Skip booklet index and go to page content

Woodland Caribou (Rangifer Tarandus Caribou)

Summary of Status Report

At-risk designators should consider four of eight COSEWIC NEAs, which have distinct populations. The Newfoundland population is treated separately from the Boreal population. The genetics of more local populations must be sampled before the systematics can be clarified. Caribou in the Cordilleran Mountains differ from those to the east. Caribou in the southern mountains are mixtures of two founding clades with the northern clade predominating. Sampled populations in central and southern Yukon are entirely of northern origin. Phenological data suggests that caribou in the Northern Mountain NEA are likely to be of northern origin. They once were given subspecies status. All caribou in the Southern Mountain NEA are likely to be mixed populations, that is, derived from northern and southern clades. That is justification for treating the Northern Mountain population separately from the Southern Mountain. Limiting factors and management concerns also differ markedly between the populations (Table 7). Winter feeding obligations would appear to be less important in separating groups of caribou. For example, caribou in south Jasper National Park adopt both terrestrial and arboreal feeding behaviours.

Caribou in Newfoundland probably have been isolated for thousands of years and therefore have no introgression of genes from the northern clade. The same likely is true for the Gaspésie population, which may be depauperate from inbreeding and genetic drift. Both of these COSEWIC populations can be considered genetically distinct. The Pukaskwa local population also was only of southern origin; however, only four caribou were examined.

Based on results for three local populations in the Boreal population (Fig. 2), it is expected to be a mixed population predominantly derived from the southern clade. This justifies separating it from Southern Mountain and Newfoundland populations.

Justification for excluding forest-tundra (taiga-tundra) caribou includes a mixed origin, migratory behaviour, and differences in demographics, predator prey relationships, and current and future habitat loss and alteration from human activities. Caribou in commercial forests are most at risk. What may conserve some of them is their ecological niche – the use of large peatland complexes where timber values are low. Such complexes require forest buffers and movement corridors. Of concern is desiccation of peatlands from climate warming, peat extraction, and draining to enhance tree production.

 Assessment of the status of the five COSEWIC populations should be based on habitat trends, numbers and trends in numbers, areas occupied by local populations, concerns for threats and limiting factors, degree of monitoring, state of current knowledge, and significance of protected areas. Those data were collated from all jurisdictions in an attempt to standardize data. The indicators of population status developed for this report will permit an objective tracking of changes in the next status report. Indicators of population status in this report should be ranked in importance and new ones developed that place more emphasis on past and predicted habitat change (Appendix 4). Monitoring and mapping of distributions in GIS systems is important because demographics are difficult to measure and are highly variable. Predicting trends in habitat supply is a critical data requirement. For example, areas of usable (“effective”) habitat will quickly decline as the second pass in two-pass forest harvest system is achieved.

Not enough is known about the ecology of local populations to calculate the probability of survival under specified future conditions. Data requirements for predicting population viability include five “process” variables: demographic, genetic, and environmental stochasticity (variability), density dependence, and catastrophe, as well as five population variables: population size, age structure, sex ratios, life history traits (presumably fecundity and mortality), and habitat quality and availability (Reed et al. 1998). Beissinger and Westphal (1998) list 23 variables of which 4, 10, 19, and 23 must be measured for four increasingly complex models used in population viability analysis. Seldom are data adequate for any of the variables. Therefore, current status of local populations and COSEWIC populations and any prediction of change are accompanied by a high degree of uncertainty. Uncertainty includes demographics of populations, degree of environmental change, and management policy. We can only assume that changes over the past decade or two will continue at the same rate or will accelerate.


Northern Mountain Population (NMP)

The population estimate in 2000/2001 is about 44 000 in 36 local populations (Table 2, Appendix 1a). Most local populations are about stable with increases about balancing decreases. Four local populations are up in number, 15 are about stable, 3 are down, and trends for 14 are unknown (Table 3). In 1996, trends in numbers were 5 increasing populations, 11 stable, 3 decreasing, and 19 unknown (Table 2) (Farnell et al. 1998, Heard and Vagt 1998). Populations of unknown status generally are in remote areas with few developments. Local population numbers are larger than 250 and 500 for 75% and 56% of the populations (Table 4). All but 3 of 32 local populations have ranges larger than 2 000 km2 and 20 and 13 are in ranges larger than 5 000 and 10 000 km,2 respectively (Table 5). Greatest concerns are hunting, predation, and fire (Table 7). Population estimates are obtained occasionally for 79% of known local populations and radio collars were deployed on 59% of them (Table 8). The habitat, with a few exceptions, is relatively intact though there is increasing fragmentation from roads and other linear developments. There is a likelihood that the rate of development will increase over the next decades and management of wolves and unregulated hunting and will be difficult. 


