Skip booklet index and go to page content

Appendix A: Record of Cooperation and Consultation

 

The Paddlefish Recovery Strategy was prepared by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and Trent University. Officials from the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR) and the United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) were consulted during the preparation of this recovery strategy.

DFO has attempted to engage all potentially affected Aboriginal communities in Ontario during the development of the recovery strategy for the paddlefish. Information packages were sent to the Chief and Council of Aamjiwnaang First Nation, Algonquins of Ontario - Antoine, Algonquins of Ontario - Mattawa/North Bay, Aundeck-Omni-Kaning, Batchewana First Nation, Beausoleil, Biinjitiwaabik Zaaging Anishinaabek, Chippewas of Kettle & Stony Point, Chippewas of Georgina Island, Chippewas of Mnjikaning First Nation, Chippewas of Nawash First Nation, Chippewas of the Thames First Nation, Curve L., Dokis, Fort William, Garden River First Nation, Henvey Inlet First Nation, Hiawatha First Nation, Magnetawan First Nation, M'Chigeeng First Nation, Michipicoten First Nation, Mississauga First Nation, Moose Deer Point, Ojibways of the Pic River First Nation, Pays Plat, Pic Mobert, Red Rock, Sagamok Anishnawbek, Saugeen First Nation #29 , Serpent River, Shawanaga First Nation, Sheguiandah, Sheshegwaning, Thessalon, Wahta Mohawk, Walpole Island, Wasauksing First Nation, Whitefish Lake, Whitefish River, Wikwemikong, and Zhiibaahaasing First Nation.  Information Packages were also sent to Ogemawahj Tribal Council, United Chiefs & Council of Manitoulin Island, North Shore Tribal Council, Waabinoong Bemjiwang Association of First Nations, Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians, Grand Council Treaty 3, Union of Ontario Indians (Anishnabek Nation), Chiefs of Ontario, Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO), MNO Captains of the Hunt Region 2, 4, 5, 7, and 9, Métis National Council, and the Assembly of First Nations.  Members of these communities may have traveled or harvested fish from the waters of the Lake Superior, Lake Huron and Lake Erie where this fish species was historically found. Follow-up telephone calls were made to each community office to ensure that packages were received and to ask if they would like to schedule a meeting to learn more about species at risk in general and recovery strategies.

No meetings were held as a result of these letters and calls. Comments were received from Chippewas of Mnjikaning First Nation, Chippewas of Aamjiwnaang and the Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians.

In addition to the above activities, DFO has established an ongoing dialogue with respect to aquatic species at risk in general with Walpole Island First Nation. Meetings have been held on several occasions with the director of the Walpole Island Natural Heritage Centre and the Fish and Game Enforcement Officer from Walpole Island First Nation. DFO also discussed SARA issues with a representative of the Six Nations of the Grand who works for the Six Nations EcoCentre and who also represents First Nation interests on the Grand River Fishes at Risk Management Plan, the Thames River Fish Management Plan and St. Clair River Management Strategy.

Information packages were sent to non-Aboriginal groups, environmental organizations and municipalities which may be impacted by the recovery strategy. As well, an announcement was placed in newspapers with circulation in the area where the paddlefish was historically found to inform landowners and the general public about the strategy and to request their comments. No comments were received.

A letter was sent to the province of Ontario and comments received were added to the recovery strategy.

Page 6

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Annexe A: Registre des initiatives de collaboration et de consultation

 

Le programme de rétablissement du spatulaire a été élaboré par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) et par l’Université Trent. Des fonctionnaires du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario (MRNO) et du United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) ont été consultés durant l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.

Au cours de l’élaboration du présent document, Pêches et Océans Canada a tenté d’obtenir la participation de toutes les communautés autochtones de l’Ontario potentiellement touchées. Des trousses d’information ont été envoyées au chef et au conseil de la Première nation Aamjiwnaang, des Algonquins de l’Ontario à Antoine et à Mattawa/North Bay, des Premières nations Aundeck-Omni-Kaning, Batchewana, Beausoleil, Biinjitiwaabik Zaaging Anishinaabek, Chippewas de Kettle et de Stony Point, Chippewas of Georgina Island, Chippewas of Mnjikaning, Chippewas of Nawash, Chippewas of the Thames, Curve L., Dokis, Fort William, Garden River, Henvey Inlet, Hiawatha, Magnetawan, M'Chigeeng, Michipicoten, Mississauga, Moose Deer Point, Ojibways of the Pic River, Pays Plat, Pic Mobert, Red Rock, Sagamok Anishnawbek, Saugeen First Nation no 29 , Serpent River, Shawanaga, Sheguiandah, Sheshegwaning, Thessalon, Wahta Mohawk, Walpole Island, Wasauksing, Whitefish Lake, Whitefish River, Wikwemikong et Zhiibaahaasing.  Des trousses d’information ont aussi été envoyées au conseil tribal Ogemawahj, aux United Chiefs & Council of Manitoulin Island, au conseil tribal North Shore, à la Waabinoong Bemjiwang Association of First Nations, à l’Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians, au Grand Council Treaty 3, à la Union of Ontario Indians (nation Anishnabek), aux Chiefs of Ontario, à la Nation Métis de l’Ontario, aux capitaines de chasse de la Nation Métis de l’Ontario, régions 2, 4, 5, 7 et 9, au Métis National Council et à l’Assemblée des Premières nations. Les membres de ces communautés peuvent avoir voyagé ou pêché du poisson dans les eaux des lacs Supérieur, Huron et Érié, où cette espèce de poisson a été observée autrefois. On a effectué des appels téléphoniques de suivi au bureau de chaque communauté pour s’assurer qu’ils avaient reçu les trousses et pour demander s’ils souhaitaient organiser une réunion pour en savoir davantage sur les espèces en péril en général et sur les programmes de rétablissement.

Aucune réunion n’a été tenue à la suite de ces lettres et de ces appels. La Première nation des Chippewas de Mnjikaning, les Chippewas d’Aamjiwnaang et l’Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians ont fait parvenir des commentaires.

En plus des activités mentionnées ci-devant, le MPO a établi un dialogue permanent avec la Première nation de Walpole Island sur les espèces aquatiques en péril en général. Des réunions ont eu lieu à plusieurs reprises avec le directeur du Walpole Island Natural Heritage Centre et l’agent de surveillance de la chasse et de la pêche de la Première nation de Walpole Island. Le MPO a par ailleurs discuté de questions sur la LEP avec un représentant des Six Nations de Grand River qui travaille pour le Six Nations EcoCentre et qui représente également les intérêts des Premières nations dans le plan de gestion des poissons en péril de la rivière Grand, dans le plan de gestion des poissons de la rivière Thames et dans le plan de gestion de la rivière St. Clair.

Des trousses d’information ont été envoyées aux groupes non autochtones, aux organismes environnementaux et aux municipalités qui peuvent être touchés par le programme de rétablissement. En outre, une annonce a été placée dans les journaux distribués dans le secteur où ce poisson a été trouvé autrefois pour informer les propriétaires fonciers et le grand public au sujet du programme et demander leurs commentaires. Aucun commentaire n’a été formulé.

Une lettre a été envoyée au gouvernement de l’Ontario et les commentaires formulés ont été intégrés dans le présent programme.