Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Assessment and Update on the Northern Goshawk

Special Significance

Status

The United States Department of Interior (USDI Fish and Wildlife Service 1992 in Crocker-Bedford 1994) designated goshawks (including the Queen Charlotte Goshawk) as a Category 2 candidate species for Threatened or Endangered status in 1991; however, the Fish and Wildlife Service no longer maintains a list of Category 2 candidate species (USDI Fish and Wildlife Service 1996 in Iverson et al. 1996). Goshawks are on the Sensitive Species lists of the Pacific Southwest (1981), Southwest (1982), Intermountain (1992), Rocky Mountains (1993) and Alaska (1994) Forest Service Regions. At the state level, goshawks are listed as a high priority species by state working groups of Partners in Flight in Alaska, Arizona, California, Montana, Nevada and New Mexico. In June 1998, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service denied a listing of goshawks (including Queen Charlotte Goshawk) as an Endangered species in the contiguous United States west of the 100th meridian (USDI Fish and Wildlife Service 1998).

On the Pacific coast, the Queen Charlotte Goshawk is ranked as “Critically imperiled globally” or “Imperiled globally” (T1/T2), by the Alaska Natural Heritage Program (West 1993 in Duncan and Kirk 1995; West 1994). In 1994, the Queen Charlotte Goshawk was formally designated as a “species of special concern” by the Alaska Department of Fish and Game (Iverson et al. 1996). A petition to declare the Queen Charlotte Goshawk an Endangered species in the USA was denied in September 1997 (Federal Register 1997).

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) evaluated both subspecies that occur in Canada: the Queen Charlotte Goshawk (which occurs only in British Columbia) was designated Vulnerable, whereas Northern Goshawk (A. g. atricapillus) was designated Not at Risk (Duncan and Kirk 1995).

The British Columbia Conservation Data Centre (CDC) ranks the Queen Charlotte Goshawk as S2B, SZN (imperiled in British Columbia due to rarity and perceived threats to habitat). The Queen Charlotte Goshawk is currently on the British Columbia “Red List” as a candidate species for Endangered or Threatened status (Ministry of Environment, Lands and Parks 1999).

Geographic Isolation

The Queen Charlotte Goshawk is likely distributed from southeast Alaska south through coastal British Columbia to the Olympic Peninsula. Populations in southeast Alaska and the Olympic Peninsula undoubtedly intergrade with populations of A. g. atricapillus (Iverson et al. 1996). Populations on Vancouver Island are likely relatively insular. However, the potential for dispersal of individuals from/to the mainland coast is relatively high given that coastal islands provide natural bridges on northern Vancouver Island and the widest stretch of open water between southern Vancouver Island and the mainland is approximately 30 km. In 1999, a female that was radio tagged as a breeding adult on northern Vancouver Island was tracked in the autumn on the mainland directly across Johnstone Strait (D. Doyle pers. comm.).

The population of Queen Charlotte Goshawks on the Queen Charlotte Islands is likely the most insular of all populations. The Queen Charlotte Islands are separated from the nearest islands in southeast Alaska and islands adjacent to the British Columbia mainland by approximately 60 km. If the rate of migration and dispersal is relatively low, as suggested by most studies on the Queen Charlotte Goshawk (Titus et al. 1994, Iverson et al. 1996; McClaren 1997), then it is likely that the Queen Charlotte Island population is the most genetically distinct. 

Conservation Urgency

The Queen Charlotte Goshawk population on the Queen Charlotte Islands provides the most concerns from a wildlife management perspective. Although sufficient data are lacking, we believe that the population density on the Queen Charlotte Islands is substantially lower than that found on Vancouver Island (Chytyk and Dhanwant 1999; Cooper and Stevens 2000), and we suggest that the population of Queen Charlotte Goshawks on the Queen Charlotte Islands is about 50 pairs. This small population, because of its insularity, also likely represents the most genetically distinct population of Queen Charlotte Goshawks in North America. Consequently, the conservation and protection of the Queen Charlotte Islands population of Queen Charlotte Goshawks is paramount.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’Autour des palombes (2000)

