Skip booklet index and go to page content

Background

 

In Canada, the past occurrence of paddlefish (Polyodon spathula) is known only from four individuals collected from the Great Lakes basin, the most recent in 1917. However, some authorities question the validity of Canadian records, as authentication of the records has proven difficult (Parker 1987, 1988, COSEWIC 2000).  In the United States, the paddlefish was never common in the Great Lakes; it was known with certainty only from Lake Erie, where there were at least two well-authenticated records, both before 1910 (Van Meter and Trautman 1970, NatureServe 2006).  It has been extirpated from Maryland, Michigan and New York, which are all peripheral to the species range and never represented a significant portion of it’s distribution (NatureServe 2006).  Currently, the paddlefish is considered extirpated from the American Great Lakes basin.  Canada never represented a significant part of its distribution. 

Disagreement exists as to whether the Canadian Great Lakes paddlefish records represent an historic resident population or were vagrants from the Ohio River and/or Mississippi River.  Becker (1983) felt that the Great Lakes populations of paddlefish were encountered on their way to natural extirpation.  The 1987 Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) paddlefish status report states that the Canadian records represent a relict population; however, under current COSEWIC guidelines, it is likely that the species would be termed a vagrant, as there is no evidence of natural reproduction occurring in Canada.

Paddlefish was designated as Extirpated by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) in 1987 and this designation was re-confirmed in 2000 using the same information as the 1987 designation.  The International Union for the Conservation of Nature considers Paddlefish to be Vulnerable, and its American Fisheries Society Status is Special Concern.

1.1 Species Assessment Information from COSEWIC

Common Name: paddlefish Scientific

Name: Polyodon spathula

COSEWIC Status: Extirpated

COSEWIC Reason for designation: Last reported in Canada in 1917, the 1987 COSEWIC report on the species suggested the paddlefish was lost due to exploitation and habitat degradation.

Canadian Occurrence: Formerly Ontario COSEWIC

Status History: Last recorded in Canada in 1917. Designated Extirpated in April 1987. Status re-examined and confirmed in May 2000. May 2000 assessment based on new quantitative criteria applied to information from the existing 1987 status report.

1.2 Description

The following description is adapted from Trautman (1981) and Becker (1983).  The paddlefish (Figure 1) is a large, primitive fish with a typical specimen having an average total length of 0.5-1.2 m and weighing 0.9-9 kg.  Larger individuals can attain lengths of 2 m and weights of more than 80 kg.  The paddlefish has a long, paddle-shaped snout which is approximately 1/3 the length of the fish, and a very long, pointed, opercular flap that nearly reaches the pelvic fin.  It has no scales aside from a few rhomboid scales on the tail.  Colouring is gray to blue-black dorsally and laterally and whitish ventrally.  The urogenital papilla is somewhat raised in males while in females it is more flattened and softer.    

paddlefish

Figure 1. Paddlefish (Polyodon spathula) (photo by B. Cudmore (DFO), 2006)

1.3 Populations and Distribution

Distribution:

GlobalRange: In the United States, the paddlefish occurs in larger rivers throughout 22 eastern and central states (NatureServe 2006) (Figure 2).  It occurs in Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia and Wisconsin.  It has been extirpated from Michigan, New York and Pennsylvania.  It is unclear whether populations remain in North Carolina where it was found historically. 

North american distribution of paddlefish

Figure 2. North American distribution of paddlefish (information from Page and Burr 1991).

CanadianRange:Very few Canadian records of paddlefish exist (Figure 3).  The only records are from the late 1800s and early 1900s, when individuals were collected from Lake Huron, near Sarnia (two specimens), the Spanish River, Georgian Bay (one specimen), and in Lake Helen on the Nipigon River (one specimen) (Halkett 1913).  However, authentication of these records has proven difficult and some authorities question the validity of Canadian records (Parker 1987, 1988, COSEWIC 2000).  The last record of paddlefish in Canada is from 1917.

Canadian records of paddlefishRecords of Paddlefish in Canada

Figure 3. Canadian records of paddlefish (from Mandrak and Crossman 1992).

Percent of Global Range in Canada: This figure is unknown; however, it is likely less than 1% as very few specimens were ever collected in Canada and it would have been at the northern edge of its range.

