Skip booklet index and go to page content

Woodland Caribou (Rangifer Tarandus Caribou)

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Woodland Caribou
Rangifer Tarandus Caribou

Species Information

Woodland caribou (Rangifer tarandus caribou) are medium-sized (100‑250 kg) members of the deer family. The taxonomy (classification) and systematics (evolutionary history) of caribou in Canada are uncertain. Based on mitochondrial DNA, caribou in North America evolved from two founding groups (clades) that differentiated in isolation during the last (Wisconsinan) glaciation. The southern clade supposedly evolved south of the continental ice sheet, whereas the northern clade was in a glacial refugium in Alaska and adjacent Arctic Canada. Populations that contained unique southern gene types were the Pukaskwa local population in Ontario and two in Newfoundland. In contrast, exclusively northern types occurred in four Yukon populations and in some forest-tundra and tundra ecotypes of barren-ground caribou (R. t. groenlandicus) in northern Canada. Most woodland caribou populations in the mountains of southern British Columbia (B.C.) and Alberta and in the boreal forest and taiga across Canada are mixtures of the two types. Some ‘mixed’ populations in the taiga exhibit two phenotypes and behave like the forest-tundra ecotype of barren-ground caribou.

Despite the recent genetic findings, no official change has occurred in the taxonomy of caribou. For example, all caribou in Quebec and Labrador and on the Hudson Plain are still considered woodland caribou. One strategy at the national scale is to protect geographic populations of caribou within National Ecological Areas (NEA) established in 1994 by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). Those areas were established for all species and are not a perfect fit for ecotypes of caribou in Canada. Consequently, it is necessary to exclude the forest-tundra (migratory) ecotype of caribou from forest-dwelling (sedentary) local populations within the Boreal NEA because of differences in genetics, ecology, demographics, and degree of habitat alteration through human activities.

Distribution

In this report, distribution of extant forest-dwelling woodland caribou is described for four National Ecological Areas (NEA) adopted by COSEWIC in 1994. They are Northern Mountain, Southern Mountain, Boreal, and Atlantic. Four COSEWIC populations of forest-dwelling caribou are named after corresponding NEAs. The insular Newfoundland population is removed from the Boreal NEA and treated separately.

The present distribution of woodland caribou in Canada, and adjacent southern Alaska and northern Idaho, is much reduced from historical accounts. The extent of occurrence in B.C. and Ontario decreased by up to 40% in the 19th and 20th century. Further range reductions are expected across Canada, particularly in southern parts of the current distribution. Within the general extent of occurrence, more than 164 areas of occupation now are mapped. Many are viewed as discrete local populations because radio-collared or marked caribou remained within mapped distributions. Some local populations are grouped into metapopulations based on an assumption that some emigration/immigration occurs among them.

This report includes only relatively sedentary woodland caribou located in the boreal forest and mountains of Canada, referred to as forest-dwelling caribou. Excluded are forest-tundra migratory ecotypes such as the George and Leaf River populations in Quebec-Labrador and several local populations on the Hudson Plains in Manitoba and Ontario. They are ecologically distinct populations. Also excluded is Dawson’s caribou (R. t. dawsoni), a woodland form that became extinct about 1935 on the island of Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Island).

Habitat

Forest-dwelling woodland caribou occupy cover types that vary from coniferous forests to alpine tundra. In summer, they frequent open or semi-open habitat such as alpine tundra, upper subalpine, peatlands, islands, and shorelines where nutritious plants such as forbs and sedges are available. Spruce (Picea spp.) and pine (Pinus spp.) are usually the dominant trees in forested habitats. Balsam fir (Abies balsamea) occurs in mature and old forests. Tamarack (Larix laricina) is a common tree species in fens. The niche of forest-dwelling caribou is lichen-rich mature and old coniferous forest in a matrix with one or more of alpine/subalpine, subarctic (taiga), peatlands, or lakeshore. There is little overlap with preferred habitats of other large ungulates. Lichen species preferred by caribou are a consistent feature of winter and summer home ranges. Where snow is relatively shallow, caribou paw to uncover terrestrial lichens. Where snow is deep and compacted, such as in the southern Cordilleran Mountains, they eat arboreal lichens. Lichens tend to be most abundant in mature and old forests, consequently fire and logging can displace caribou for decades. Forest-dwelling woodland caribou occur at low density and therefore require large areas with specific habitats for foraging, calving, and avoiding predators. Densities from the Cordilleran Mountains to Labrador often are in the range of 1-4 caribou/100 km2.