Southern Mountain Population (SMP)

Numbers declined in the 1970s and 1980s from population highs in the 1960s subsequent to wolf control (Bergerud 1978, Edmonds and Bloomfield 1984, Edmonds 1988). They also declined in a protected population in south Jasper National Park (Stelfox et al. 1978, Brown et al. 1994). In studies of radio-collared caribou, wolf predation was the primary source of mortality.

In B.C, extent of occurrence has shrunk by up to 40% and most of that concerns the SMP. Many local populations are small, highly fragmented, and subject to rapid loss and alteration of habitat because of multiple industrial developments. Altered habitat has subjected local populations to multiple increased threats including predation, more parasitism, and greater unregulated hunting.

The population estimate is about 7200 (6300 adults) in 30 local populations. Trend in numbers is down for 12 of 30 local populations and stable in 13 (Table 3). Population status has deteriorated since 1996, when three local populations were considered to be increasing, eight were stable, and seven were decreasing (Table 2) (Heard and Vagt 1998, Edmonds 1998). Numbers are a concern as all but two of the 30 local populations contain fewer than 500 caribou, 21 contain fewer than 250, and 8 contain fewer than 50 caribou (Table 4). Range sizes are relatively small with 63% (19/30) of the populations occupying less than 5000 km2 (Table 5). The primary concern is the effects of forestry and other developments including increased access and disturbance, actual and functional loss of habitat, increased isolation of local populations, and increased predation (Table 7). Predator-prey relationships have changed and there is increased access by predators and hunters. The degree of monitoring is high with numbers estimated annually or occasionally for 97% of the local populations (Table 8). Radio collars were used on 87% of the local populations to monitor movements, habitat use, and mortality. Most of the 150+ caribou collared in west-central Alberta (Dzus 2001) were the “mountain” ecotype.

The South Selkirk population, is officially listed as endangered in the United States. Cougar predation, habitat changes from human activities, and wildfires are primary concerns (Zager et al. 1996). The South Purcell’s population is in dire straits and is unlikely to persist because of habitat changes and increased numbers of predators. Translocation of caribou from another population to the South Purcells is proposed by Kinley and Apps (2001). The Alberta government declared caribou to be threatened in 1985 (Edmonds 1988, Alberta Environmental Protection 1996). In 1991, caribou were placed on the Red List (risk of local extirpation) and in 1996 downgraded to the Blue List (may decline to non-viable population levels).

Concern for caribou in the Southern Mountain and Boreal populations stems partly from current trends in numbers (Tables table2 and table3) and shrinking distributions (Fig. figure4 and figure5). Assuming continuation of a 2.47% annual rate of decline from 1997 to 2002 in B.C., numbers are projected to decline 39% in the next 20 years. Of great concern is future declines in habitat quantity and quality, increased isolation of small local populations (Table 4) in small geographic areas (Table 5), and increased predation. Caribou are unlikely to persist in areas undergoing extensive and intensive development unless predation and hunting are almost eliminated and there are special provisions to maintain adequate security habitat and food supplies in large blocks of forest of medium and old ages.


Boreal Population (BP)

Concerns are similar to those for the Southern Mountain population except that there is even more intense development in some parts of the range because of multiple resource extraction and protected areas make up a small proportion of areas occupied by caribou. Extent of occurrence has shrunk about 40% from generalized historical distributions in Alberta and Ontario. However, some of the range within historical extent of occurrence was unsuitable for caribou. Range retractions are less in Saskatchewan and Manitoba. Areas of current occupancy may be reduced to less than half of historical distributions.

An estimated 33 000 caribou occur in at least 64 local populations that are scattered over a vast area from the Mackenzie Delta to the coast of Labrador. A major challenge is to maintain connectivity among local populations to ensure gene flow and genetic diversity. The provinces and territory must cooperate in that objective for many populations are inter-jurisdictional.

