Skip booklet index and go to page content

Woodland Caribou (Rangifer Tarandus Caribou)

Introduction

The conservation of woodland caribou (Fig. 1) in Canada is difficult and complex. Major problems are uncertain taxonomy and systematics, uncertainty about which genetic populations must be conserved, lack of knowledge about local populations and caribou ecology, and high natural variation and measurement error in population sizes and trends. There is also large geographic variation in risk of population decline, because of large east-west and north-south variations in climate, topography, vegetation, ecological conditions, anddegree of habitat modification by human activities.


Figure 1: Photo of Woodland Caribou

Figure 1: Photo of woodland caribou, courtesy of Elston Dzus, Athabasca, Alberta.

Courtesy of Elston Dzus, Athabasca, Alberta.

The classic taxonomy of caribou was based largely on craniometry of adults (Banfield 1961). To date, there is no official change in the taxonomy of caribou. All caribou in Quebec and Labrador are in the woodland subspecies, as are caribou on the Hudson Plain. Exclusion of the forest-tundra (“migratory”) ecotype from forest-dwelling (“sedentary”) local populations within the Boreal NEA is justified for conservation and management because of genetic and ecological differences. Ecological differences have resulted in large differences in trends in numbers, reproduction, mortality, etc. Those differences between caribou ecotypes will increase as forestry and other developments expand northward and climate warming affects ecological processes.

Before 1978, little was published on forest-dwelling caribou from B.C. to Newfoundland. Consequently, as studies expanded, numbers of local populations (herds) increased from 55 in 1985 (Williams and Heard 1986), to 98 in 1991 (Ferguson and Gauthier 1992), and to more than 164 in 2001 (Table 2, Appendix 1a-d). The proper group name (subpopulation, local population, population, and metapopulation) of many distributions remains uncertain and arbitrary until members are radio collared and movements recorded over many years.

This update provides information to help COSEWIC designate forest-dwelling populations of the subspecies caribou. It excludes another woodland caribou, R. t. dawsoni, which became extinct about 1935 on Haida Gwaii (Banfield 1961, Cowan and Guiguet 1965). It was not genetically distinct from present-day caribou in northern B.C. and Alaska based on limited DNA analysis (Byrun et al. 2002).

There is justification for separate designation of forest-dwelling woodland caribou in National Ecological Areas (NEA) adopted by COSEWIC in 1994 (Fig. 3). Caribou in four of the eight NEAs are distinct COSEWIC populations: Northern Mountain, Southern Mountain, Boreal, andAtlantic. A fifth population, Newfoundland, is treated separately as an isolated, distinct population (COSEWIC 2000c). This report summarizes, for each COSEWIC population, the historical and current estimates and trends, distribution and range sizes, known threats and limiting factors, degree of monitoring, and protection afforded by parks and other protected areas. That is accomplished by accumulating data for all COSEWIC subpopulations herein termed local populations.


Figure 2: Proportions of Southern and Northern Clades in Sampled Local Populations of Caribou in Canada

Figure 2: Proportions of southern and northern clades in sampled local populations of caribou in Canada (Dueck 1998, Dueck and Strobeck pers. comm.).

(Dueck 1998, Dueck and Strobeck pers. comm.)

Codes for populations: CHS = Chisana, HRV = Hart River, ASK = Aishihik, WLF = Wolf Lake, JNP = South Jasper National Park, CAR = Cariboo Mountains, SLK = Central Selkirk, PRL = South Purcell, SKN = Saskatchewan, PUK = Pukaskwa, NEO = Northeast Ontario, MDR = Middle Ridge, HUM = Humber, MLY = Mealy, GRV = George River, KMB = Cape Churchill, KAM = Qamanirjuaq, BEV = Beverly, BAT = Bathurst, BLN = Bluenose, SIL = Southampton, BFN = South Baffin.

