshawk, Crocker-Bedford (1990b) estimated that habitat for 1150 pairs has been converted to early seral forest in southeast Alaska and coastal British Columbia due to logging of old-growth forests. Even if Crocker-Bedford’s predictions were inaccurate (Kennedy 1997, 1998), he suggested (Crocker-Bedford 1998), and we agree, the trend seems to be inevitably downward for Queen Charlotte Goshawks in British Columbia because of the extent of logging of old-growth and mature second-growth forests on the coast.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et rapport sur l'Autour des palombe

Taille et tendances des populations

Résultat des relevés

L’Autour des palombes est un rapace rare ou peu commun dans toutes les régions boisées de la Colombie-Britannique; jusqu’à récemment, les données provinciales sur la nidification étaient relativement peu nombreuses (Campbell et al., 1990). Depuis quelques années, on procède à des relevés des Autours des palombes nicheurs dans plusieurs régions de la Colombie-Britannique en réponse à la grande priorité accordée à la conservation de l’espèce. Les relevés effectués sur les côtes de la Colombie-Britannique ont ainsi permis de localiser 41 nids d’Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte sur l’île de Vancouver de 1991 à 1999 : 1 nid en 1991, 4 nids en 1994, 6 nids en 1995, 8 nids en 1996, 9 nids en 1997, 7 nids en 1998 et 6 nids en 1999 (McClaren, 1999; D. Doyle, comm. pers.). Sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, on a signalé 5 nids actifs de 1995 à 1999 : 1 nid en 1995, 2 nids en 1996, 0 nid en 1997, 1 nid en 1998 et 1 nid en 1999 (Chytyk et Dhanwant, 1999; Chytyk et al., 1999).

Estimations des populations

Au moyen d’un modèle de capacité de l’habitat élaboré pour l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, on a estimé la population de cette sous-espèce à 1 700 couples dans les régions côtières de la Colombie-Britannique et à 800 couples dans le sud-est de l’Alaska (Crocker-Bedford, 1990b). L’estimation pour la Colombie-Britannique comprend la côte du continent, même s’il n’est pas sûr qu’il s’y trouve des Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte. Des raffinements apportés récemment au modèle ont réduit l’estimation pour le sud-est de l’Alaska à 100 à 200 couples (Crocker-Bedford, 1994). Sans toutefois avoir réalisé de nouvelle estimation pour la Colombie-Britannique, Crocker-Bedford (1994) a émis l’hypothèse que la population de Colombie-Britannique était nettement inférieure à 1 700 couples. Cette conclusion paraît raisonnable au vu des résultats des relevés effectués récemment sur l’île de Vancouver (McClaren, 1997, 1998, 1999) et les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte (Chytyk et al., 1998; Chytyk et Dhanwant, 1999). Cependant, l’exactitude de ces estimations est contestée par d’autres spécialistes de l’Autour des palombes. Même dans ce cas, les résultats des relevés cités plus haut indiquent que la densité, bien qu’elle n’ait pas encore été calculée, pourrait être beaucoup plus forte sur l’île de Vancouver que sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte.

Si nous partons du maximum de l’estimation révisée par Crocker-Bedford (1994) pour la population du sud-est de l’Alaska (200 couples) et que nous appliquons la même réduction (25 p. 100 de son estimation de 1990) à sa première estimation de la population de Colombie-Britannique (1 700 couples), on estimerait alors à 425 couples le nombre d’Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte sur les côtes de la Colombie-Britannique.