Most (12) local populations of 19 with trend data are considered to be decreasing in number (Table 3). However, those trend data are available only for the Prairie Provinces and Labrador (Table 2) and represent only about 35% of range occupied by forest-dwelling woodland caribou (S. Carriere pers. comm. 2001). There is much uncertainty about what is happening in the remainder of the range, much of it in Ontario and Quebec. Factors that adversely affect woodland caribou (Table 7) are similar across the range of the Boreal population. Development is intense in the commercial forest, in petroleum producing areas, and in mineral-rich areas. Forestry will have accelerated effects on caribou across Canada as the second pass (cut) is made in ‘two pass’ systems. Most of the forest then will be too young to produce caribou forage unless special provisions are made for caribou within areas of occupancy. If climatic warming continues, summer forage will be reduced in peatlands and fires reduce winter range in peatlands and upland forests.

The Alberta government declared woodland caribou to be threatened in 1985 (Edmonds 1998). Harris (1999) suggested a ranking of threatened for the forest-dwelling ecotype in Ontario. The status of forest-dwelling caribou in other jurisdictions appears to be similar. Concern for the status of woodland caribou has been a factor considered in the expansion of protected areas in B.C., Alberta (Caribou Mountains), Ontario (Duinker et al. 1998), and other provinces and territories.

Kelsall (1984) considered that woodland caribou were secure in the NWT and threatened in Alberta, Saskatchewan, and along the southern fringes of its range in Manitoba, Ontario, and Quebec. Some small local populations and subpopulations in southern parts of the Boreal NEA have disappeared or are likely to. There are examples in all provinces. Many of the boreal populations occur in areas of intense development, which fragments populations and metapopulations, alters predator-prey relationships, introduces parasites, and provides access for hunters. In sharp contrast, forest-tundra ecotypes within COSEWIC’s Boreal NEA are 5-6 times more numerous than forest-dwelling caribou, are not considered to be at risk, and are excluded from designation. Those migratory populations include George and Leaf River in Quebec/Labrador, unnamed local populations primarily in taiga west of James Bay and south of Hudson Bay, Pen Island in Ontario/Manitoba, and the Churchill in Manitoba. We recommend that the forest-tundra ecotype be included in the Arctic NEA or in a new Taiga NEA.


Newfoundland Population (NP)

Recent information suggests an increasing population of approximately 100 000 caribou (Mahoney 2000) an increase of 25% over the previous estimate in 1996 (Mahoney and Schaefer 1996). Of 27 local populations, 18 are larger than 500 individuals. There may be another 10 small local populations whose status is not known. The greatest risk may be overexploitation of range.


Atlantic (Gaspésie) Population

The Centre de données sur le patrimoine naturel du Quebec (CDPNQ) gave the Gaspésie population a status of susceptible (Huot pers. comm. 1997). Crête et al. (1994) suggested that “It would likely be more accurate to classify the Gaspésie caribou herd as endangered rather than threatened.”  Its low numbers qualify it for endangered ranking under COSEWIC guidelines.

This population is protected within Quebec's Gaspésie Conservation Park. Even so, the mining industry wanted to modify park boundaries (RENEW 1993). Of concern was the small size of the population, that is, 200 to 250 from 1993 to 1996. Also of concern until 1993 was a low survival rate of calves due to predation by coyotes and bears (RENEW 1993). A Recovery Plan, accepted in 1992 and revised and published in 1994, included recommendations for coyote control, studies of coyote ecology, information on caribou demography, and control of tourist activities. A major goal was to ensure that the population remained above 200 caribou (RENEW 1994). The population may persist with predator control leading to improved calf survival (Crête and Desrosiers 1995). In 1995, a recovery team was disbanded after objectives were achieved (RENEW 1999). However, recent information suggests further declines and a need for continued intensive management including reduced forest operations outside the park (Fournier 2001).

The population is geographically isolated in an island of boreal forest south of the St. Lawrence River and it represents the only caribou in the Atlantic NEA. The small population size and small area of occupation mean that it is susceptible to genetic drift and inbreeding depression and chance extinction by rare climatic events.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Caribou des bois (Rangifer tarandus caribou)

