Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Species at Risk (November 2004)

COSEWIC Assessment Results

The tables that follow (Tables 6-9) are organized by status category and then by taxonomic group. For each species, the information provided includes the common name, scientific name, population name, and range of occurrence in Canada (by province, territory or ocean). The most recent date of assessment by COSEWIC is shown. The symbols on the left provide information on the type of status report used as the basis for reassessment for species evaluated against quantitative criteria (see below), and the symbols on the right provide information on the outcome of status reassessments (see explanation of symbols on page three).

The first COSEWIC "Endangered Species List" was issued in 1978. In 1990, it was decided that all species considered by COSEWIC should be included in this document even if the species were in the Not at Risk or Data Deficient categories. Therefore, this document is divided into four sections. The first section (Table 6) includes species assessed and designated as Extinct.  The second section (Table 7) includes species assessed and designated as Extirpated, Endangered, Threatened or Special Concern. The third section (Table 8) includes species assessed and found to be in the Not at Risk category. The fourth section (Table 9) includes species considered by COSEWIC and placed in the Data Deficient category because of insufficient scientific information.

Evaluation with COSEWIC's quantitative criteria

COSEWIC has been using quantitative criteria to assess species' risk of extinction since October 1999. These criteria were adapted from the criteria used by the World Conservation Union (IUCN).

Explanation of type of status report symbols for species evaluated using quantitative criteria:

1 or 1+ Assessment based on a new status report or an update status report. A plus sign (+) indicates the report has an addendum or that the report has been modified.

2 or 2+ Species re-assessed using an existing status report. A plus sign (+) indicates the report has an addendum or that the report has been modified.

Range of Occurrence

The geographical distribution of each species is defined in terms of the provinces, territories and oceans in which the species occurs. This information should not be treated as a complete listing of the jurisdictions that may be legally responsible for the conservation and management of a species. Several guidelines are followed when determining the range of occurrence of a species: for birds, it includes the Canadian breeding and wintering distribution; for marine species, it includes the oceans in which the species occurs (Arctic, Pacific or Atlantic); for freshwater species, it includes the province or territory in which the waterbody occurs; and, for species that occur in brackish waters, move between marine and freshwater environments, or move between oceans and land (e.g., Atlantic Walrus), range of occurrence includes a list of both the oceans and provinces in which the species occurs.

Abbreviations for provinces and territories:

AB  : Alberta
BC : British Columbia
MB : Manitoba
NB : New Brunswick
NL : Newfoundland and Labrador
NS  : Nova Scotia
NT : Northwest Territories
NU : Nunavut
ON : Ontario
PE : Prince Edward Island
QC  : Québec
SK : Saskatchewan
YT : Yukon Territory

Table 6. Species assessed and designated Extinct, with range of occurrence (by province, territory or ocean) and date of last assessment. The historical range of occurrence and the approximate date of disappearance are shown (12 species).

EXTINCT CATEGORY (12)
Taxon/ Assessment DetailsCommon NameScientific NamePopulation NameHistorical Range of OccurrenceExtinction DateAssessment Date
Mammals (2)
1   ↔Caribou dawsoni subspeciesRangifer tarandus dawsoni BC1920sMay 2000
2   ↔Mink, SeaMustela macrodon NB NS Atlantic Ocean1894May 2000
Birds (3)
2   ↔Auk, GreatPinguinus impennis QC NB NS NL1844May 2000
2   ↔Duck, LabradorCamptorhynchus labradorius QC NB NS NL1875May 2000
2   ↔Pigeon, PassengerEctopistes migratorius SK MB ON QC NB PE NS1914May 2000
Reptiles (0)
Amphibians (0)
Fishes (5)
2   ↔Cisco, DeepwaterCoregonus johannae ON1952May 2000
2   ↔Dace, Banff LongnoseRhinichthys cataractae smithi AB1986May 2000
2   ↔Stickleback, Benthic Hadley LakeGasterosteus sp. BC1999May 2000
2   ↔Stickleback, Limnetic Hadley LakeGasterosteus sp. BC1999May 2000
2   ↔Walleye, BlueStizostedion vitreum glaucum ON1965May 2000
Arthropods (0)
Molluscs (1)
2   ↔Limpet, EelgrassLottia alveus alveus QC NS NL1929May 2000
Vascular Plants (0)
Mosses (1)
Moss, Macoun's ShiningNeomacounia nitida ONnot observed since 1864Nov 2002
Lichens (0)

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Espèces canadiennes en péril (Novembre 2004)

Résultats des évaluations du COSEPAC

Les tableaux qui suivent (tableaux 6 à 9) sont organisés par catégorie de statut et par groupe taxinomique. Les renseignements fournis pour chacune des espèces comprennent le nom commun, le nom scientifique, le nom de la population et l'aire d'occurrence au Canada (par province, territoire ou océan). Pour les oiseaux, l'aire d'occurrence inclut les aires canadiennes de reproduction et d'hivernage. La date la plus récente de l'évaluation faite par le COSEPAC est indiquée. Les symboles à la gauche offrent de l'information sur le type de rapport de situation qui a servi de base pour la réévaluation de l'espèce selon les critères quantitatifs (voir ci-dessous), et les symboles à droite offrent de l'information résultant de la réévaluation du statut (voir l'explication des symboles à la page trois du présent document).