Population Size and Status:

Global Population Size and Status: The population size of the paddlefish in the United States is unknown but is believed to range from 2500 to more than a million individuals (NatureServe 2006). 

Table 1. Canadian and American national and sub-national natural heritage status ranks for paddlefish (NatureServe 2006).
Canada(NX)Ontario (SX)
United States(N4)Alabama (S3), Arkansas (S2?), Illinois (S2S3), Indiana (S3), Iowa (S3), Kansas (S3), Kentucky (S4), Louisiana (S3), Michigan (SX), Minnesota (S2), Mississippi (S3), Missouri (S3), Montana (S1S2), Nebraska (S2), New York (SX), North Carolina (SH), North Dakota (SNR), Ohio (S2), Oklahoma (S1S2), Pennsylvania (SX), South Dakota (S4), Tennessee (S3), Texas (S3), Virginia (S1), West Virginia (S1), Wisconsin (S2?)

Canadian Population Size and Status:In Canada, the paddlefish has been designated as Presumed Extirpated nationally (NX) and provincially (SX) by NatureServe, as no specimens have been collected since 1917.  It has also been designated as Extirpated by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources.

Nationally Significant Populations:  As very few paddlefish specimens were ever collected in Canada, it is unknown whether they were part of a larger population or strays that made their way into the Great Lakes basin through canals.  As such there are no nationally significant populations in Canada.

1.4  Needs of Paddlefish         

1.4.1 Habitat and Biological Needs

Historically Occupied Habitat: Paddlefish specimens collected in Canada at the turn of the century were captured from the inshore areas of the Great Lakes or from moderately large tributaries of the Great Lakes (Halkett 1913).  Two specimens were collected from Lake Huron, near Sarnia, Ontario; one specimen was taken from the Spanish River, Georgian Bay; and one specimen was captured in Lake Helen, Nipigon River (Halkett 1913).  Habitat data are not available for these capture locations.   

In the United States, adult paddlefish inhabit the slow waters of medium to large rivers, channels, oxbows, impoundments, backwaters and river-margin lakes (Becker 1983, Parker 1988, Etnier and Starnes 1993, NatureServe 2006).  In un-impounded, un-channelized rivers, adult paddlefish can be found downstream of submerged sandbars, typically at depths of 2 – 3 m, during late spring through early fall.  Sandbars reduce the current velocity directly downstream.  Preferred velocities in this situation range from 0 to 30 cm/s.  From late fall through early spring, adult paddlefish are found in deeper waters (i.e. > 3 m) (Rosen et al. 1982, Crance 1987).  Preferred substrates are unknown but the species has been reported over mud bottoms (Becker 1983).  In regulated rivers, paddlefish congregate in small areas below structures such as sandbars, protected bays, dikes, bridge supports, and eddies in the tailwaters below dams where velocities are less than 0.3 m/sec (Southall and Hubert 1984, Moen et al. 1992, Jennings and Zigler 2000).  When these structures are unavailable to provide refuge from high current conditions, paddlefish select nearshore habitats with low current velocities (Rosen 1976; cited in Jennings and Zigler 2000).

Currently Occupied Habitat: Currently there are no known occupied habitats in Canada.

Habitat Trends:  The few records of capture from the Great Lakes provide little or no information regarding the characteristics of habitats historically utilized by Great Lakes populations of paddlefish.  Without knowing specifically the habitats occupied in the Great Lakes, it is not possible to identify trends in paddlefish habitat.  

Habitat Protection/Ownership:  Paddlefish habitat is protected under the general fish habitat provisions of the federal Fisheries Act.  The paddlefish and/or its habitat is also protected under Ontario’s Lakes and Rivers Improvement Act, Environmental Protection Act, Environmental Assessment Act and Water Resources Act