Résumé du rapport de situation

Les personnes chargées de l’attribution des catégories de risque devraient se pencher sur quatre des huit AEN du COSEPAC, qui abritent des populations distinctes. La population de Terre-Neuve est traitée séparément de la population boréale. Il faudra échantillonner les caractéristiques génétiques d’autres populations locales avant de pouvoir élucider la systématique. Les caribous des montagnes de la Cordillère diffèrent de ceux vivant à l’est. Ceux des montagnes du Sud sont des croisements des deux clades fondateurs, celui du nord étant prédominant. Les populations échantillonnées dans le Centre et le Sud du Yukon descendent entièrement du clade du nord. D’après les données phénologiques, les caribous de l’AEN des montagnes du Nord seraient probablement eux aussi d’origine nordique; ils ont autrefois reçu le statut de sous-espèce. Tous les caribous de l’AEN des montagnes du Sud sont probablement des populations mixtes, autrement dit issues des clades du nord et du sud. Cet état de choses justifie de traiter la population des montagnes du Nord séparément de celle des montagnes du Sud. Les facteurs limitatifs et les préoccupations de gestion sont aussi bien différents d’une population à l’autre (tableau 7). Les obligations en matière d’alimentation hivernale semblent moins importantes pour distinguer les groupes de caribous. Par exemple, les caribous du sud du parc national Jasper adoptent les deux types de comportements, se nourrissant de lichens terrestres et de lichens arboricoles.

Les caribous de Terre-Neuve sont probablement isolés depuis des milliers d’années, et ne présentent donc pas d’introgression de gènes du clade du nord. C’est probablement le cas aussi de la population de la Gaspésie, qui peut être par ailleurs handicapée par la consanguinité et la dérive génétique. Ces deux populations COSEPAC peuvent donc être considérées comme génétiquement distinctes. La population locale de Pukaskwa était elle aussi issue uniquement du clade du sud; on n’en a cependant examiné que quatre individus.

À la lumière des résultats obtenus pour trois populations locales, la population boréale (figure 2) devrait être une population mixte, descendant surtout du clade du sud; il est donc justifié de la séparer des populations des montagnes du Sud et de Terre-Neuve.

Parmi les raisons d’exclure le caribou toundrique (taïga-toundra) figurent son origine mixte, son comportement migratoire, et des différences dans la démographie, dans les relations de prédation, ainsi que dans les pertes et altérations présentes et futures de l’habitat dues aux activités humaines. Ce sont les caribous des forêts commerciales qui sont les plus en péril. Un facteur qui pourrait en sauvegarder certains est leur niche écologique – l’utilisation de grands complexes de tourbières où le bois est de peu de valeur. Ces complexes exigent cependant l’aménagement de zones tampons de forêts et de corridors de déplacement. L’assèchement des tourbières imputable au réchauffement planétaire, à l’extraction de la tourbe et au drainage destiné à augmenter la production forestière est une source de préoccupation.

L’évaluation de la situation des cinq populations COSEPAC devrait être basée sur les tendances de l’habitat, les effectifs et leurs tendances, les superficies exploitées par les populations locales, les préoccupations liées aux menaces et aux facteurs limitatifs, le degré de surveillance, l’état des connaissances actuelles et l’importance des aires protégées. Nous avons colligé ces données auprès de toutes les instances pour tenter de les normaliser. Les indicateurs de situation des populations élaborés pour le présent rapport permettront d’assurer un suivi objectif des changements pour le prochain rapport de situation. Il faudrait classer par ordre d’importance les indicateurs de situation des populations utilisés ici et en élaborer de nouveaux qui accordent plus de place aux changements passés et prévus de l’habitat (annexe 4). Il est important de surveiller les répartitions et de les cartographier dans des systèmes SIG, parce que les caeractéristiques démographiques des populations sont difficiles à mesurer et très variables. Il est essentiel de prédire les tendances de la disponibilité de l’habitat. Par exemple, les zones d’habitat exploitable (utile) diminueront rapidement après le second passage dans le système de récolte à deux passes.

On ne connaît pas suffisamment l’écologie des populations locales pour calculer leur probabilité de survie dans des conditions futures données. Pour prédire la viabilité des populations, il faut disposer de cinq variables « de processus » : démographie, génétique, stochasticité (variabilité) de l’environnement, dépendance de la densité et catastrophes, ainsi que de cinq variables de population : taille de la population, structure d’âge, sex-ratios, caractéristiques du cycle biologique (probablement fécondité et mortalité) et qualité et disponibilité de l’habitat (Reed et al., 1998). Beissinger et Westphal (1998) dressent une liste de 23 variables, dont 4, 10, 19 et 23 doivent être mesurées dans le cadre de quatre modèles de plus en plus complexes utilisés dans l’analyse de la viabilité des populations. Les données sont rarement adéquates pour aucune des variables. C’est pourquoi la situation actuelle des populations locales et des populations COSEPAC, de même que les prédictions de changement, sont marquées d’une forte incertitude, qui entache aussi la démographie des populations, le degré de changement environnemental et les politiques de gestion. La seule hypothèse que l’on puisse faire est que les changements survenus depuis dix ou 20 ans se poursuivront à un rythme identique ou plus rapide.