Biology

Woodland caribou breed in late-September and October. Most adult (>1 year) females produce one calf in May or early June. The females disperse to calve individually in forests, peatlands, islands, lakeshores, and tundra thereby reducing predation. Death of calves in the first month generally is high and mortality before 1 year usually is 50-80%. Some forest-dwelling caribou migrate short distances (<100 km) between winter and summer ranges. Others are relatively sedentary or they seasonally shift between winter and summer range and periodically change wintering locations because of unfavorable snow conditions or habitat disturbance.

Population Sizes and Trends

The Canadian population of forest-dwelling woodland caribou in 2000/2002 is estimated at 184 000. Excluded are up to 1.1 million caribou of the forest-tundra ecotype, most of them in Quebec and Labrador. About 78% of forest-dwelling caribou occur in insular Newfoundland and the Northern Mountain NEA. Their exclusion leaves only about 40 000 caribou distributed across a huge area of the southern Cordilleran Mountains, boreal plains and shield. Those caribou are most at risk from accelerated development and associated increases in abundance of ungulate species and their predators.

Population numbers of forest-dwelling caribou appear to have increased in most COSEWIC NEA since the last status report in 1984. Except for insular Newfoundland, that increase is a result of improved surveys. A good index of the state of knowledge of forest-dwelling caribou is the number of identified local populations -- about 55 in 1984, 98 in 1991, and more than 164 in 2001. Numbers have increased sharply in insular Newfoundland, whereas decreases have occurred in many local populations in southern portions of the range across Canada. Much of the concern for the Southern Mountain and Boreal populations centres on direct and indirect effects of accelerated development resulting in small population numbers, small ranges (Southern Mountain), and increasing fragmentation and isolation. Average densities per 100 km2 vary from 150 on insular Newfoundland to 20 in Gaspésie Park, 11 in the Northern Mountain population, 5 in the Southern Mountain population, and about 2 in the Boreal population. It is doubtful that caribou can persist in forests managed primarily for fibre production.

Limiting Factors and Threats

A summary of threats to four COSEWIC populations reveals that predation and effects of developments are paramount for the Southern Mountain and Boreal populations. Predation and hunting are the main proximate causes of mortality in forest-dwelling caribou. However, increased mortality usually is precipitated by changes in habitat and weather. Predation rate often is linked to factors such as weather, habitat disturbance, occurrence of alternative prey, and trails and roads that facilitate access by predators to caribou habitat. Caribou populations that increased in the 1990s are those where habitats remain relatively pristine and wolves are absent (insular Newfoundland) or at low densities (parts of taiga range).

Habitat changes that favour increases in deer (Odocoileus spp.), moose (Alces alces), and wapiti (elk) (Cervus elaphus) can result in greater predation on forest-dwelling caribou. Loss and degradation of habitat because of fire, logging, and other developments impact forest-dwelling caribou populations across Canada. Local populations associated with alpine, taiga, and large peatland complexes have the best prospect for survival. Local populations on the southern periphery of the range are vulnerable to the potential effects of climatic warming such as more snow with greater crusting, more area burned in the west, and more and different predators, insects, and disease. Caribou may tolerate limited development if adequate habitat is maintained, predators are managed directly or through management of alternative prey, and hunting is reduced through co-operation with Aboriginal groups. Conservation of declining populations of forest-dwelling caribou will require careful management of a web of interacting factors. More monitoring and research of caribou populations is needed to clarify ecological relationships and responses to developments. Population indicators need to be refined and new ones developed.

Special Significance of the Species

The subspecies caribou is virtually endemic to Canada. Conservation of caribou populations is necessary to maintain biodiversity in coniferous forests across Canada and in the subalpine and alpine ecoregions of the Cordilleran Mountains. Loss of local populations would impoverish biological diversity in all landscapes occupied by caribou. Caribou have symbolic value to Canadians, particularly to Aboriginal groups that co-existed with caribou for centuries. They are a symbol of wilderness areas and are almost mystical because most Canadians have never seen one.

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

Protective measures include protected areas; legislation pertaining to species at risk, developments, and hunting; guidelines for caribou protection when developments occur on caribou range; agreements with Aboriginal people concerning caribou hunting; and societal attitudes and ethics. Many local populations are located partly in protected areas such as parks and wilderness areas. Recreational hunting is banned or not a factor. At-risk designations highlight concern for caribou in parts of Canada. Western woodland caribou were listed as rare by COSEWIC in 1984 and vulnerable in 1995.