General Biology:  Nothing is known regarding the biology of the paddlefish in Canada and all available information comes from populations in the United States.  Paddlefish spawn in the spring, usually during April and May, when water temperatures range from approximately 10-17°C (Purkett 1961, Wallus 1986, Lein and DeVries 1998).  Spawning is preceded by an upstream migration to the vicinity of the spawning areas where the fish congregate in deep areas of the river (Purkett 1961, Pasch et al. 1980).  Large increases in water velocity trigger paddlefish to move into spawning areas and spawning is triggered by increased water flow (Purkett 1961, Pasch et al. 1980, Jennings and Zigler 2000).  Optimal water velocities range from 60 – 140 cm/s (Crance 1987).  Paddlefish spawn over gravel bars and other hard surfaces such as rock and rip/rap, in areas with enough current to keep eggs free from silt (Pasch et al. 1980, Wallus 1986).  Reported water depths at spawning locations range from 2 – 12 m, but optimal depths probably range from approximately 3 – 6 m (Crance 1987).  In Missouri, spawning occurred after water levels rose 2.7 m and water temperatures were 16.1°C.  Eggs become adhesive upon fertilization and immediately stick to the clean gravel substrate (Purkett 1961).  Hatching occurs in seven days or less at 18.3°C – 21.1°C (Purkett 1961).  After hatching, larval paddlefish begin swimming continuously from bottom to surface, resting only when gliding back to the bottom.  This behaviour helps remove the larvae from the receding waters of temporarily flooded spawning sites (Wallus 1986).  Current velocities of 30 – 122 cm/s are required to transport newly hatched larvae to nursery habitats.  Velocities in nursery habitats are generally low, allowing larvae to feed without expending large amounts of energy (Crance 1987).

1.4.2 Ecological Role

Paddlefish primarily feed on zooplankton and occasionally consume small insects, insect larvae and small fishes (Jennings and Zigler 2000).  Walleye (Sander vitreus) and sauger (S. canadensis) can be significant predators on young paddlefish in American reservoirs (Mero et al. 1994).

1.4.3 Limiting Factors

Population growth is limited by late sexual maturity and intermittent spawning by females.  Paddlefish require a long period of time to become sexually mature, which is estimated at 7 years for males and 9-10, possibly up to 12, years for females (Parker 1987, 1988, NatureServe 2006).  While male fish are able to spawn each year, several studies suggest that females require 2 to 5 years to develop mature ova before spawning again (Jennings and Zigler 2000).

In the spring, spawning is generally preceded by an upstream migration (sometimes over extremely long distances) to the spawning area.  Successful migration to spawning habitats and initiation of spawning is dependent on barrier-free migration routes and specific water temperatures and flow levels.  Paddlefish recruitment is therefore vulnerable to natural and man-made changes to these factors.

1.5 Threats

Specific factors that were a threat to any paddlefish individuals in Canada are unknown.  In the United States, the primary factors responsible for changes in distribution and abundance of paddlefish across its range are: destruction of spawning grounds; blockage of movements by dams; channelization and elimination of backwater areas; dewatering of streams; industrial pollution and over-harvest (Carlson and Bonislawsky 1981).  Trautman (1957) speculated that its extirpation from Lake Erie could have resulted from dams on tributaries blocking upstream spawning migrations and/or destroying its spawning habitat.  

1.7 Knowledge Gaps

Unresolved Issues: It is unclear whether populations of paddlefish ever existed in Canada.  Disagreement remains as to whether the four Canadian paddlefish records from the Great Lakes represent resident populations or vagrants from the Ohio River and/or Mississippi River.  If Canadian records of paddlefish represent vagrants from the Ohio River or Mississippi River basins, then paddlefish populations and associated habitats never existed in Canadian waters.  It is important to remember that the data used for the COSEWIC designation is over twenty years old and the species was designated as Extirpated prior to the implementation of SARA.  COSEWIC’s Operating and Procedures Manual is now more explicit about potential vagrancy of species, and therefore more guidance is provided to consider this species.  It is likely paddlefish would not be eligible for assessment by COSEWIC as there is no evidence of natural reproduction in Canada.  Therefore, it is recommended that further study be conducted to confirm paddlefish vagrancy in Canada.