This report does not revise the taxonomy of woodland caribou (Banfield 1961) nor review all existing information. It builds on information in the first COSEWIC status report on woodland caribou (Kelsall 1984). It benefits from reviews published since 1984 (Williams and Heard 1986, Edmonds 1991, Ferguson and Gauthier 1992, Cumming 1998, Edmonds 1998, Farnell et al. 1998, Heard and Vagt 1998, Rettie et al. 1998, Mallory and Hillis 1998). It also draws on information in reports prepared by or for jurisdictions (Harris 1999, Hatter 2000, Dzus 2001), and tabular information generously provided by provincial/territorial representatives (see Acknowledgements).

This report follows a new format developed in April 2000 (COSEWIC 2000a) and revised in 2001 (COSEWIC 2001). It is shaped by definitions of species and populations-at-risk. The latter conform to the NEA established in 1994 (COSEWIC 1994) and global perspectives (IUCN 1994, 1998, 1999) modified to a national scale (COSEWIC 2000c). It provides additional background information for designations made by COSEWIC in May 2000 (Tables 10 & 11 in COSEWIC 2000b) and May 2002 based on the new NEA and information from the jurisdictions. In summary, this review is limited to:

  1. Forest-dwelling woodland caribou, subspecies caribou, exclusive of the migratory forest-tundra ecotype: Leaf River, George River, Pen Island, Cape Churchill, and other populations on the northern Hudson Plain.
  2. Populations in four of eight NEAs: Northern Mountain, Southern Mountain, Boreal, and Atlantic (COSEWIC 1994).
  3. A fifth population in insular Newfoundland is treated separately from the Boreal as a distinct, isolated population.


Local Knowledge

Only in the past two decades was there much recognition of the value of local and traditional ecological knowledge.  It now is incorporated in COSEWIC guidelines (COSEWIC 2000a) and is required, where available, by the Species at Risk Act (SARA 2002). This knowledge should be incorporated into jurisdictional assessments of caribou status for the next revision of this “living” report (COSEWIC 2001). Authors of COSEWIC reports cannot acquire it for wide-ranging species such as caribou.

Systems for obtaining local knowledge are being explored (e.g., Kofinas 1998, Urquhart 2001). To date, most knowledge is obtained through personal contacts with hunters. In the foothills of Alberta, local people identified two types of caribou and subsequent studies identified mountain and woodland ecotypes (Edmonds and Bloomfield 1984). Similarly, Aboriginal hunters noted two types of caribou in the Cape Churchill population (C. Elliott pers. comm. 2000). That observation subsequently was confirmed by DNA analysis (Fig. 2). Inuit and Cree sources along the western Hudson Bay coast also reported mixing of the Pen Island population with woodland caribou (McDonald et al. 1997), presumably the Nelson-Hayes rivers population. The Cree and Inuit of coastal Quebec noted increases in caribou numbers along the coast of James Bay (McDonald et al. 1997). The Cree of Lake Mistassini, Quebec, reported that the Caniapiscau population travelled south as far as Val d'Or and Lac Saint-Jean


Figure 3: National Ecological Areas Established by COSEWIC in 1994

Figure 3: National Ecological Areas established by COSEWIC in 1994.

COSEWIC Ecological Areas compiled by the NWT Centre for Remote Sensing, Yellowknife, NWT from the Ecological Framework of Canada Database, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada and Environment Canada, 1995.

(Blacksmith pers. comm. 1997). Some information is in printed form (e.g., Novalinga 1997), whereas much information can only be obtained orally through personal contact or interviews. The next COSEWIC status report on forest-dwelling woodland caribou should have more information from Aboriginal and other local people as jurisdictions begin to collect that information.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Caribou des bois (Rangifer tarandus caribou)

Introduction

La conservation du caribou des bois (figure 1) au Canada est une entreprise difficile et complexe. Parmi les principaux problèmes figurent le flou de la taxinomie et de la systématique, l’incertitude quant aux populations génétiques à conserver et les lacunes des connaissances sur les populations locales et l’écologie du caribou, ainsi que les importantes variations naturelles et les grandes erreurs de mesure de la taille et des tendances des populations. Le risque de déclin des populations diffère lui aussi considérablement avec l’endroit, étant donné que le climat, le relief, la végétation, les conditions écologiques et le degré de modification des habitats par les activités humaines présentent d’importantes variations selon la longitude et la latitude.


