Skip booklet index and go to page content

Woodland Caribou (Rangifer Tarandus Caribou)

Special Significance of the Populations

About 99.98% of individuals of the subspecies caribou reside in Canada, including about 1.1 million in Quebec/Labrador (Caribou Quebec 2000) and more than 19 000 on the Hudson Plain (Harris 1999, Elliott 1998). However, the forest-dwelling ecotype numbers only 184 000 caribou of which 78% occur in the Northern Mountain and Newfoundland populations (Table 1). Several local populations of forest-dwelling caribou in the Southern Mountain and Boreal populations are likely to disappear over the next few decades. A challenge will be to keep those two COSEWIC populations, now estimated to number 7 200 and 33 000 caribou, from becoming endangered.

Humans and caribou evolved together in Asia, Europe, and North America (Banfield 1961, Kelsall 1984). Caribou have a special spiritual and cultural significance to many indigenous people because of a long association where life and death was in delicate balance. Caribou are of great symbolic importance to Aboriginal people. Local knowledge is important in assessments of caribou populations in Canada because scientific studies are few, complex, and expensive.

Recreational hunting of forest-dwelling woodland caribou is of economic importance in Yukon, northern B.C., and Newfoundland. Wildlife tourism is important in many parts of Canada occupied by caribou. For example, caribou are likely to be seen in spring along the Alaska Highway in northern B.C. on the Avalon Peninsula in Newfoundland, and in Jasper National Park.

Woodland caribou have a special significance as an indicator of changes to old-growth forests. They provide food for several predators and scavengers and are a symbol of near-wilderness. Caribou are also symbols of a healthy natural environment and reduced local populations in areas where old-growth forests have been seriously reduced indicate that human activities are altering their range and the ecosystem to a significant degree. Woodland caribou foster cross-border management by provincial and federal agencies and co-management boards.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Caribou des bois (Rangifer tarandus caribou)

Importance des populations

Le Canada abrite environ 99,98 p. 100 des individus de la sous-espèce caribou, dont environ 1,1 million au Québec/Labrador (Caribou Québec, 2000) et plus de 19 000 dans les plaines hudsonniennes (Harris, 1999; Elliott, 1998). Cependant, l’écotype forestier ne compte que 184 000 individus, dont 78 p. 100 dans les populations des montagnes du Nord et de Terre-Neuve (tableau 1). Plusieurs populations locales de caribou forestier dans la population des montagnes du Sud et la population boréale risquent de disparaître d’ici quelques dizaines d’années. Le défi sera d’empêcher ces deux populations COSEPAC, présentement estimées à 7 200 et 33 000 individus, de tomber dans la catégorie en voie de disparition.

L’homme et le caribou ont évolué ensemble en Asie, en Europe et en Amérique du Nord (Banfield, 1961; Kelsall, 1984). En raison d’une longue association pendant laquelle la vie et la mort étaient en équilibre fragile, le caribou revêt une grande importance spirituelle et culturelle pour de nombreux peuples autochtones. Il constitue donc pour eux un symbole particulier. Leurs connaissances traditionnelles sont en outre un élément majeur des évaluations des populations de caribous au Canada, les études scientifiques étant rares, complexes et coûteuses.

La chasse sportive au caribou des bois forestier est un volet important de l’économie au Yukon, dans le Nord de la Colombie-Britannique et à Terre-Neuve, de même que le tourisme faunique dans de nombreuses régions du Canada exploitées par le caribou. Par exemple, on voit régulièrement des caribous au printemps le long de la route de l’Alaska dans le Nord de la Colombie-Britannique, sur la presqu’île Avalon à Terre-Neuve et dans le parc national Jasper.

Le caribou des bois revêt une importance particulière comme indicateur des changements survenus dans les forêts anciennes. C’est une source de nourriture pour plusieurs prédateurs et charognards, ainsi qu’un symbole de la nature quasi sauvage. Il est aussi l’emblème d’un milieu naturel sain, et le déclin des populations locales dans les zones où la superficie de forêt ancienne a été considérablement réduite montre à quel point les activités humaines altèrent en profondeur leur territoire et l’écosystème tout entier. Le caribou des bois favorise la gestion transfrontière par les organismes et conseils de cogestion provinciaux et fédéraux.