Threat Clarification Research Requirements: Specific reasons as to why the paddlefish disappeared from Canada (if populations ever existed here) are unknown.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Contexte

 

Ce que l’on sait de la présence passée du spatulaire (Polyodon spathula) au Canada ne repose que sur quatre individus prélevés dans le bassin des Grands Lacs, le dernier l’ayant été en 1917. Toutefois, certains experts remettent en question la validité des observations canadiennes étant donné que l’authentification de ces observations s’est révélée difficile (Parker, 1987, 1988, COSEPAC, 2000). Aux États-Unis, le spatulaire n’a jamais été commun dans les Grands Lacs; sa présence n’a été confirmée avec certitude que dans le Lac Érié, où au moins deux observations bien authentifiées ont été recensées, les deux datant d’avant 1910 (Van Meter et Trautman, 1970, NatureServe 2006). Il est disparu du Maryland, du Michigan et de l’État de New York; ces états sont tous en périphérie de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce et n’ont jamais représenté une partie importante de celle-ci (NatureServe 2006). Actuellement , le spatulaire est considéré comme disparu du bassin des Grands Lacs américains. Le Canada n’a jamais représenté une partie importante de l’aire de répartition du spatulaire.

Pendant que certains estiment que les individus prélevés dans les Grands Lacs canadiens faisaient partie d’une population résidente historique, d’autres soutiennent qu’il s’agissait d’individus errants provenant de la rivière Ohio ou du fleuve Mississippi.Becker (1983) estime que les populations de spatulaire dans les Grands Lacs auraient été découvertes au moment où elles disparaissaient du pays. Selon le rapport de situation sur le spatulaire de 1987 du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), les observations canadiennes représentent une population relique; cependant, d’après les lignes directrices actuelles du COSEPAC, l’espèce serait probablement désignée comme errante, étant donné qu’il n’existe aucune preuve de reproduction naturelle au Canada.

Le spatulaire a été désigné comme espèce disparue du pays par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) en 1987, et cette désignation a été re-confirmée en 2000 au moyen de la même information ayant servi à la désignation en 1987. L’Union mondiale pour la nature considère que le spatulaire est vulnérable et l’American Fisheries Society a désigné sa situation comme étant préoccupante.

1.1 Renseignements sur l’évaluation de l’espèce provenant du COSEPAC

Nom commun : spatulaire.

Nom scientifique : Polyodon spathula.

Désignation du COSEPAC : disparue du pays.

Justification de la désignation du COSEPAC : Vu pour la dernière fois au Canada en 1917, le rapport de 1987 du COSEPAC avançait que le spatulaire soit disparu en raison de son exploitation et de la dégradation de son habitat.

Occurrence au Canada : antérieurement en Ontario.

Historique de la désignation du COSEPAC : Vu pour la dernière fois au Canada en 1917. Désigné comme étant disparu du pays en avril 1987. Désignation ré-examinée et confirmée en mai 2000. Évaluation de mai 2000 basée sur de nouveaux critères quantitatifs appliqués à l’information du rapport de situation de 1987.

1.2 Description

La description suivante a été adaptée des travaux de Trautman (1981) et de Becker (1983). Le spatulaire (Figure 1) est une espèce primitive de grande envergure. Un spécimen type mesure en moyenne entre 0,5 et 1,2 m et pèse entre 0,9 et 9 kg. Ce poisson peut toutefois atteindre 2 m et peser plus de 80 kg. Le spatulaire possède un long museau en forme de spatule, qui représente environ le tiers de sa longueur, et un volet operculaire très long et pointu qui atteint presque la nageoire pelvienne. sa peau est dépourvue d’écailles, à l’exception de quelques écailles rhomboïdales sur la queue; sa coloration varie du gris au bleu-noir sur le dos et les flancs et est blanchâtre sur le ventre. La papille urogénitale, légèrement protubérante chez le mâle, est plus plate et molle chez la femelle.

Spatulaire

Figure 1. Spatulaire (Polyodon spathula) (photo par B. Cudmore, MPO, 2006)

1.3 Populations et répartition

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale –Aux États-Unis, le spatulaire vit dans de grands cours d’eau de 22 États de l’est et du centre du pays (NatureServe, 2006) (Figure 2), à savoir l’Alabama, l’Arkansas, l’Illinois, l’Indiana, l’Iowa, le Kansas, le Kentucky, la Louisiane, le Minnesota, le Mississippi, le Missouri, le Montana, le Nebraska, le Dakota du Nord, l’Ohio, l’Oklahoma, le Dakota du Sud, le Tennessee, le Texas, la Virginie, la Virginie occidentale et le Wisconsin. Il est disparu du Michigan, de l’État de New York et de la Pennsylvanie.On ignore si des populations existent encore en Caroline du Nord, lieu de sa découverte.

