Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Sea Otter

Appendix B: Anthropogenic Threat Classification Table Definitions

The following definitions are taken from the draft Guidelines on Identifying and Mitigating Threats to Species at Risk, February 1, 2007, prepared by Environment Canada.

 Threat Definitions

 Threat category – Broad category indicating the type of threat.  The threat categories are:

  • Habitat Loss or Degradation
  • Exotic or Invasive Species
  • Changes in Ecological Dynamics or Natural Processes
  • Pollution
  • Accidental Mortality
  • Consumptive Use
  • Disturbance or Persecution
  • Climate and Natural Disasters
  • Natural Processes or Activities
General threat
Typically the general activity causing the specific threat.  To be determined by status report author or recovery team/planner.
Specific threat
The specific factor or stimulus causing stress to the population.  To be determined by status report author or recovery team/planner.  Note that not every threat can be specified to all three levels in this classification hierarchy. Thus, in these situations, specify either a general or specific threat.
Stress
Indicated by an impairment of a demographic, physiological, or behavioural attribute of a population in response to an identified or unidentified threat that results in a reduction of its viability.  To be determined by status report author or recovery team/planner.
Extent
Indicate whether the threat is widespread, localized, or unknown across the species range.
Occurrence
Indicate whether the threat is historic (contributed to decline but no longer affecting the species), current (affecting the species now), imminent (is expected to affect the species very soon), anticipated (may affect the species in the future), or unknown.  If applicable, also indicate whether the occurrence differs between ‘local’ populations or smaller areas of the range and the full ‘range-wide’ distribution.
Frequency
Indicate whether the threat is a one-time occurrence, seasonal (either because the species is migratory or the threat only occurs at certain times of the year – indicate which season), continuous (on-going), recurrent (reoccurs from time to time but not on an annual or seasonal basis), or unknown.  If applicable, also indicate whether the frequency differs between ‘local’ populations or smaller areas of the range and the full ‘range-wide’ distribution.
Causal certainty
Indicate whether the best available knowledge about the threat and its impact on population viability is high (evidence causally links the threat to stresses on population viability), medium (correlation between the threat and population viability, expert opinion, etc), or low (assumed or plausible threat only).  This should be a general reflection of the degree of evidence that is known for the threat, which in turn provides information on the risk that the threat has been misdiagnosed.  If applicable, also indicate whether the level of knowledge differs between ‘local’ populations or smaller areas of the range and the full ‘range-wide’ distribution.
Severity
Indicate whether the severity of the threat is high (very large population-level effect), moderate, low, or unknown.  If applicable, also indicate whether the severity differs between ‘local’ populations or smaller areas of the range and the full ‘range-wide’ distribution.
Level of concern
Indicate whether managing the threat is an overall high, medium, or low concern for recovery of the species, taking into account all of the above factors. 
Local
indicates threat information relates to a specific site or narrow portion of the range of the species. 
Range-wide
indicates threat information relates to the whole distribution or large portion of the range of the species.
Page 11

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la loutre de mer

Annexe B: Définitions relatives au tableau de classification des menaces antrophiques

Les définitions suivantes sont tirées de l’ébauche des lignes directrices sur l’identification et l’atténuation des menaces pesant sur les espèces en péril préparée par Environnement Canada (1er février 2007).

 Définitions des menaces

 Catégorie de menace – Catégorie générale indiquant le type de menace. Les catégories sont les suivantes.

  • Perte d’habitat ou détérioration de l’habitat
  • Espèces exotiques ou envahissantes
  • Changements dans la dynamique écologique ou les processus naturels
  • Pollution
  • Mortalités accidentelles
  • Utilisation non respectueuse
  • Perturbation ou harcèlement
  • Climat et désastres naturels
  • Processus naturels ou activités
Menace générale
D’ordinaire l’activité générale occasionnant la menace particulière. À déterminer par l’auteur du rapport de situation ou le planificateur/équipe chargé du rétablissement.
Menace particulière
Facteur ou stimulus spécifique imposant une contrainte à la population. À déterminer par l’auteur du rapport de situation ou le planificateur/équipe chargé du rétablissement. Il est à noter que ce ne sont pas toutes les menaces qui peuvent être précisées aux trois niveaux de cette hiérarchie de classification. En conséquence, en pareille situation, préciser s’il s’agit d’une menace générale ou particulière.
Contrainte
Se dit d’un stress imposé à un attribut démographique, physiologique ou comportemental d’une population à la suite d’une menace identifiée ou non identifiée qui entraîne une réduction de la viabilité de l’espèce. À déterminer par l’auteur du rapport de situation ou le planificateur/équipe chargé du rétablissement.
Envergure
Indique si la menace est étendue, localisée ou inconnue dans l’aire de répartition de l’espèce.
Occurrence
Indique si la menace est historique (a contribué au déclin mais n’affecte plus l’espèce), courante (affecte l’espèce présentement), imminente (devrait affecter l’espèce très bientôt), prévue (peut affecter l’espèce dans le futur) ou inconnue. Le cas échéant, indiquer également si l’occurrence diffère entre d’une part les populations « locales » ou des portions moins grandes de l’aire de répartition et d’autre part l’aire de répartition complète de l’espèce.
Fréquence
Indique si la menace est d’occurrence ponctuelle, saisonnière (soit du fait que l’espèce est migratrice ou que la menace ne survient qu’à certains moments de l’année – indiquer la saison), continue (constante), récurrente (se reproduit de temps à autre, mais non sur base annuelle ou saisonnière) ou inconnue. Le cas échéant, indiquer également si l’occurrence diffère entre d’une part les populations « locales » ou des portions moins grandes de l’aire de répartition et d’autre part l’aire de répartition complète de l’espèce.
Certitude causale
Indique si les meilleures connaissances disponibles sur la menace et ses impacts sur la viabilité de la population sont élevées (les preuves associent de façon causale la menace aux contraintes à la viabilité de la population), modérées (corrélation entre la menace et la viabilité de la population, opinion d’experts, etc.), ou faibles (menace supposée ou plausible uniquement). Doit refléter de façon générale les faits connus à l’égard de la menace afin de nous renseigner sur le risque que la menace ait été mal diagnostiquée. Le cas échéant, indiquer également si l’occurrence diffère entre d’une part les populations « locales » ou des potions moins grandes de l’aire de répartition et d’autre part l’aire de répartition complète de l’espèce.
Gravité
Indique si la gravité de la menace est élevée (très grand effet au niveau de la population), modérée, faible ou inconnue. Le cas échéant, indiquer également si l’occurrence diffère entre d’une part les populations « locales » ou des portions moins grandes de l’aire de répartition et d’autre part l’aire de répartition complète de l’espèce.
Degré de préoccupation
Indique si la gestion de la menace est une préoccupation générale élevée, moyenne ou faible pour le rétablissement de l’espèce, en tenant compte de tous les facteurs susmentionnés.
Locale
Indique que l’information sur la menace se rapporte à un endroit précis ou à une petite partie de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce.
Aire de répartition complète
Indique que l’information sur la menace se rapporte à l’ensemble de l’aire de répartition ou à une grande partie de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce.