Skip booklet index and go to page content

Woodland Caribou (Rangifer Tarandus Caribou)

Acknowledgements

Financial support was received from the Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada and World Wildlife Fund Canada. Co-ordination was by Marco Festa-Bianchet, chair of COSEWIC and the terrestrial mammals subcommittee. Ruben Boles, COSEWIC Secretariat, prepared the digital maps. Bruce Petersen provided support and gave encouragement to D.G. during a first draft of this report. David Taylor entered products from jurisdictions into a GIS at the NWT Centre for Remote Sensing in Yellowknife. Frank Miller, Marco Festa-Bianchet, Mark Brigham, Tara Szkorupa, Dave Hervieux, and Suzanne Carrière reviewed earlier drafts and provided useful comments. The report depended on information and assistance from the following people.

Marco Festa-Bianchet, Département de biologie, Université de Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, Quebec J1K 2R1.

Richard Farnell, Caribou Biologist, Department of Renewable Resources, Fish and Wildlife Branch, Box 2703, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6.

Loralee Laberge, Caribou Technician, Box 2703, Whitehorse, YT Y1A 2C6.

Anne Gunn, Wildlife, Resources & Economic Development, Government of the Northwest Territories, 600, 5102-50th Avenue, Yellowknife. NT.  X1A 3S8.

David E. Taylor, Systems Specialist, NWT Centre for Remote Sensing, Government of the Northwest Territories, 600, 5102-50th Avenue, Yellowknife. NWT. X1A 3S8.

Ian Hatter, Ungulate Specialist, Wildlife Branch, Ministry of Environment, Lands & Parks, Box 9344 Stn. Prov. Gov’t, Victoria, B.C. V8W 9M1.

David Nagorsen, Royal British Columbia Museum. Box 9815 Stn. Prov. Gov., Victoria, B.C. V8W 9W2.

James Quayle, RPBio, Wildlife Biologist (Ungulates at Risk), Wildlife Branch, Ministry of Environment, Lands & Parks, Box 9344 Stn. Prov. Gov’t, Victoria, B.C. V8W 9M1.

Dave Hervieux, Area Wildlife Biologist, Alberta Environment, 1701-10320 – 99 Street, Grande Prairie, AB. T8V 6J4.

Lisa Szkorupa, Endangered Species Biologist, Alberta Environment, #1701 Provincial Building 10320-99 Street, Grande Prairie, AB. T8V 6J4.

Elston Dzus, Alberta-Pacific Forest Industries Inc., Box 8000, Boyle, AB. T0A 0M0.

Earl Wiltse, Provincial Species at Risk Specialist, Fish and Wildlife Branch, Saskatchewan Environment & Resource Management, 3211 Albert Street, Regina, SK. S4S 5W6.

Al Arsenault, Wildlife Population Biologist, Saskatchewan Environment & Resource Management, Fish and Wildlife Branch, 112 Research Drive, Saskatoon, SK. S7K 2H6.

Tim Trottier, Saskatchewan Environment and Resource Management, Box 5000, La Ronge, SK. S0J 1L0.

Dr. James R. Duncan, Acting Chief, Biodiversity Conservation Section, Wildlife Branch, Manitoba Conservation, Box 24, 200 Saulteaux Crescent, Winnipeg, MB. R3J 3W3.

Cam Elliott, Wildlife Branch, Box 28, 59 Elizabeth Drive, Thompson, MB. R8N 1X4.

Ted Armstrong, Regional Wildlife Biologist, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, 435 James Street S., Suite 221, Thunder Bay, ON. P7E 6S8.

Jim Rettie, Northeast Science and Information Section, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, H’Way 101 East, PO Bag 3020, South Porcupine, ON. P0N 1H0.

Michel Crête, Société de la faune et des parcs du Quebec, 675, boul. René-Lévesque Est. (CP92) Québec, QC. G1R 5V7.

Gilles Lamontagne, Direction du Développement, Société de la Faune et des Parcs du Quebec.

Robert Otto, Senior Wildlife Biologist – Labrador, Inland Fish and Wildlife Division, Box 3014, Station “B,” Goose Bay, NF. A0P 1E0.