La première « Liste des espèces en péril » du COSEPAC a été publiée en 1978. En 1990, il a été décidé que toutes les espèces étudiées par le COSEPAC devraient être incluses dans cette publication, même si elles reçoivent la désignation « non en péril »ou sont classées dans la catégorie « données insuffisantes ». Par conséquent, la publication est divisée en quatre sections. La première section (tableau 6) comprend les espèces évaluées et désignées « disparues ». La deuxième section (tableau 7) comprend les espèces évaluées et désignées « disparues du pays », « en voie de disparition », « menacées » ou « préoccupantes ». La troisième section (tableau 8) comprend les espèces évaluées et classées dans la catégorie « non en péril ». La quatrième section (tableau 9) comprend les espèces étudiées par le COSEPAC et classées dans la catégorie « données insuffisantes » en raison d'une insuffisance de données scientifiques.

Évaluation selon les critères quantitatifs du COSEPAC

Le COSEPAC utilise depuis octobre 1999 des critères quantitatifs pour évaluer le risque de disparition des espèces. Ces critères s'inspirent des critères utilisés par l'Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN).

Explication des symboles relatifs au type de rapport de situation utilisé pour les espèces évaluées au moyen des critères quantitatifs:

1 ou 1+ L’évaluation est fondée sur un nouveau rapport de situation ou sur une mise à jour de rapport de situation. Un signe plus (+) indique que le rapport comporte un addenda ou que le rapport a été modifié.

2 ou 2+ Espèce réévaluée à l'aide d'un rapport de situation existant. Un signe plus (+) indique que le rapport comporte un addenda ou que le rapport a été modifié.

Aire d'occurrence

La répartition géographique de chacune des espèces est définie suivant les provinces, les territoires et les océans où se trouvent les espèces. Cette information ne doit pas être considérée comme une liste complète des compétences qui peuvent être légalement responsables de la conservation et de la gestion d'une espèce. Plusieurs lignes directrices sont suivies au moment de la détermination de l'aire d'occurrence d'une espèce : l'aire d'occurrence pour les oiseaux comprend l'aire de reproduction et d'hivernage au Canada; pour les espèces marines, elle comprend les océans dans lesquels elles se trouvent (océan Arctique, Pacifique ou Atlantique); pour les espèces d'eau douce, l'aire d'occurrence comprend la province ou le territoire où se situe le plan d'eau; pour les espèces se trouvant dans les eaux saumâtres ou encore se déplaçant entre les milieux marins et d'eau douce ou entre les océans et la terre ferme (p. ex. le morse de l'Atlantique), l'aire d'occurrence comprend les océans et les provinces où se trouve l'espèce.

Abréviations pour les provinces et les territoires :

AB  : Alberta

BC : Colombie-Britannique

MB : Manitoba

NB : Nouveau-Brunswick

NL : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

NS  : Nouvelle-Écosse

NT : Territoires du Nord-Ouest

NU : Nunavut

ON : Ontario

PE : Île-du-Prince-Édouard

QC   : Québec

SK : Saskatchewan

YT : Territoire du Yukon

Tableau 6. Espèces évaluées et désignées « disparues » avec leur aire d'occurrence (par province, territore ou océan) et la date de la derniére évaluation. L'aire d'occurrence historique et la date approximative de disparition sont indiquées (12 espèces).

DISPARUE (12)
Taxon/ Détails de l'évaluationNom communNom scientifiqueNom de la populationAire d'occurrence historiqueDate de disparitionDate de l'évaluation
Mammifères (2)
1   ↔Caribou de la sous-espèce dawsoniRangifer tarandus dawsoni BCannées 1920Mai 2000
2   ↔Vison de merMustela macrodon NB NS Océan Atlantique1894Mai 2000
Oiseaux (3)
2   ↔Eider du LabradorCamptorhynchus labradorius QC NB NS NL1875Mai 2000
2   ↔Grand PingouinPinguinus impennis QC NB NS NL1844Mai 2000
2   ↔Tourte voyageuseEctopistes migratorius SK MB ON QC NB PE NS1914Mai 2000
Reptiles (0)
Amphibiens (0)
Poissons (5)
2   ↔Cisco de profondeurCoregonus johannae ON1952Mai 2000
2   ↔Doré bleuStizostedion vitreum glaucum ON1965Mai 2000
2   ↔Épinoche benthique du lac HadleyGasterosteus sp. BC1999Mai 2000
2   ↔Épinoche limnétique du lac HadleyGasterosteus sp. BC1999Mai 2000
2   ↔Naseux des rapides de BanffRhinichthys cataractae smithi AB1986Mai 2000
Arthropodes (0)
Mollusques (1)
2   ↔Patelle des zostèresLottia alveus alveus QC NS NL1929Mai 2000
Plantes vasculaires (0)
Mousses (1)
Macounie luisanteNeomacounia nitida ONaucune observation depuis 1864Novembre 2002
Lichens (0)