Summary of Status Report

Forestry and other developments in the Northern Mountain population are beginning to affect a few local populations of caribou. However, the habitat is little changed in remote areas of occupation. Variable weather, changing predator-prey relationships, and greater access by unregulated hunters affect numbers in local populations.

Local populations in the Southern Mountain population are generally small, increasingly isolated, and subject to multiple developments. The range has shrunk by up to 40% and almost half of the local populations (12-14/30) are decreasing in number. Local populations at the southern limit of the distribution (Selkirk, South Purcells, and Banff) and other small, isolated populations (Barkerville, George Mountain, and Telkwa) are likely to disappear. The outlook for habitat quantity and quality and predator management is not favourable. 

In the Boreal population, numbers have decreased during recent studies in a majority of local populations where trend data are available (12/1). Decreases may also occur in 65% of the range where no trend data are available. There is a high proportion of small local populations in small ranges at low density. Area of occupancy has shrunk up to 40% in Alberta and Ontario. Several small subpopulations at the southern periphery of the extent of occurrence have disappeared in the past 20 years. Caribou populations in commercial forests are most at risk from habitat loss and degradation, accelerated habitat fragmentation, and increased predation caused indirectly by increased numbers of deer, moose, and elk. Much of the range is in the commercial forest and some of it is in areas with high oil and gas activity. Ranges of some local populations in the commercial forest will decline sharply in quantity and quality as forestry and other developments expand.

The Atlantic (Gaspésie) population is an isolated relic population of caribou that formerly ranged into the Maritime provinces and northeastern U.S.A. Although numbers have varied from 150 to 250 individuals over the past 20 years, it is subject to genetic drift, inbreeding depression, and chance catastrophic events.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Caribou des bois (Rangifer tarandus caribou)

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Caribou des bois
Rangifer tarandus caribou

Information sur l’espèce

Le caribou des bois (Rangifer tarandus caribou) (figure 1) est un cervidé de taille moyenne (de 100 à 250 kg). La taxinomie (classification) et la systématique (histoire évolutionnaire) du caribou au Canada sont entachées d’incertitude. D’après l’analyse de l’ADN mitochondrial, le caribou a évolué en Amérique du Nord à partir de deux groupes fondateurs (clades) qui se sont différenciés isolément pendant la dernière glaciation (Wisconsinien). Le clade du sud est censé avoir évolué au sud de l’inlandsis, et celui du nord dans un refuge glaciaire situé en Alaska et dans l’Arctique canadien adjacent. Les populations ne présentant que les types de gènes du clade du sud étaient la population locale de Pukaskwa, en Ontario, et deux populations de Terre-Neuve (figure 2). Par contraste, on a trouvé des types de gènes exclusivement nordiques dans quatre populations du Yukon et dans certains écotypes toundra-forêt et toundra du caribou de la toundra (R. t. groenlandicus), dans le Nord du Canada. Dans la plupart des cas, les populations de caribou des bois des montagnes du Sud de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Alberta, et celles de la forêt boréale et de la taïga canadiennes, présentent des mélanges des deux types (figure 2). Certaines populations « mixtes » de la taïga montrent les deux phénotypes et se comportent comme l’écotype forêt-toundra du caribou de la toundra.

Malgré les récentes découvertes en génétique, aucun changement officiel n’a été apporté à la taxinomie du caribou. Par exemple, tous les caribous du Québec, du Labrador et des plaines hudsonniennes sont encore considérés comme des caribous des bois. Une stratégie d’échelle nationale consiste à protéger des populations géographiques de caribou dans des aires écologiques nationales (AEN), créées en 1994 par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Ces aires étaient destinées à toutes les espèces et ne correspondent pas exactement aux écotypes du caribou au Canada. Il s’impose donc d’exclure l’écotype toundrique (migrateur) du caribou des populations locales de caribou forestier (sédentaire) au sein de l’AEN boréale, en raison de différences quant à la génétique, l’écologie, la démographie et le degré d’altération de l’habitat due aux activités humaines.