Christine Doucet, Senior Wildlife Biologist, Research and Inventories, St. Johns, NF.

Pat Valkenburg, Alaska Department of Fish and Game, 1300 College Road, Fairbanks, AK. 99701.

Tony Iacobelli, M.Sc. Senior Manager, LC&P, WWF-Canada, 245 Eglinton Ave. E. Suite 410, Toronto, ON. M4P 3J1.

Judith Eger, Senior Curator of Mammals, Royal Ontario Museum, 100 Queen’s Park, Toronto, ON.  M5S 2C6.

Bruce Peterson, Chair, Land Use Committee, Environment North, 704 Holly Crescent, Thunder Bay, ON. P7E 2T2.


Biographical Summary of Authors

Donald C. Thomas

Don was born in North Battleford, Saskatchewan, and spent his early years on a farm. From 1958 through 1962, summers were spent assisting biologists of the Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS). Most of that work was on barren-ground caribou but it also included a survey of wildlife on the Queen Elizabeth Islands. In 1962, he completed an Honours BA in Biology at the University of Saskatchewan under direction of Dr. Donald Rawson. His Ph.D. was on reproduction in black-tailed deer at the University of British Columbia as directed by Ian McTaggart Cowan. While at UBC, he did contract work for CWS involving aerial surveys of the large mainland populations of caribou and on age determination of wolves and bears. After a Post-Doctorate at Cambridge University (UK) with Sir Richard Harrison, head of the Anatomy Department, he was briefly a consultant for F.F. Slaney and Co. before taking a permanent position with CWS in 1982.

His research with CWS involved Peary, barren-ground, and woodland caribou and their habitats from the High Arctic Islands to Jasper and Prince Albert National Parks. Two of those studies involved the effects of forest fires on caribou and their habitat. He served as Environment Canada’s representative on the Beverly and Qamanirjuak Caribou Management Board from 1987 through 1999. In 2000, he received the Centenary Medal for northern science from Indian and Northern Affairs Canada. After semi-retirement in 1998, he has continued to write reports and publications when not travelling.


David R. Gray

A researcher and writer, with 30 years’ experience in arctic science, David Gray completed a PhD at the University of Alberta in 1973 on the behaviour and ecology of muskoxen. Between 1973 and 1994 he conducted research in Canada's High Arctic on the behaviour of muskoxen, arctic hare, arctic wolves, and red-throated loons for the Canadian Museum of Nature. In conjunction with studies of wolves and muskoxen he also studied the ecology of Peary caribou. Dave has been an independent researcher and consultant since 1994. He has prepared research reports on the Peary caribou and birds of prey of Bathurst Island for DIAND and Parks Canada, completed studies for Parks Canada on the ecological resources of northern Ellesmere Island, the wolves of Alert, and the human and natural history of northern Bathurst Island. He has also made revisions to the vegetation map of Ellesmere Island National Park Reserve and prepared an environmental assessment of an abandoned camp on Ellesmere Island.

David has also completed major reports on the natural and cultural resources of Ellesmere Island National Park Reserve, Aulavik National Park, and Vuntut National Park for Parks Canada. He also wrote a commemorative book, Alert, Beyond the Inuit Lands, on the human and natural history of Canadian Forces Station Alert for DND. David is a Research Associate at both the Canadian Museum of Civilization and the Canadian Museum of Nature and was elected as a Fellow of the Arctic Institute of North America in 1991.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Caribou des bois (Rangifer tarandus caribou)

Remerciements

Le Service canadien de la faune, Environnement Canada et le Fonds mondial pour la nature (Canada) nous ont fourni un appui financier. La coordination a été assurée par Marco Festa-Bianchet, président du COSEPAC et du Sous-comité de spécialistes des mammifères terrestres. Ruben Boles, du Secrétariat du COSEPAC, a préparé les cartes numériques. Bruce Petersen a fourni appui et encouragements à D.G. pour la première version préliminaire du présent rapport. David Taylor a entré les produits fournis par les autres instances dans un SIG, au Centre de télédétection des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, à Yellowknife. Frank Miller, Marco Festa-Bianchet, Mark Brigham, Tara Szkorupa, Dave Hervieux et Suzanne Carrière ont révisé les premières versions préliminaires et formulé maints commentaires précieux. Le rapport est basé sur les informations et l’assistance fournies par :

Marco Festa-Bianchet, Département de biologie, Université de Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, Québec J1K 2R1.

