Skip booklet index and go to page content

Preface

The paddlefish is a freshwater fish and was listed as extirpated under SARA when the Act came into force in June 2003.  The Species at Risk Act (SARA, Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered and threatened species. Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Central and Arctic Region, led the development of this recovery strategy. The strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39-41). It was developed in cooperation or consultation with:

  • Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
  • United States Fish and Wildlife Service

Declaration (Recovery Not Feasible)

This recovery strategy for paddlefish has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions described in the Preface. Fisheries and Oceans Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its paddlefish recovery strategy as required by the Species at Risk Act. This recovery strategy also constitutes advice to other jurisdictions and organizations on the recovery approaches and objectives that are recommended to protect and recover the species.

The recovery of paddlefish in Canada has been found to be not technically or biologically feasible at this time. Nevertheless, the species still may be the subject of recovery efforts targeted towards other species in the same geographic area or experiencing similar threats, may benefit from general conservation programs in the same geographic area, and will receive protection through SARA and other federal, and provincial or territorial, legislation, policies, and programs.

The feasibility determination will be re-evaluated as warranted in response to changing conditions and/or knowledge (e.g., better information on the species’ distribution or better threat mitigation techniques). At a minimum, it will be re-evaluated every five years as part of the report on implementation of the recovery strategy.

In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans invites all Canadians to join Fisheries and Oceans Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the paddlefish and Canadian society as a whole. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will endeavor to support implementation of this strategy, given available resources and varying species at risk conservation priorities.

Responsible Jurisdictions

Under the Species at Risk Act, the responsible jurisdiction for paddlefish is Fisheries and Oceans Canada.  Paddlefish used to occur in Ontario, and the government of Ontario cooperated in the production of this recovery strategy

Authors

This document was prepared by Scott M. Reid (Trent University), Amy L. Edwards (Fisheries and Oceans Canada Contractor) and Becky Cudmore (Fisheries and Oceans Canada).

Strategic Environmental Assessment Statement

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The recovery planning process, based on national guidelines, directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats.

Because the paddlefish is extirpated and recovery has been determined to be not feasible, no further recovery action is considered appropriate at this time.  Accordingly, this recovery strategy will have no effect on the environment.

Residence

SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating[SARA S2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry:

http://www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/sar/recovery/residence_e.cfm

In the case of an extirpated species for which the recovery strategy does not recommend its reintroduction into the wild in Canada, the prohibition pertaining to the damage or destruction of residence does not apply [SARA S33].

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Préface

 

Le spatulaire est un poisson d’eau douce et il a été désigné en tant qu’espèce disparue du pays en vertu de la LEP lorsque celle-ci est entrée en vigueur en juin 2003. Conformément à la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP, article 37), le ministre compétent doit préparer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces qui ont été désignées comme étant disparues du pays, menacées ou en voie de disparition. Pêches et Océans Canada – Régions du Centre et de l’Arctique – a dirigé l’élaboration de ce programme de rétablissement. Celui-ci satisfait aux exigences de la LEP quant au contenu et au processus (articles 39 à 41). Il a été préparé soit en collaboration, soit en consultation avec :

  • Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario
  • United States Fish and Wildlife Service.

Déclaration( Rétablissement Non Réalisable)

Le présent programme de rétablissement du spatulaire a été élaboré en collaboration avec les entités responsables de l’espèce, comme il est décrit dans la préface. Pêches et Océans Canada a passé en revue ce document et l’accepte en tant que programme de rétablissement du spatulaire, conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Le présent programme de rétablissement constitue également un avis à l’intention d’autres entités et organismes en regard des méthodes et des objectifs de rétablissement qui sont recommandés pour protéger et rétablir l’espèce.

Le rétablissement du spatulaire au Canada s'est révélé actuellement non réalisable sur les plans technique ou biologique. Néanmoins, l'espèce peut encore être visée par des efforts de rétablissement ciblant d'autres espèces vivant dans la même zone géographique ou qui font face à des menaces semblables, peut profiter des programmes généraux de conservation exécutés dans la même zone géographique et sera protégée par la LEP et par tout autre programme, politique ou loi des gouvernements fédéral, provincial ou territorial.

La détermination de la faisabilité sera réévaluée, si l’apparition de nouvelles conditions ou l’acquisition de nouvelles connaissances le justifient (p. ex. meilleure information sur la répartition de l’espèce ou meilleures techniques d'atténuation des menaces). À tout le moins, une telle réévaluation aura lieu tous les cinq ans en tant qu'élément du rapport de mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement.

Dans l’esprit de l’Accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans invite tous les Canadiens à se joindre à Pêches et Océans Canada pour appuyer le présent programme et le mettre en œuvre au profit du spatulaire et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne. Pêches et Océans Canada s’appliquera à soutenir l’exécution de ce programme avec les ressources disponibles et compte tenu des diverses priorités à l’égard de la conservation des espèces en péril.

Compétences responsables

En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, la compétence responsable du spatulaire est Pêches et Océans Canada. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a collaboré à la production du présent programme de rétablissement étant donné qu’on l’a observé dans cette province.

Auteurs

Le présent document a été élaboré par Scott M. Reid (Université Trent), Amy L. Edwards (entrepreneur pour Pêches et Océans Canada) et Becky Cudmore (Pêches et Océans Canada).

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est effectuée pour tous les documents de planification du rétablissement produits en vertu de la LEP. L’objet de l’EES est d’intégrer les considérations environnementales à l’élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics afin de soutenir la prise de décisions éclairées sur le plan environnemental.

La planification du rétablissement profitera aux espèces en péril et à la biodiversité en général. Il est toutefois reconnu que des programmes peuvent produire, sans que cela ne soit voulu, des effets environnementaux négatifs qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des impacts possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés.

Étant donné que le spatulaire est disparu du pays et que son rétablissement est jugé non réalisable, aucune mesure de rétablissement n'est jugée pertinente pour le moment. Par conséquent, le présent programme de rétablissement n’aura aucun effet environnemental.

Résidence

Dans la LEP, la « résidence » est définie comme suit : « Gîte - terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable – occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation. » [Paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s’applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP :

http://www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/sar/recovery/residence_f.cfm.

Dans le cas d’une espèce disparue du pays dont le programme de rétablissement ne recommande pas la réinsertion à l’état sauvage au Canada, l’interdiction relative à l’endommagement ou à la destruction de la résidence ne s’applique pas [LEP, article 33].