On sait que l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte niche sur de grandes îles côtières, notamment les îles West Cracroft, Quadra et East Thurlow (E. McClaren, comm. pers.), et, peut-être, dans le nord et le centre de la côte continentale de la Colombie-Britannique (Campbell et al., 1990; Crocker-Bedford, 1994). La côte continentale se compose d’une foule de petites îles et îlets accidentés, de fjords glaciaires abrupts et de zones alpines en altitude. Ces types de terrain ne présentent guère de zones d’habitat de nidification de choix pour l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, qui préfère les pentes modérées situées à faible altitude (McClaren, 1999; Chytyk et Dhanwant, 1999). On croit que le zones biogéoclimatiques plus sèches du côté est de l’île de Vancouver renferment le meilleur habitat de nidification pour l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte en Colombie-Britannique (D. Doyle, comm. pers.). La côte continentale étant un peu plus humide que l’est de l’île de Vancouver, elle n’offre peut-être pas d’habitat de nidification d’aussi bonne qualité que l’île de Vancouver.

Nous estimons qu’environ 10 p. 100 de l’île de Vancouver, surtout au nord-est, a fait l’objet de relevés d’Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte nicheurs (D. Doyle, comm. pers.). McClaren (1999) a signalé 41 nids d’Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte au cours des cinq dernières années. Si nous supposons que ces 41 nids ont été trouvés dans environ 10 p. 100 du paysage, que la zone des relevés est un habitat de qualité relativement bonne pour l’Autour des palombes et que le reste de l’habitat est d’une qualité un peu moindre, nous pouvons raisonnablement estimer la population de l’île de Vancouver à environ 300 couples.

Nous formulons l’hypothèse qu’une estimation conservatrice de la densité relative des Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte est d’environ 50 p. 100 de celle qu’on observe sur l’île de Vancouver, pour les raisons suivantes :

  1. On croit généralement que la superficie du territoire de l’Autour des palombes augmente avec la latitude (Squires et Reynolds, 1997). Comme les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte se trouvent à près de 4º de latitude au nord de l’île de Vancouver, la superficie des territoires sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte est probablement légèrement plus élevée que sur l’île de Vancouver. Sur l’île de Vancouver, la distance interterritoriale minimale est de 3,2 km et on a observé un groupe de cinq territoires distants d’environ 6 km les uns des autres (McClaren, 1999). En prenant cette distance interterritoriale moyenne de 6 km comme diamètre de chaque territoire circulaire, on obtient une estimation grossière de la superficie des territoires sur l’île de Vancouver d’environ 2 800 ha. La superficie des territoires dans le sud-est de l’Alaska et, d’après notre impression, probablement sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte semble considérablement plus vaste que celle qu’indiquent les données sur l’île de Vancouver.

  2. Les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte offrent, toutes proportions gardées, moins d’habitat de nidification potentiel que l’île de Vancouver. La portion nord-est de l’île Graham, la plus au nord des deux grandes îles de l’archipel, est une vaste zone de forêt de pins tordus rachitiques, qu’on considère généralement comme un habitat de nidification de piètre qualité (Johnsgard, 1990; Squires et Reynolds, 1997). La portion sud de l’île Moresby, la plus au sud des deux grandes îles, se compose principalement de petites îles et d’îlets accidentés qui ne renferment guère de pentes modérées ou de fonds de vallée plutôt plats, qui sont l’habitat de nidification préféré de l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte (McClaren, 1999; Chytyk et Dhanwant, 1999). Par comparaison, l’île de Vancouver ne renferme pas beaucoup de forêts rabougries, d’îles ou d’îlets, mais comporte en revanche une plus forte proportion de zones alpines ou subalpines. De même, la majorité des forêts secondaires qui poussent sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte sont relativement jeunes et ne constituent généralement pas un habitat de nidification adéquat (Chytyk et Dhanwant, 1997). Ce n’est qu’après 1965 que l’exploitation forestière à grande échelle a commencé à avoir un impact important sur le paysage des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte; il n’y a donc guère de vastes zones de forêt secondaire de plus de 50 ans. En revanche, sur l’île de Vancouver, le rythme de l’exploitation forestière commerciale s’est accéléré dès les années 1940; il y a donc là nettement plus de zones de forêt secondaire assez âgée pour constituer un habitat de nidification convenable.