Répartition du spatulaire en Amérique du Nord

Figure 2. Répartition du spatulaire en Amérique du Nord (d’après Page et Burr, 1991).

Aire de répartition canadienne – Très peu de spatulaires ont été observés au Canada (fFigure 3). Les seuls signalements remontent à la fin des années 1800 et au début des années 1900, lorsque des individus ont été prélevés du lac Huron, près de Sarnia (deux spécimens), de la rivière Spanish, près de la baie Géorgienne (un spécimen) et dans le lac Helen, sur la rivière Nipigon (un spécimen) (Halkett, 1913).Cependant, l’authentification de ces observations s’est révélée difficile et certains experts remettent en question leur validité (Parker, 1987,1988, COSEPAC, 2000). Le spatulaire a été observé pour la dernière fois au Canada en 1917.

Signalement du spatulaire au Canada

Figure 3. Signalements du spatulaire au Canada (d’après Mandrak et Crossman, 1992).

Pourcentage de l’aire de répartition mondiale du spatulaire au Canada – Ce chiffre, qui est inconnu, s’établit probablement à moins de 1 %, puisque le très faible nombre de spécimens prélevés au pays l’auraient été à la limite nord de son aire de répartition.

Taille et situation de la population

Taille et situation de la population mondiale – La taille de la population du spatulaire aux États-Unis est inconnue, mais devrait varier de 2 500 à plus de un million d’individus (NatureServe, 2006).

Tableau 1. Rangs de priorité du patrimoine naturel attribués au spatulaire à l’échelle nationale (rang N) et à l’échelle subnationale (rang S) au Canada et aux États-Unis (NatureServe, 2006).
Canada (NX)Ontario (SX)
États-Unis (N4)Alabama (S3), Arkansas (S2?), Illinois (S2S3), Indiana (S3), Iowa (S3), Kansas (S3), Kentucky (S4), Louisiane (S3), Michigan (SX), Minnesota (S2), Mississippi (S3), Missouri (S3), Montana (S1S2), Nebraska (S2), New York (SX), Caroline du Nord (SH), Dakota du Nord (SNR), Ohio (S2), Oklahoma (S1S2), Pennsylvanie (SX), Dakota du Sud (S4), Tennessee (S3), Texas (S3), Virginie (S1), Virginie occidentale (S1), Wisconsin (S2?)

 

Taille et situation de la population canadienne – Au Canada, le spatulaire est désigné comme présumément disparu du pays (NX) et des provinces (SX) par NatureServe, aucun spécimen n’y ayant été prélevé depuis 1917. Elle a aussi été désignée en tant qu’espèce disparue du pays par le ministre des Ressources naturelles de l’Ontario.

Populations d’importance à l’échelle nationale – Comme un très faible nombre de spatulaires ont été prélevés au Canada, on ne sait pas s’ils faisaient partie d’une plus grande population ou s’il s’agissait d’individus errants ayant pénétré dans le bassin des Grands Lacs par des canaux. Il n’existerait donc aucune population d’importance à l’échelle nationale.

1.4 Besoins du spatulaire

1.4.1 Besoins liés à l’habitat et besoins biologiques

Habitat historique – Les spécimens de spatulaire prélevés au Canada à la fin du XIXe siècle ont été capturés dans des zones littorales des Grands Lacs ou dans l’un de leurs tributaires modérément importants (Halkett, 1913). Deux spécimens ont été prélevés dans le lac Huron, près de Sarnia, en Ontario; un spécimen a été pris dans la rivière Spanish (baie Géorgienne); enfin, un spécimen a été capturé dans le lac Helen, sur la rivière Nipigon (Halkett, 1913). Les données relatives à l’habitat ne sont pas disponibles pour ces lieux de capture.