Figure 1 : Photo de caribou des bois

Figure 1 : Photo de caribou des bois.

Photo courtoisie de Elston Dzus.

La taxinomie classique du caribou repose largement sur la craniométrie des adultes (Banfield, 1961) et, à ce jour, n’a pas été officiellement modifiée. Tous les caribous du Québec et du Labrador font partie de la sous-espèce des bois, tout comme ceux des plaines hudsoniennes. Aux fins de la conservation et de la gestion, il est justifié d’exclure l’écotype toundrique (« migrateur ») des populations locales sylvicoles (« sédentaire ») de l’aire écologique nationale (AEN) boréale, en raison de différences génétiques et écologiques. Les différences écologiques ont en effet entraîné de grandes différences dans les tendances des effectifs, de la reproduction, de la mortalité, etc. Ces écarts entre les écotypes de caribou deviendront plus prononcés à mesure que les activités forestières et autres s’étendront plus loin vers le nord et que le changement climatique modifiera les processus écologiques.

Le caribou forestier, de la Colombie-Britannique à Terre-Neuve, n’a pas fait l’objet de beaucoup de publications avant 1978. Par la suite, à mesure que les études se faisaient plus vastes, le nombre de populations locales (troupeaux) est passé de 55 en 1985 (Williams et Heard, 1986) à 98 en 1991 (Ferguson et Gauthier, 1992), et à plus de 164 en 2001 (tableau 2, annexe 1a-d). Pour de nombreuses répartitions, la dénomination correcte du groupe (sous-population, population locale, population et métapopulation) reste floue et arbitraire tant que tous les individus n’ont pas été munis d’un collier-radio et leurs déplacements enregistrés sur un nombre suffisant d’années.

La présente mise à jour fournit des informations qui devraient aider le COSEPAC à désigner les populations forestières de la sous-espèce caribou. Elle exclut un autre caribou des bois, R. t. dawsoni, sous-espèce disparue aux environs de 1935 à Haida Gwaii (Banfield, 1961; Cowan et Guiguet, 1965). D’après une analyse limitée de l’ADN, cette population n’aurait pas été génétiquement distincte des caribous qui fréquentent aujourd’hui le Nord de la Colombie-Britannique et l’Alaska (Byrun et al., 2002).

Il est justifié d’attribuer des désignations séparées aux caribous forestiers des aires écologiques nationales (AEN) adoptées par le COSEPAC en 1994 (figure 3). Les caribous de quatre des huit AEN sont des populations distinctes aux termes du COSEPAC : celles des montagnes du Nord, des montagnes du Sud, de l’AEN boréale et de l’AEN atlantique. Une cinquième population, celle de Terre-Neuve, est traitée séparément, en tant que population distincte isolée (COSEPAC, 2000c). Le présent rapport résume, pour chaque population COSEPAC, les estimations et tendances passées et présentes, la taille des aires de répartition, les menaces et les facteurs limitatifs connus, le degré de surveillance, et la protection offerte par les parcs et autres aires protégées. Il a fallu pour cela recueillir des données sur toutes les sous-populations COSEPAC, ici appelées populations locales.