Répartition

Dans le présent rapport, nous décrivons la répartition des populations actuelles de caribou des bois forestier pour quatre des aires écologiques nationales (AEN) adoptées par le COSEPAC en 1994 (figure 3), soit les populations des montagnes du Nord, des montagnes du Sud, boréale et atlantique. Quatre populations COSEPAC de caribou forestier sont nommées en fonction des AEN qu’elles habitent. La population de l’île de Terre-Neuve est dissociée de celle de l’AEN boréale et traitée à part.

L’aire de répartition actuelle du caribou des bois, au Canada et dans les régions adjacentes du Sud de l’Alaska et du Nord de l’Idaho, est beaucoup plus petite que celle qu’on a pu établir à partir des mentions historiques (figure 4). La zone d’occurrence en Colombie-Britannique et en Ontario a perdu jusqu’à 40 p. 100 de sa superficie aux XIXe et XXe siècles; on en prévoit d’autres rétrécissements partout au Canada, surtout sur la bordure sud. Sur la zone d’occurrence générale, on a maintenant cartographié plus de 164 zones d’occupation (figure 5), dont beaucoup sont considérées comme des populations locales distinctes, puisque des individus marqués ou porteurs de colliers radio sont restés dans les limites cartographiées. Certaines populations locales sont regroupées en métapopulations, parce qu’on suppose qu’il existe entre elles un certain degré d’émigration/immigration.

Le présent rapport ne concerne que le caribou des bois relativement sédentaire présent dans les montagnes et les forêts boréales du Canada, dit caribou forestier. On en a exclu les écotypes toundriques migrateurs comme les populations des rivières George et Leaf au Québec-Labrador et plusieurs populations locales des plaines hudsonniennes au Manitoba et en Ontario; ce sont en effet des populations écologiquement distinctes. On a également exclu le caribou de Dawson (R. t. dawsoni), sous-espèce forestière disparue aux alentours de 1935 de Haida Gwaii (îles de la Reine-Charlotte).

Habitat

Le caribou des bois forestier exploite des types de couvert qui vont de la forêt de conifères à la toundra alpine. En été, il fréquente des habitats ouverts ou semi-ouverts tels que la toundra alpine, la zone subalpine supérieure, les tourbières, les îles et les rivages où poussent des plantes nutritives telles que les dicotylédones herbacées et les carex. L’épinette (Picea spp.) et le pin (Pinus spp.) sont généralement les essences dominantes des habitats forestiers; le sapin baumier (Abies balsamea) est présent dans les forêts matures et anciennes; le mélèze laricin (Larix laricina) se rencontre souvent dans les tourbières minérotrophes. La niche du caribou forestier est une forêt de conifères mature ou ancienne, riche en lichens, dans une matrice d’une ou plusieurs des zones suivantes : alpine/subalpine, subarctique (taïga), tourbières ou rives de lacs. Le territoire du caribou présente peu de chevauchements avec les habitats habituels des autres grands ongulés. Les espèces de lichens préférées par le caribou sont un élément constant des aires d’hivernage et d’estivage. Lorsque la neige est relativement peu épaisse, le caribou la gratte pour faire apparaître les lichens terrestres; lorsqu’elle est épaisse et tassée, comme dans les montagnes du Sud de la Cordillère, il se nourrit de lichens arboricoles. Les lichens sont généralement plus abondants dans les forêts matures et anciennes; c’est pourquoi le feu et l’exploitation forestière peuvent, en les détruisant, déplacer le caribou pendant des décennies. Le caribou des bois forestier a une faible densité de population, et a donc besoin de grands territoires où il trouve des habitats spécifiques pour paître et mettre bas, ainsi que pour éviter les prédateurs. Des montagnes de la Cordillère jusqu’au Labrador, les densités sont souvent de l’ordre d’un à quatre caribous/100 km2.

Biologie

Le caribou des bois s’accouple à la fin de septembre et en octobre. La plupart des femelles adultes (>1 an) ont un faon unique en mai ou au début de juin. Les femelles se dispersent pour mettre bas individuellement dans les forêts, dans les tourbières, sur les îles, sur les rives des lacs et dans la toundra, ce qui réduit la prédation. Généralement, beaucoup de faons meurent avant l’âge d’un mois, et la mortalité dans la première année est habituellement de 50 à 80 p. 100. Certains caribous forestiers migrent sur de courtes distances (<100 km) entre les territoires d’hiver et d’été; d’autres sont relativement sédentaires ou, avec les saisons, passent de l’aire d’hivernage à l’aire d’estivage, et changent périodiquement d’aire d’hivernage, à cause soit de conditions de neige défavorables soit d’une perturbation de l’habitat.

