Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Assessment and Update on the Northern Goshawk

Protection Currently Provided

Section 34 of the Wildlife Act of British Columbia protects goshawks, their eggs, nestlings, and their nests when the nests are occupied. A “nest” is defined as a structure, or part of a structure, prepared by or used by a bird species to hold its eggs or offspring. A nest is considered occupied from the time it is under construction to when fledglings leave the nest.

Persecution (shooting, trapping, poisoning or any other measure of killing) of goshawks in British Columbia is illegal under section 34 of the Wildlife Act, though allowances can be made when domestic animals are being defended. Current penalties for conviction for offences under section 34 include a fine of up to $50,000 and six months in jail for a first offence.

Federal endangered species legislation is currently being developed. The National Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk has been signed by most of the provinces as of the spring of 1998. It states that any province that signs on to the accord commits to developing complementary programs or legislation to meet 14 areas listed on the accord. This includes protection of Red-listed species and their habitat and, therefore, would apply in British Columbia to the Queen Charlotte Goshawk.

The Forest Practices Code of British Columbia has several legal components for the protection of species at risk. Among them are legally established management practices designed to protect critical or limiting habitat of certain species at risk, including the Queen Charlotte Goshawk, that have been signed off as Identified Wildlife by the Chief Forester and the Deputy Minister of Environment, Lands and Parks (Sections 70 Operational Planning Regulation, B.C. Reg. 107/98) (Province of British Columbia 1999).

There has been no estimate of the population of Queen Charlotte Goshawks, or of the relative suitability of habitat that occurs in existing protected areas. Such an assessment was one recommendation in a recent review of the status of goshawks in British Columbia (Cooper and Stevens 2000). We agree that surveys for breeding pairs and habitat assessments in protected areas are required in order to adequately estimate the provincial population and to properly assess the urgency for conservation.

If we assume that the Queen Charlotte Goshawk is evenly distributed across forested areas, which is unlikely, and that most of the populations occur within the Coastal Douglas-fir and Coastal Western Hemlock biogeoclimatic zones, then according to Table 1, about 10% of the population on Vancouver Island and 23% of the population on the Queen Charlotte Islands occurs in protected areas. If we assume that Vancouver Island has 300 pairs and the Queen Charlotte Islands has 50 pairs, then a maximum of 40 pairs may be conserved in protected areas.

Evaluation

The Queen Charlotte Goshawk has a relatively restricted global range, and the bulk of this range occurs in coastal British Columbia. Population sizes in British Columbia are thought to be small, on the order of 350-425 breeding pairs, with most concentrated on Vancouver Island. Protected forested habitat, which may or may not contain Queen Charlotte Goshawks, is limited to about 12% on Vancouver Island and 23% on the Queen Charlotte Islands. Threats to habitat include large-scale industrial logging in habitats that appear to contain the highest value habitat. The two most important causes of concern are the continued harvesting of old-growth forests, and the shortening of rotations for the harvesting of second-growth timber. Fragmentation of contiguous old-growth forest may decrease food availability, decrease availability of suitable nesting habitat, reduce insolation qualities, and increase risk of predation and competition from species better adapted to fragmented forest, all of which are likely to lead to lower population sizes. The adaptability of the Queen Charlotte Goshawk to nesting in younger second-growth stands is uncertain and the long term effects of current logging practices may significantly compromise population stability.

The Queen Charlotte Goshawk has a small population size, a very restricted range in Canada, is subject to large-scale threats to habitat, and has a relatively low capability to increase populations. Long term potential threats of increased fragmentation of old-growth forests remain uncertain, but are likely negative. More positively, it has a widespread distribution within that restricted range, has some adaptability in utilizing second-growth forests, and has a current high legislated priority for habitat conservation. However, because threats to habitat will likely continue, populations appear to be small, and there is a very limited range, we suggest the status of the Queen Charlotte Goshawk should be changed from Vulnerable to Threatened in Canada.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’Autour des palombes (2000)

Protection actuelle

L’article 34 de la Wildlife Act de la Colombie-Britannique protège les Autours des palombes, leurs œufs, leurs oisillons, et leurs nids tant que ceux-ci sont occupés. La loi donne de « nid » la définition suivante : une structure ou une partie d’une structure préparée ou utilisée par une espèce d’oiseau pour y déposer ses œufs ou ses petits. Un nid est considéré occupé de sa construction jusqu’à l’envol des jeunes.