Aux États-Unis, le spatulaire adulte habite les eaux lentes de cours d’eau de moyenne à grande envergure :rivières, chenaux, méandres et bras morts, bassins de retenue et lacs situés en marge des cours d’eau (Becker, 1983, Parker, 1988, Etnier et Starnes, 1993, NatureServe, 2006). Dans les cours d’eau dont l’écoulement n’est ni retenu ni canalisé, le spatulaire adulte peut être observé en aval de barres de sable submergées, habituellement à des profondeurs de 2 à 3 m, de la fin du printemps au début de l’automne. Ces barres de sable ralentissent l’écoulement de l’eau directement en aval à des vitesses correspondant aux préférences de ce poisson, c’est-à-dire entre 0 et 30 cm/s. De la fin de l’automne au début du printemps, le spatulaire adulte est observé dans des eaux plus profondes, (c.-à-d. à plus de 3 m) (Rosen et al., 1982, Crance, 1987). Les substrats de prédilection du spatulaire sont inconnus, mais l’espèce a été observée au-dessus de fonds vaseux (Becker, 1983). Dans les cours d’eau dont le débit est régularisé, le spatulaire se rassemble dans de petites zones en aval de structures comme des barres de sable, des baies protégées, des digues, des appuis de pont et dans les remous en aval des barrages, où les vitesses sont inférieures à 0,3 m/s (Southall et Hubert, 1984, Moen et al., 1992, Jennings et Zigler, 2000). Lorsque ces structures sont absentes, le spatulaire cherche refuge contre la force du courant dans des habitats voisins du rivage où la vitesse du courant est faible (Rosen, 1976, cité dans Jennings et Zigler, 2000).

Habitat actuel – Actuellement, on ne connaît aucun habitat occupé au Canada.

Tendances relatives aux habitats – Les rares données sur les captures des Grands Lacs fournissent peu de renseignements, sinon aucun, concernant les caractéristiques des habitats historiquement utilisés par les populations de spatulaire dans les Grands Lacs. En l’absence de données précises relatives aux habitats occupés dans les Grands Lacs, il est impossible d’établir les tendances relatives aux habitats du spatulaire.

Protection/propriété de l’habitat – L’habitat du spatulaire est protégé en vertu des dispositions générales relatives aux habitats du poisson de la Loi sur les pêches fédérale. Le spatulaire ou son habitat sont également protégés en vertu de la Loi sur l’aménagement des lacs et des rivières, de la Loi sur la protection de l’environnement, de la Loi sur les évaluations environnementales et de la Loi sur les ressources en eau du gouvernement de l’Ontario.

Biologie générale –On ne connaît rien de la biologie du spatulaire au Canada, et toutes les données disponibles viennent de populations des États-Unis.Le spatulaire fraie au printemps, habituellement en avril et en mai, lorsque les températures de l’eau oscillent entre 10 et 17 °C environ (Purkett, 1961, Wallus, 1986, Lein et DeVries, 1998). Après avoir remonté les cours d’eau, les poissons se rassemblent à proximité des zones de frai, dans des eaux profondes (Purkett, 1961, Pasch et al., 1980).Une augmentation de la vitesse d’écoulement de l’eau amène le spatulaire à se réfugier dans les zones de frai, le frai étant déclenché par un débit d’eau accru (Purkett, 1961, Pasch et al., 1980, Jennings et Zigler, 2000). Les vitesses d’écoulement de l’eau optimales varient de 60 à 140 cm/s (Crance, 1987). Le spatulaire fraie sur des lits de gravier et d’autres surfaces dures, comme la roche et les enrochements, dans des zones où le courant est assez fort pour empêcher la vase de recouvrir les œufs (Pasch et al., 1980, Wallus, 1986). Les profondeurs mesurées dans les zones de frai varient de 2 à 12 m, mais les profondeurs optimales oscillent probablement entre 3 et 6 m environ (Crance, 1987). Au Missouri, le frai a été observé lorsque l’eau a atteint un niveau de 2,7 m, à une température de 16,1 °C. Les œufs, sitôt fécondés, deviennent collants et adhèrent immédiatement au lit de gravier propre (Purkett, 1961). L’éclosion survient dans les sept jours, à une température oscillant entre 18,3 et 21,1 °C (Purkett, 1961). Dès l’éclosion, la larve du spatulaire effectue un va-et-vient incessant entre le fond et la surface et ne se repose que pendant sa descente vers le fond. Ce comportement l’aide à se retirer, avec les eaux de décrue, des sites de frai temporairement inondés (Wallus, 1986).Des vitesses d’écoulement de l’eau de 30 à 122 cm/s sont nécessaires au transport des larves nouvellement écloses vers les habitats de croissance, où les courants sont généralement faibles, ce qui permet aux larves de s’alimenter sans dépenser d’importantes quantités d’énergie (Crance, 1987).