Population des montagnes du Nord (PMN)

La population estimative en 2000/2001 est d’environ 44 000 individus, répartis en 36 populations locales (tableau 2, annexe 1a). La plupart des populations locales sont à peu près stables, les hausses compensant sensiblement les baisses. Les effectifs de quatre populations sont en croissance, 15 à peu près stables, trois en déclin; pour les 14 autres, les tendances ne sont pas connues (tableau 3). En 1996, les tendances étaient les suivantes : cinq populations en croissance, 11 stables, trois en déclin et 19 inconnues (tableau 2) (Farnell et al., 1998; Heard et Vagt, 1998). Les populations de tendance inconnue sont généralement situées dans des endroits éloignés, peu développés. L’effectif des populations locales est supérieur à 250 et 500 pour respectivement 75 p. 100 et 56 p. 100 des populations (tableau 4). Toutes sauf trois des 32 populations locales ont des domaines de plus de 2 000 km2; 20 exploitent des territoires de plus de 5 000 et 13 de plus de 10 000 km2 (tableau 5). Les plus grandes préoccupations sont la chasse, la prédation et le feu (tableau 7). On obtient à l’occasion des estimations pour 79 p. 100 des populations locales connues, et des colliers radio ont été posés dans 59 p. 100 d’entre elles (tableau 8). L’habitat, à quelques exceptions près, est relativement vierge, mais de plus en plus fragmenté par des routes et autres aménagements linéaires. Les aménagements s’accéléreront vraisemblablement dans les décennies à venir, et il sera difficile de gérer les loups et la chasse non réglementée.


Population des montagnes du Sud (PMS)

Les effectifs, qui avaient connu des pics dans les années 1960 après la lutte contre le loup, ont baissé dans les années 1970 et 1980 (Bergerud, 1978; Edmonds et Bloomfield, 1984; Edmonds, 1988). Ils ont aussi décliné dans une population protégée du sud du parc national de Jasper (Stelfox et al., 1978; Brown et al., 1994). Lors d’études sur des caribous porteurs de colliers radio, la prédation par le loup s’est révélée la principale cause de mortalité.

En Colombie-Britannique, le rétrécissement de la zone d’occurrence a atteint 40 p. 100 et affecte surtout la PMS. Nombre des populations locales sont petites, très fragmentées et sujettes à des pertes et altérations rapides de l’habitat dues aux nombreux développements industriels. Les modifications de l’habitat ont soumis les populations locales à des stress nombreux et croissants, dont la prédation, la présence accrue de parasites et une augmentation de la chasse non réglementée.

La population est estimée à environ 7 200 individus (dont 6 300 adultes) répartis dans 30 populations locales. Les tendances sont au déclin pour 12 de ces 30 populations locales et à la stabilité pour 13 (tableau 3). Il s’agit d’une nette détérioration par rapport à 1996, époque où trois populations locales étaient considérées comme en croissance, huit stables et sept en déclin (tableau 2) (Heard et Vagt, 1998; Edmonds, 1998). Les effectifs sont une source de préoccupation, puisque 28 des 30 populations locales comptent moins de 500 caribous, 21 moins de 250, et huit moins de 50 (tableau 4). Les territoires exploités sont relativement petits, 63 p. 100 (19/30) des populations occupant moins de 5 000 km2 (tableau 5). La préoccupation première concerne les effets de la foresterie et d’autres aménagements, dont l’augmentation de l’accès et des perturbations, une perte absolue et fonctionnelle d’habitat, l’isolement accru des populations locales et l’accroissement de la prédation (tableau 7). Les relations de prédation ont évolué, et les chasseurs et prédateurs ont de plus en plus accès aux caribous. Le degré de surveillance est élevé, les effectifs étant estimés annuellement ou à l’occasion pour 97 p. 100 des populations locales (tableau 8). Des colliers radio ont été posés dans 87 p. 100 des populations locales pour surveiller les déplacements, l’utilisation de l’habitat et la mortalité. La plupart des 150 caribous et plus porteurs de colliers dans le Centre-Ouest de l’Alberta (Dzus, 2001) étaient de l’écotype montagnard.