  3. Il y a moins de proies sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte que sur l’île de Vancouver. Les relevés provinciaux indiquent en effet que plusieurs espèces proies importantes parmi les tétras, les pics et les oiseaux chanteurs de taille moyenne sont absentes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, mais se trouvent sur l’île de Vancouver (Campbell et al., 1990, 1997). L’absence de ces espèces sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte pourrait avoir un effet plus dramatique sur les populations d’Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte pendant les mois d’hiver (Chytyk et Dhanwant, 1999), alors que le manque de nourriture est une cause importante de décès, comme on l’a noté sur l’île de Vancouver (McClaren, 1999).

  4. Les relevés de la population réalisés sur l’île de Vancouver et les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte donnent certaines indications d’une densité de population plus faible sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte. Des relevés ont été effectués sur l’île de Vancouver de 1994 à 1999 et sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte de 1995 à 1998. Au cours de ces deux périodes de relevés, on a trouvé 41 nids sur l’île de Vancouver et 5 nids (environ 12 p. 100 de 41) sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte. Les relevés ont fait l’objet d’un effort plus important sur l’île de Vancouver que sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, mais l’écart entre les niveaux d’effort n’est pas assez important pour expliquer à lui seul le très grand écart sur le plan du succès de la détection des nids; nous sommes donc d’avis que la densité est plutôt inférieure que supérieure sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte.

La superficie des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte est de 9 596 km2, soit environ 31 p. 100 de celle de l’île de Vancouver, qui est de 31 284 km2. À partir de cette proportion de 31 p. 100 de la superficie géographique et de l’estimation conservatrice selon laquelle la densité de la population sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte est moitié moindre que sur l’île de Vancouver, nous postulons que les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte abritent une population estimative d’environ 50 couples d’Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte. D’après ces estimations, environ 14 p. 100 des couples de l’île de Vancouver (41 couples sur 300) et 10 p. 100 des couples des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte (5 couples sur 50) ont été documentés par les relevés. Ces pourcentages paraissent raisonnables, compte tenu des superficies visées par les relevés, des résultats de ces relevés et de la superficie non visée par les relevés.

La présence d’Autours des palombes reproducteurs sur la côte continentale est incertaine. Il pourrait y avoir là des Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, comme le suppose Crocker-Bedford (1990, 1994), des A. g. atricapillus ou un mélange des deux sous-espèces. Cependant, si nous ignorons la population éventuelle de la côte continentale et des autres îles côtières, nous sommes d’avis qu’une estimation conservatrice de la population d’Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte en Colombie-Britannique est de 350 couples. Si nous incluons la côte du continent et les autres îles côtières, notre estimation passe à plus de 425 couples.

Tendances des populations

On ignore quelles sont les tendances des populations en Colombie-Britannique, tout comme partout ailleurs dans l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, semble-t-il. Certaines études qui concluent à un déclin paraissent n’avoir pas mis en œuvre de méthodes statistiques assez rigoureuses pour que des tendances s’en dégagent (Kennedy, 1997). Toutefois, Crocker-Bedford (1998) et Smallwood (1998) soulignent qu’il pourrait s’avérer quasi impossible (en raison de facteurs pratiques tels que les coûts) d’obtenir un ensemble de données sur cette espèce de rapace avec assez de rigueur pour prouver statistiquement l’existence d’une tendance. Pour ce qui est de l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, Crocker-Bedford (1990b) estime que l’habitat de 1 150 couples a été converti en forêt aux premiers stades biotiques dans le sud-est de l’Alaska et sur les côtes de la Colombie-Britannique en raison de l’exploitation forestière des forêts de peuplements vieux. Même si ses prédictions étaient inexactes (Kennedy, 1997, 1998), Crocker-Bedford indique (Crocker-Bedford, 1998), et nous sommes d’accord avec lui sur ce point, que la tendance semble inévitablement négative pour l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte en Colombie-Britannique à cause de l’ampleur de l’exploitation forestière des peuplements vieux et des forêts secondaires à maturité sur la côte.