Richard Farnell, Spécialiste en biologie du caribou, Department of Renewable Resources, Fish and Wildlife, C.P. 2703, Whitehorse (Yukon) Y1A 2C6.

Loralee Laberge, Technicienne - caribou, C.P. 2703, Whitehorse (Yukon) Y1A 2C6.

Anne Gunn, Wildlife, Resources & Economic Development, Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, 600, 5102-50th Avenue, Yellowknife (T.N.-O.) X1A 3S8.

David E. Taylor, Spécialiste de systèmes, NWT Centre for Remote Sensing, Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, 600, 5102-50th Avenue, Yellowknife (T.N.-O.) X1A 3S8.  

Ian Hatter, Spécialiste des ongulés, Wildlife Branch, Ministry of Environment, Lands & Parks, C.P. 9344 Stn Prov. Gov’t, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) V8W 9M1.

David Nagorsen, Royal British Columbia Museum.C.P. 9815, Stn Prov. Gov’t, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) V8W 9W2.

James Quayle, RPBio, Spécialiste en biologie de la faune (ongulés en péril), Wildlife Branch, Ministry of Environment, Lands & Parks, C.P. 9344 Stn Prov. Gov’t, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) V8W 9M1.

Dave Hervieux, Spécialiste en biologie de la faune régionale, Alberta Environment, 1701-10320 – 99e rue, Grande Prairie (Alberta) T8V 6J4.

Lisa Szkorupa, Spécialiste en biologie des espèces en péril, Alberta Environment, #1701 Provincial Building, 10320-99e rue, Grande Prairie (Alberta) T8V 6J4.

Elston Dzus, Alberta-Pacific Forest Industries Inc., C.P. 8000, Boyle (Alberta) T0A 0M0

Earl Wiltse, Spécialiste des espèces en péril de la province, Fish and Wildlife Branch, Saskatchewan Environment & Resource Management, 3211, rue Albert, Regina (Saskatchewan) S4S 5W6.

Al Arsenault, Spécialiste en biologie des populations fauniques, Fish and Wildlife Branch, Saskatchewan Environment & Resource Management, 112, chemin Research, Saskatoon (Saskatchewan) S7K 2H6.

Tim Trottier, Saskatchewan Environment & Resource Management, CP 5000, La Ronge (Saskatchewan) S0J 1L0.

James R. Duncan, Chef intérimaire, Section de la conservation de la biodiversité, Direction de la faune, ministère de la Conservation du Manitoba, C.P. 24, 200, cr. Saulteaux, Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3J 3W3.

Cam Elliott, Wildlife Branch, C.P. 28, 59 Elizabeth Drive, Thompson (Manitoba) R8N 1X4.

Ted Armstrong, Spécialiste en biologie de la faune régionale, ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, 435, rue James S., bureau 221, Thunder Bay (Ontario) P7E 6S8.

Jim Rettie, Section Nord-Est Science et Technologie, ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, route 101 Est, sac postal 3020, South Porcupine (Ontario) P0N 1H0.

Michel Crête, Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec, 675, boul. René-Lévesque Est. (CP92) Québec (Québec) G1R 5V7.

Gilles Lamontagne, Direction du Développement, Société de la Faune et des Parcs du Québec.

Robert Otto, Spécialiste principal en biologie de la faune – Labrador, Inland Fish and Wildlife Division, C.P. 3014, Station B, Goose Bay (T.-N.) A0P 1E0.

Christine Doucet, Spécialiste principale en biologie de la faune, Research and Inventories, St. Johns (T.-N.).

Pat Valkenburg, Alaska Department of Fish and Game, 1300 College Road, Fairbanks, AK 99701 pat_valkenburg@fishgame.state.ak.us

Tony Iacobelli, M.Sc., Senior Manager, LC&P, FMN-Canada, 245 avenue Eglinton Est, bureau 410, Toronto (Ontario) M4P 3J1.