La population de Selkirk Sud est officiellement classée en voie de disparition (endangered) aux États-Unis; la prédation par le couguar, les changements apportés à l’habitat par les activités humaines et les feux de friche y sont les principales préoccupations (Zager et al., 1996). Cette population est dans une situation très précaire et ne devrait pas pouvoir se maintenir, en raison des changements dans l’habitat et du nombre croissant de prédateurs. Kinley et Apps (2001) ont proposé de transplanter à Purcell Sud des caribous d’une autre population. Le gouvernement de l’Alberta a déclaré le caribou threatened (menacé) en 1985 (Edmonds, 1988; Alberta Environmental Protection, 1996). En 1991, le caribou a été placé sur la liste rouge (risque de disparition locale) puis, en 1996, sur la liste bleue (peut baisser jusqu’à des niveaux de population non viables).

Pour la population des montagnes du Sud et la population boréale, les inquiétudes tiennent en partie aux tendances actuelles des effectifs (tableaux tableau2 et tableau3) et au rétrécissement des aires de répartition (figures figure4 et figure5). Dans l’hypothèse où se maintiendrait le taux annuel de déclin de 2,47 p. 100 observé de 1997 à 2002 en Colombie-Britannique, les effectifs baisseront de 39 p. 100 d’ici 20 ans. Les principales préoccupations sont la future baisse de la qualité et de la quantité de l’habitat, l’isolement croissant des petites populations locales (tableau 4) dans de petites régions géographiques (tableau 5) et l’accroissement de la prédation. Les caribous ne survivront probablement pas dans les régions où l’aménagement sera généralisé et intensif, à moins que la prédation et la chasse ne soient presque totalement éliminées, et qu’on prenne des dispositions spéciales pour leur conserver des habitats sécuritaires et des sources de nourriture suffisants dans de grands blocs de forêt mature et ancienne.


Population boréale (PB)

Les préoccupations sont sensiblement les mêmes pour cette population que pour celle des montagnes du Sud, sauf que l’exploitation est encore plus intense dans certaines parties de l’aire de répartition en raison de l’exploitation de multiples ressources et que les aires protégées ne représentent qu’une faible fraction du territoire occupé par le caribou. La zone d’occurrence a rétréci d’environ 40 p. 100 par rapport aux vastes répartitions historiques en Alberta et en Ontario. Cependant, une partie de la superficie couverte par la zone d’occurrence historique n’était pas adéquate pour le caribou. Les territoires exploités ont moins diminué en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba. Les zones d’occupation actuelles pourraient être réduites à moins de la moitié des répartitions historiques.

L’effectif estimatif de la population boréale est de 33 000 caribous, répartis dans au moins 64 populations locales éparpillées sur une vaste région s’étendant du delta du Mackenzie à la côte du Labrador. Un des grands défis est de maintenir la connectivité entre les populations locales pour assurer la circulation des gènes et la diversité génétique. Les provinces et territoires doivent donc coopérer pour atteindre cet objectif, nombre des populations chevauchant les territoires de plusieurs instances.

La plupart (12) des 19 populations locales pour lesquelles on dispose de données sur les tendances des effectifs sont considérées comme en déclin (tableau 3). Cependant, ces données de tendances ne sont disponibles que pour les provinces des Prairies et le Labrador (tableau 2), et ne couvrent qu’environ 35 p. 100 du territoire occupé par le caribou des bois forestier (S. Carriere, comm. pers., 2001). Il demeure beaucoup d’incertitude quant au sort du reste de l’aire de répartition, dont la plus grande partie se situe en Ontario et au Québec. Les facteurs qui touchent le caribou des bois (tableau 7) sont les mêmes sur toute l’aire de répartition de la population boréale : l’exploitataion est en effet intense dans la forêt commerciale, ainsi que dans les régions pétrolifères et les régions riches en minéraux. La foresterie aura des effets accélérés sur les caribous de tout le Canada lorsque la seconde passe (coupe) sera faite dans les systèmes dits « à deux passes ». La plus grande partie de la forêt sera alors trop jeune pour fournir du fourrage pour le caribou, à moins que ce dernier fasse l’objet de dispositions spéciales dans ses zones d’occupation. Par ailleurs, si le climat continue de se réchauffer, le fourrage d’été sera moins abondant dans les tourbières, et les feux réduiront l’aire d’hivernage dans les tourbières et les forêts d’altitude.