Il est interdit de persécuter un Autour des palombes en Colombie-Britannique (au moyen d’une arme à feu, d’un piège, d’un poison ou de toute autre mesure de mise à mort) en vertu du même article de la Wildlife Act, sauf dans quelques exceptions possibles pour la défense d’animaux domestiques. Les sanctions applicables à une personne reconnue coupable d’une infraction à l’article 34 comprennent une amende d’un montant maximal de 50 000 $ et une peine d’emprisonnement de six mois pour une première infraction.

La législation fédérale sur les espèces en péril est actuellement en cours d’élaboration. Au printemps 1998, la plupart des provinces avaient signé l’Accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril, qui stipule que les provinces signataires de l’accord acceptent d’établir une législation et des programmes complémentaires ou des textes législatifs qui répondront aux 14 conditions énoncées dans l’accord, notamment la protection des espèces menacées et de leur habitat, ce qui, en Colombie-Britannique, s’applique à l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte.

Le Forest Practice Code de la Colombie-Britannique contient plusieurs composantes juridiques pour la protection des espèces en péril, notamment des pratiques de gestion légalement établies qui visent à protéger l’habitat essentiel ou limitatif de certaines espèces en péril, dont l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, considéré comme une espèce sauvage désignée par le chef forestier et le sous-ministre du ministère de l’Environnement, des Terres et des Parcs (article 70 de l’Operational Planning Regulation, B.C. Reg. 107/98) (Province of British Columbia, 1999).

Aucune estimation n’a été faite de la population d’Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, ni de l’adéquation relative de l’habitat qui se trouve dans les zones protégées existantes. Une telle évaluation fait partie des recommandations découlant d’un examen récent de la situation de l’Autour des palombes en Colombie-Britannique (Cooper et Stevens, 2000). Nous convenons tout à fait de la nécessité de réaliser des relevés des couples reproducteurs et des évaluations de l’habitat dans les zones protégées afin d’estimer adéquatement la population de la province et d’établir correctement le niveau d’urgence des mesures de conservation.

Dans l’hypothèse où les Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte seraient répartis également dans les zones boisées, ce qui est peu probable, et où la plupart des populations vivraient dans les zones biogéoclimatiques côtières à douglas et à pruche de l’Ouest, alors, d’après le tableau 1, environ 10 p. 100 de la population de l’île de Vancouver et 23 p. 100 de celle des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte se trouveraient dans des zones protégées. En supposant que l’île de Vancouver abrite 300 couples et les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, 50, au mieux seulement 40 couples seraient préservés dans les zones protégées.

Évaluation

L’aire de répartition mondiale de l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte est relativement restreinte. et la majeure partie se trouve sur les côtes de la Colombie-Britannique. La taille des populations de la Colombie-Britannique serait faible, soit de l’ordre de 350 à 425 couples reproducteurs, dont la plupart sont concentrés sur l’île de Vancouver. L’habitat forestier protégé, qui peut abriter ou pas des Autours des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte, se limite à environ 12 p. 100 sur l’île de Vancouver et 23 p. 100 sur les Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte. La principale menace qui pèse sur l’habitat est l’exploitation forestière industrielle à grande échelle des habitats qui semblent avoir le plus de valeur pour l’espèce. Les deux principales sources d’inquiétude sont la récolte continue des forêts de peuplements vieux et la baisse de la durée de rotation de la récolte des peuplements secondaires. La fragmentation de peuplements contigus pourrait diminuer la disponibilité de la nourriture, réduire la disponibilité d’habitats de nidification adéquats et en abaisser les qualités d’isolation, et accroître le risque de prédation et la concurrence d’espèces mieux adaptées à une forêt fragmentée, tous ces facteurs étant susceptibles d’entraîner une baisse de la taille des populations. La capacité d’adaptation de l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte à la nidification dans des peuplements secondaires plus jeunes est incertaine, et les effets à long terme des pratiques forestières actuelles risquent de compromettre gravement la stabilité des populations.

La taille des populations de l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte est petite, leur aire de répartition au Canada est très limitée, leur habitat subit des menaces à grande échelle et les perspectives de croissance de ces populations sont relativement faibles. Les effets à long terme de la fragmentation accrue des forêts de peuplements vieux demeurent incertains, mais sont probablement négatifs. Sur une note plus positive, l’Autour des palombes est largement répandu dans cette aire de répartition limitée; il fait montre d’une certaine adaptabilité dans son utilisation des forêts secondaires, et la conservation de son habitat bénéficie actuellement d’un haut niveau de priorité. Toutefois, comme les menaces qui pèsent sur son habitat vont probablement perdurer, que les populations semblent petites et que l’aire de répartition est très limitée, nous suggérons que le statut de l’Autour des palombes des Îles-de-la-Reine-Charlotte passe de celui d’espèce vulnérable à celui d’espèce menacée au Canada.