Judith Eger, Curatrice principale - mammifères, Musée royal de l’Ontario, 100 Queen’s Park, Toronto (Ontario) M5S 2C6.

Bruce Peterson, Président, Comité de l’utilisation des terres, Environment North, 704 Holly Crescent, Thunder Bay (Ontario) P7E 2T2.

Les auteurs

Donald C. Thomas

Donald C. Thomas est né à North Battleford, en Saskatchewan, et a passé sa jeunesse à la ferme. De 1958 à 1962, il a consacré ses étés à assister des biologistes du Service canadien de la faune (SCF). La majeure partie de ces travaux concernaient le caribou de la toundra, mais il y eut également un recensement de la faune des îles Reine-Élisabeth. En 1962, Donald a terminé un baccalauréat spécialisé en biologie à l’université de la Saskatchewan, sous la direction de M. Donald Rawson. Il a fait son doctorat, qui portait sur la reproduction chez le cerf à queue noire, à l’université de la Colombie-Britannique, sous la direction de M. Ian McTaggart Cowan. Pendant qu’il était à l’UBC, il a effectué des travaux à contrat pour le SCF, dont des recensements aériens des grandes populations de caribous sur le continent, et des déterminations de l’âge chez le loup et l’ours. Après des études post-doctorales à Cambridge (R.-U.) avec Sir Richard Harrison, chef du Département d’anatomie, il a agi brièvement comme consultant pour F.F. Slaney and Co., avant d’accepter un poste permanent au SCF en 1982.

Ses recherches au SCF ont porté sur le caribou de Peary, le caribou de la toundra, le caribou des bois et leurs habitats, depuis les îles de l’Extrême-Arctique jusqu’aux parcs nationaux Jasper et Prince-Albert. Deux de ces études ont concerné les effets des feux de forêt sur le caribou et son habitat. Donald a été le représentant d’Environnement Canada auprès du Conseil de gestion du caribou de Beverly et Qamanirjuak, de 1987 à 1999 inclusivement. En 2000, il a reçu du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord la Médaille du centenaire pour les sciences nordiques. Après avoir entamé une demi-retraite en 1998, il continue de rédiger des rapports et publications lorsqu’il ne voyage pas.


David R. Gray

David Gray est un chercheur et rédacteur qui compte 30 ans d’expérience en sciences de l’Arctique. En 1973, il a terminé à l’Université de l’Alberta un doctorat sur le comportement et l’écologie du bœuf musqué. De 1973 à 1994, il a mené dans l’Extrême-Arctique canadien des recherches sur le comportement du bœuf musqué, du lièvre arctique, du loup arctique et du plongeon catmarin pour le Musée canadien de la nature. Parallèlement à ses études du loup et du bœuf musqué, il s’est également penché sur l’écologie du caribou de Peary. David est chercheur indépendant et consultant depuis 1994. Il a rédigé des rapports de recherche sur le caribou de Peary et les oiseaux de proie de l’île Bathurst pour le MAINC et Parcs Canada et a effectué pour Parcs Canada des études sur les ressources écologiques du Nord de l’île d’Ellesmere, sur les loups d’Alert et sur l’histoire humaine et naturelle du Nord de l’île de Bathurst. Il a aussi contribué à des révisions de la carte de végétation de la réserve de parc national de l’Île-d’Ellesmere et préparé une évaluation environnementale d’un camp abandonné sur l’île d’Ellesmere.

David a également rédigé pour Parcs Canada d’importants rapports sur les ressources naturelles et culturelles de la réserve de parc national de l’Île-d’Ellesmere, du parc national d’Aulavik, et du parc national de Vuntut. Il est aussi l’auteur, pour le MDN, d’un ouvrage commémoratif, Alert, Beyond the Inuit Lands, sur l’histoire humaine et naturelle de la station des Forces canadiennes d’Alert. David est attaché de recherche au Musée canadien des civilisations et au Musée canadien de la nature, et a été reçu Membre de l’Institut arctique de l’Amérique du Nord en 1991.