Le gouvernement de l’Alberta a déclaré le caribou des bois menacé en 1985 (Edmonds, 1998). Harris (1999) a proposé de classer menacé l’écotype forestier en Ontario. La situation du caribou forestier sur le territoire des autres instances semble être la même. Les inquiétudes quant à la situation du caribou des bois ont été prises en compte lors de l’expansion des aires protégées en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta (monts Caribou), en Ontario (Duinker et al., 1998) et dans d’autres provinces et territoires.

Kelsall (1984) considérait que le caribou des bois n’était pas en danger dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, mais qu’il était menacé en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et le long des marges sud de son aire de répartition au Manitoba, en Ontario et au Québec. Quelques petites populations locales et sous-populations du Sud de l’AEN boréale ont déjà disparu ou risquent de disparaître; il existe des cas semblables dans toutes les provinces. Un grand nombre des populations boréales fréquentent des régions soumises à une exploitation intense qui fragmente les populations et les métapopulations, modifie les relations de prédation, introduit des parasites et facilite l’accès pour les chasseurs. Cela constitue un contraste marqué avec les écotypes toundriques dans l’AEN boréale du COSEPAC, cinq à six fois plus nombreux que le caribou forestier, qui ne sont pas considérés comme en péril et ne font l’objet d’aucune désignation. Ces populations migratrices comprennent celles des rivières George et Leaf au Québec/Labrador, des populations locales sans nom situées surtout dans la taïga à l’ouest de la baie James et au sud de la baie d’Hudson, ainsi que celles de l’île Pen en Ontario/Manitoba et de Churchill au Manitoba. Nous recommandons d’inclure l’écotype toundrique dans l’AEN arctique ou dans une nouvelle AEN de la taïga.


Population de Terre-Neuve (PTN)

Selon de récentes informations, cette population compterait environ 100 000 individus (Mahoney, 2000), soit une augmentation de 25 p. 100 depuis l’estimation faite en 1996 (Mahoney et Schaefer, 1996). Des 27 populations locales, 18 dépassent les 500 individus. Il pourrait y avoir dix autres populations locales, dont la situation est inconnue. Le plus grand risque pourrait être la surexploitation du territoire.


Population de la Gaspésie-Atlantique

Le Centre de données sur le patrimoine naturel du Québec (CDPNQ) a classé la population de la Gaspésie comme susceptible (Huot, comm. pers., 1997). D’après Crête et al. (1994), la population de caribous de la Gaspésie répondrait probablement mieux à la définition de population « en danger de disparition » qu’à celle de « population menacée ». Son faible effectif justifie en effet de le classer comme « en voie de disparition » selon les lignes directrices du COSEPAC.

Cette population est protégée dans le parc de conservation de la Gaspésie, mais l’industrie minière a tenté de faire modifier les limites du parc (RESCAPÉ, 1993). On s’inquiétait de la petite taille de la population, qui comptait de 200 à 250 individus de 1993 à 1996. On s’est aussi inquiété jusqu’en 1993 du faible taux de survie des faons, imputable à la prédation par les coyotes et les ours (RESCAPÉ, 1993). Un plan de rétablissement, accepté en 1992 et révisé et publié en 1994, recommandait de lutter contre le coyote, d’étudier l’écologie du coyote, de recueillir des informations sur la démographie du caribou, et de limiter les activités touristiques. Un des objectifs principaux était de faire en sorte que l’effectif reste supérieur à 200 caribous (RESCAPÉ, 1994). La population pourrait se maintenir si on limitait la présence des prédateurs, ce qui améliorerait la survie des faons (Crête et Desrosiers, 1995). L’équipe de rétablissement a été dissoute en 1995, les objectifs ayant été atteints (RESCAPÉ, 1999). Des informations récentes donnent cependant à penser que la population diminue de nouveau, et qu’il faudrait poursuivre une gestion intensive, dont une réduction des activités forestières à l’extérieur du parc (Fournier, 2001).

La population est isolée géographiquement dans une enclave de forêt boréale au sud du Saint-Laurent et il s’agit des seuls caribous présents dans l’AEN atlantique. La petite taille de la population et l’exiguïté de sa zone d’occupation font qu’elle est susceptible de dérive génétique et de dépression de consanguinité, ainsi que d’extinction surprise consécutive à des événements climatiques rares.