Taille et tendances des populations

On estime à 184 000 individus (tableau 1) la population canadienne de caribou des bois forestier en 2000/2002. On exclut jusqu’à 1,1 million de caribous de l’écotype toundrique, dont la plupart vivent au Québec et au Labrador. Environ 78 p. 100 des caribous forestiers se trouvent sur l’île de Terre-Neuve et dans l’AEN des montagnes du Nord. Une fois ces populations exclues, il ne reste qu’environ 40 000 caribous répartis sur un immense territoire s’étendant sur le Sud des montagnes de la Cordillère, ainsi que sur les plaines boréales et le bouclier boréal; ces caribous sont très menacés par l’accélération de l’exploitation et l’augmentation connexe de l’abondance des autres ongulés et des prédateurs.

Les effectifs du caribou forestier semblent avoir augmenté dans la plupart des AEN du COSEPAC depuis le dernier rapport, en 1984 (tableau 2). Exception faite de l’île de Terre-Neuve, cette augmentation est en fait due à une amélioration des recensements. Un bon indice de l’état des connaissances sur le caribou forestier est le nombre de populations locales identifiées – environ 55 en 1984, 98 en 1991, et plus de 164 en 2001 (figure 5, annexes 1a-d). Les effectifs ont connu une hausse marquée dans l’île de Terre-Neuve, mais il y a eu des déclins dans nombre des populations locales du Sud de l’aire de répartition, et ce dans tout le Canada (tableau 3). Une grande partie des préoccupations quant aux populations boréale et des montagnes du Sud (tableau 10) découle des effets directs et indirects d’un développement accéléré, qui se traduit par des effectifs faibles (tableau 4), des territoires de petite taille (montagnes du Sud) (tableau 5), et une fragmentation et un isolement accrus. Les densités moyennes (par 100 km2) vont de 150 sur l’île de Terre-Neuve à 20 dans le parc de la Gaspésie, 11 pour la population des montagnes du Sud, cinq pour la population des montagnes du Nord, et environ deux pour la population boréale (tableau 6). Il est peu probable que le caribou puisse se maintenir dans des forêts gérées surtout pour la production de fibre.

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Le résumé des menaces pesant sur quatre des populations COSEPAC (tableau 7) montre que la prédation et les effets de l’exploitation viennent en première place pour la population boréale et celle des montagnes du Sud. La prédation et la chasse sont les principales causes immédiates de mortalité chez le caribou forestier. Cependant, les changements de l’habitat et des conditions météorologiques induisent généralement une augmentation de la mortalité. Le taux de prédation est souvent lié à des facteurs tels que les conditions météorologiques, la perturbation de l’habitat, la présence d’autres proies, ainsi que les pistes et routes qui ouvrent aux prédateurs un accès à l’habitat du caribou. Les populations de caribou qui ont augmenté dans les années 1990 sont celles dont les habitats sont restés relativement vierges, les loups étant absents du territoire (île de Terre-Neuve) ou présents à de faibles densités (certaines parties du territoire de taïga).

Si les changements de l’habitat sont favorables à l’augmentation des populations de cerfs (Odocoileus spp.), d’orignaux (Alces alces) et de wapitis (élans) (Cervus elaphus), il peut s’ensuivre un accroissement de la pression de prédation sur le caribou forestier. La perte et la dégradation des habitats dues aux feux, à l’exploitation forestière et à d’autres formes d’exploitation ont une incidence sur les populations de caribou toundrique dans tout le Canada. Ce sont les populations locales fréquentant la zone alpine, la taïga et les grands complexes de tourbières qui ont les meilleures perspectives de survie; celles qui sont situées sur les marges sud de l’aire de répartition sont vulnérables aux effets potentiels du changement climatique, comme une augmentation de l’épaisseur de neige avec une croûte de glace plus importante, un accroissement de la superficie brûlée dans l’Ouest, et la présence de prédateurs, insectes et maladies plus nombreux et différents. Le caribou peut s’accommoder d’une exploitation limitée si un habitat adéquat est maintenu, que les prédateurs sont gérés, soit directement soit par gestion des autres espèces proies, et que la chasse est réduite grâce à une coopération avec les groupes autochtones. La conservation des populations déclinantes de caribou forestier exigera la gestion soigneuse d’un tissu de facteurs en interaction. Il faudra mener de nouvelles activités de surveillance et de recherche sur les populations de caribou (tableau 8) pour élucider les relations écologiques et les réponses à l’exploitation. Il faudra également raffiner les indicateurs de populations et en élaborer de nouveaux (annexe 4).