1.4.2 Rôle écologique

Le spatulaire se nourrit principalement de zooplancton, mais s’alimente à l’occasion de petits insectes, de larves d’insectes et de petits poissons (Jennings et Zigler, 2000).Le doré jaune (Sander vitreus) et le doré noir (S. canadensis) peuvent représenter des prédateurs importants du jeune spatulaire dans les réservoirs américains (Mero et al., 1994).

1.4.3 Facteurs limitatifs

L’accroissement de la population est limité par la maturité sexuelle tardive et l’intermittence du frai chez les femelles. Le spatulaire atteint sa maturité sexuelle à un âge avancé que l’on estime à 7 ans pour le mâle et à 9 ou à 10 ans, voire à 12 ans, pour la femelle (Parker, 1987, 1988, NatureServe, 2006,). Le mâle peut frayer tous les ans; la femelle aurait besoin, selon plusieurs études, de 2 à 5 ans pour développer des ovules matures avant de frayer à nouveau (Jennings et Zigler, 2000).

Au printemps a généralement lieu une migration vers les zones de frai situées en amont des cours d’eau (parfois sur des distances extrêmement longues). Cette migration vers les habitats de frai et le déclenchement du frai dépendent de certains facteurs, c’est-à-dire l’absence d’obstacles sur les routes migratoires et la présence d’eaux affichant des températures et des niveaux précis. Le recrutement du spatulaire est donc vulnérable aux changements d’origine naturelle et anthropique qui sont liés à ces facteurs.

1.5 Menaces

Les facteurs particuliers qui constituaient une menace pour les spatulaires au Canada sont inconnus.Aux États-Unis, les principaux facteurs responsables de changements dans la répartition et l’abondance du spatulaire dans son aire de répartition sont la destruction des frayères, les barrages hydrauliques qui bloquent la circulation, la canalisation et l’élimination des zones de retenue, l’assèchement des cours d’eau, la pollution industrielle et la surpêche (Carlson et Bonislawsky, 1981). Trautman (1957) spécule que la disparition de l’espèce du lac Érié pourrait avoir résulté de la construction de barrages sur des tributaires, lesquels auraient bloqué l’accès des poissons migrant vers les zones de frai en amont ou auraient entraîné la destruction de son habitat de frai.

1.6 Lacunes dans les connaissances

Questions non résolues –On ignore si des populations de spatulaire ont déjà existé au Canada. Pendant que certains croient que les quatre individus canadiens prélevés dans les Grands Lacs faisaient partie d’une population résidente, d’autres soutiennent qu’il s’agissait d’individus errants provenant des bassins hydrographiques de la rivière Ohio ou du fleuve Mississippi, auquel cas les populations de spatulaire et leurs habitats connexes n’auraient jamais existé dans les eaux canadiennes. Il importe de se rappeler que les données utilisées pour la désignation du COSEPAC datent de plus de 20 ans et que l’espèce a été désignée comme disparue du pays avant la mise en œuvre de la LEP. Le Manuel COSEPAC de procédures opérationnelles est maintenant plus explicite pour ce qui est des cas potentiels d’errance chez des espèces et, par conséquent, offre plus d’orientation pour l’étude de cette espèce. Il est probable que le spatulaire ne serait pas admissible à une évaluation par le COSEPAC, puisqu’il n'existe aucune preuve de reproduction naturelle au Canada. En conséquence, il est recommandé que l’on réalise des études supplémentaires pour confirmer que le spatulaire n’existe que sous forme d’individus errants au Canada.