Importance de l'espèce

Situation

Le Département de l’Intérieur des États-Unis (USDI Fish and Wildlife Service, 1992, cité dans Crocker-Bedford, 1994) a désigné l’Autour des palombes (y compris l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte) comme une espèce candidate de catégorie 2 au statut d’espèce menacée ou en voie de disparition en 1991. Cependant, le Fish and Wildlife Service ne conserve plus de liste des espèces candidates de catégorie 2 (USDI Fish and Wildlife Service, 1996, cité dans Iverson et al., 1996). L’Autour des palombes figure sur la liste des espèces sensibles (sensitive species) des régions du Sud-ouest pacifique (1981), du Sud-ouest (1982), Intermontagnarde (1992), des Rocheuses (1993) et de l’Alaska (1994) du Forest Service. À l’échelle des États, il figure sur la liste des espèces prioritaires des groupes de travail du programme Partners in Flight en Alaska, en Arizona, en Californie, au Montana, au Nevada et au Nouveau-Mexique. En juin 1998, le Fish and Wildlife Service des États-Unis a rejeté la candidature de l’Autour des palombes (y compris l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte) au statut d’espèce en voie de disparition dans les États américains contigus à l’ouest du 100e méridien (USDI Fish and Wildlife Service, 1998).

Sur la côte du Pacifique, l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte est considéré « gravement en péril mondialement » ou « en péril mondialement » (T1/T2) par l’Alaska Natural Heritage Program (West, 1993, cité dans Duncan et Kirk, 1995; West, 1994). En 1994, il a été officiellement désigné comme « espèce préoccupante » par l’Alaska Department of Fish and Game (Iverson et al., 1996). Une pétition visant à le déclarer comme espèce en voie de disparition aux États-Unis a été rejetée en septembre 1997 (Federal Register, 1997).

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a évalué les deux sous-espèces qu’on rencontre au Canada : l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte (qui ne se trouve qu’en Colombie-Britannique) a été désigné espèce vulnérable, tandis que l’Autour des palombes (A. g. atricapillus) a été désigné non en péril (Duncan et Kirk, 1995).

Le Centre de données sur la conservation (CDC) de Colombie-Britannique classe l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte dans les catégories S2B, SZN (en péril en Colombie-Britannique en raison de sa rareté et des menaces perçues à l’endroit de son habitat). La sous-espèce figure actuellement sur la « liste rouge » de la Colombie-Britannique en tant qu’espèce candidate au statut d’espèce en voie de disparition ou menacée (Ministry of Environment, Lands and Parks, 1999).

Isolement géographique

L’aire de répartition de l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte s’étend probablement du sud-est de l’Alaska vers le sud, sur toutes les côtes de la Colombie-Britannique, jusqu’à la presqu’île Olympic. Il y a sans aucun doute hybridation des populations du sud-est de l’Alaska et de la presqu’île Olympic avec les populations d’A. g. atricapillus (Iverson et al., 1996). Celles de l’île de Vancouver sont selon toute vraisemblance relativement isolées. Cependant, le potentiel de dispersion des individus entre l’île et la côte du continent est relativement élevé, étant donné que les îles côtières peuvent servir de pont naturel vers le nord de l’île de Vancouver et que le plus large espace d’eaux libres entre le sud de l’île de Vancouver et le continent fait environ 30 km. En 1999, une femelle adulte reproductrice munie d’un radio-émetteur dans le nord de l’île de Vancouver a été retracée à l’automne sur la terre ferme, juste de l’autre côté du détroit de Johnstone (D. Doyle, comm. pers.).

La population d’Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte vivant sur l’archipel du même nom est probablement la plus isolée de toutes les populations. Les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte sont situées à environ 60 km des îles les plus proches du sud-est de l’Alaska et des îles adjacentes à la Colombie-Britannique continentale. Si le taux de migration et de dispersion est relativement faible, comme l’indiquent la plupart des études sur la sous-espèce (Titus et al., 1994; Iverson et al., 1996; McClaren, 1997), il est donc probable que la population de cet archipel est la plus distincte sur le plan génétique.

Urgence des mesures de conservation

La population d’Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte vivant sur l’archipel du même nom est la plus préoccupante du point de vue de la gestion de la faune. Malgré le manque de données sur la question, nous croyons que la densité de la population est nettement plus faible sur cet archipel que sur l’île de Vancouver (Chytyk et Dhanwant, 1999; Cooper et Stevens, 2000), et nous évaluons cette population à environ 50 couples. À cause de son isolement, cette petite population est sans doute aussi la plus distincte sur le plan génétique des populations d’Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte en Amérique du Nord. Par conséquent, la conservation et la protection de la population des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte de cette sous-espèce revêt une importance primordiale.