Importance de l’espèce

La sous-espèce caribou est à peu près endémique au Canada. Pour maintenir la biodiversité dans les forêts de conifères de tout le pays ainsi que dans les écorégions subalpine et alpine des montagnes de la Cordillère, il est indispensable de conserver les populations de caribou. La perte de populations locales appauvrirait en effet la diversité biologique dans tous les paysages occupés par le caribou. Le caribou a une valeur symbolique pour les Canadiennes et les Canadiens, surtout pour les groupes autochtones qui co-existent avec lui depuis des siècles; c’est un symbole des espaces sauvages et un animal presque mythique, parce que la majorité des Canadiennes et des Canadiens n’en ont jamais rencontré.

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations

Parmi les mesures de protection figurent les aires protégées; les lois visant les espèces en péril, l’exploitation et la chasse; les lignes directrices pour la protection du caribou dans le cas d’exploitation menée sur le territoire du caribou; les ententes conclues avec les peuples autochtones concernant la chasse au caribou; les attitudes et l’éthique sociétales. De nombreuses populations locales sont situées en partie dans des zones protégées telles que des parcs ou des aires de nature sauvage (annexes 2a-c). La chasse sportive est interdite ou ne constitue pas un facteur (tableau 9). Les désignations (tableau 10) mettent en lumière les préoccupations pour le caribou dans les diverses régions du Canada. Le caribou des bois de l’Ouest était désigné rare par le COSEPAC en 1984 et vulnérable en 1995 (tableau 11).

Résumé du rapport de situation

L’exploitation forestière et d’autres exploitations dans l’AEN des montagnes du Nord commencent à affecter quelques populations locales de caribou. Cependant, l’habitat n’est presque pas touché dans les zones d’occupation éloignées. Les changements des conditions météorologiques et des relations de prédation, ainsi que l’accès accru des chasseurs non réglementés, influent sur les effectifs des populations locales (tableau 7).

Dans la population des montagnes du Sud, les populations locales sont généralement petites, de plus en plus isolées, et exposées aux effets d’une multiplicité d’aménagements. Le territoire a rétréci de 40 p. 100 par endroits (figure 4) et, pour près de la moitié des populations locales (12-14/30), les effectifs sont en baisse. Les populations locales situées sur les marges sud de l’aire de répartition (Selkirk, Purcell Sud et Banff) et d’autres petites populations isolées (Barkerville, mont George et Telkwa) vont probablement disparaître. En ce qui concerne la quantité et la qualité de l’habitat et la gestion des prédateurs, les perspectives ne sont pas favorables.

Pour ce qui est de la population boréale, on a noté au cours d’études récentes une baisse des effectifs dans une majorité des populations locales pour lesquelles on disposait de données sur les tendances (12/1 – tableau 3). Il pourrait aussi y avoir des déclins dans les 65 p. 100 du territoire pour lesquels on n’a pas de telles données. Il existe une forte proportion de petites populations locales occupant de petits territoires à de faibles densités (tableaux 4 à 6). La zone d’occupation a rétréci de 40 p. 100 par endroits en Alberta et en Ontario (figure 4). Plusieurs petites sous-populations sur la lisière sud de la zone d’occurrence ont disparu dans les 20 dernières années. Ce sont les populations de caribou vivant dans les forêts commerciales qui risquent le plus de subir une perte et une dégradation de leur habitat, une accélération de sa fragmentation et une augmentation de la prédation causée indirectement par la présence accrue des cerfs, des orignaux et des wapitis. L’aire de répartition est située en grande partie dans la forêt commerciale et, dans une certaine mesure, dans des régions de grande activité pétrolière et gazière. Les territoires de certaines populations locales situés dans la forêt commerciale vont subir des déclins rapides en quantité et en qualité, à mesure que l’exploitation forestière et les autres exploitations prendront de l’expansion.

La population de la Gaspésie-Atlantique est une relique isolée des caribous qui exploitaient autrefois les provinces Maritimes et le Nord-Est des États-Unis. Bien que l’effectif soit passé de 150 à 250 individus dans les 20 dernières années, cette population est exposée à la dérive génétique, à la dépression de consanguinité et aux phénomènes catastrophiques aléatoires.