Le présent rapport ne prétend pas modifier la taxinomie du caribou des bois (Banfield, 1961), ni passer en revue toute l’information disponible. Il fait fond sur l’information présentée dans le premier rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le caribou des bois (Kelsall, 1984) et dans les révisions publiées depuis 1984 (Williams et Heard, 1986; Edmonds, 1991; Ferguson et Gauthier, 1992; Cumming, 1998; Edmonds, 1998, Farnell et al., 1998; Heard et Vagt, 1998; Rettie et al., 1998; Mallory et Hillis, 1998). Il puise également dans l’information présentée dans des rapports rédigés par ou pour d’autres compétences (Harris, 1999; Hatter, 2000; Dzus, 2001), ainsi que dans les tableaux généreusement fournis par des représentants des autorités provinciales/territoriales (voir les Remerciements).

Ce rapport, qui suit le nouveau format défini en avril 2000 (COSEPAC, 2000a) et révisé en 2001 (COSEPAC, 2001), est modelé par les définitions des notions d’espèce et de population en péril. Ces dernières se conforment aux AEN fixées en 1994 (CSEMDC, 1994) et à des perspectives mondiales (UICN, 1994; UICN, 1998, 1999) ramenées à une échelle nationale (COSEPAC, 2000c). Il fournit un complément d’information de fond pour les désignations faites par le COSEPAC en mai 2000 (tableaux 10 et 11, in COSEPAC, 2000b) et en mai 2002 sur la base des nouvelles AEN et des renseignements fournis par les diverses instances. En résumé, cette révision se limite aux éléments suivants :

  1. le caribou des bois forestier, sous-espèce caribou, à l’exception de l’écotype toundrique migrateur : populations de la rivière Leaf, de la rivière George, de l’île Pen et du cap Churchill, et autres populations du Nord de la plaine hudsonienne;
  2. les populations de quatre des huit AEN : montagnes du Nord, montagnes du Sud, boréale, et atlantique (COSEPAC, 1994);
  3. une cinquième population, de l’île de Terre-Neuve, traitée séparément de la population boréale en tant que population isolée distincte.


Connaissances locales

Ce n’est que depuis une vingtaine d’année qu’on reconnaît la valeur des connaissances écologiques locales et traditionnelles. Celles-ci sont maintenant intégrées dans les instructions du COSEPAC (COSEPAC, 2000a) et demandées, dans la mesure où elles sont disponibles, par la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP, 2002). Ces connaissances devraient être incorporées aux évaluations du statut du caribou effectuées par les diverses instances en vue de la prochaine révision de ce rapport « en évolution » (COSEPAC, 2001). Les auteurs de rapports du COSEPAC ne peuvent en effet pas en recueillir pour des espèces à répartition étendue, comme le caribou.

On cherche actuellement des façons de recueillir ces connaissances traditionnelles (p. ex. Kofinas, 1998; Urquhart, 2001). Jusqu’ici, la plus grande partie de ces connaissances proviennent de contacts personnels avec des chasseurs. Par exemple, dans les contreforts de l’Alberta, les gens de l’endroit identifiaient deux types de caribous; des études subséquentes ont défini les écotypes montagnard et forestier (Edmonds et Bloomfield, 1984). De même, des chasseurs autochtones avaient noté qu’il y avait deux types de caribous dans la population du cap Churchill (C. Elliott, comm. pers., 2000), observation qui a été confirmée par analyse de l’ADN (figure 2). Des sources inuites et cries des rives ouest de la baie d’Hudson ont aussi signalé que la population de l’île Pen se mêlait au caribou des bois (McDonald et al., 1997), présumément ceux de la population des rivières Nelson-Hayes. Les Cris et Inuits des rives du Québec ont remarqué une augmentation des effectifs de caribous le long de la baie James (McDonald et al., 1997). Les Cris du lac Mistassini, au Québec, ont rapporté que la population de la Caniapiscau descendait vers le sud jusqu’à Val-d'Or ou au lac Saint-Jean (Blacksmith, comm. pers., 1997). Certaines de ces informations sont disponibles sous forme imprimée (p. ex. Novalinga, 1997), mais une grande partie ne peuvent être recueillies que lors d’entrevues ou de contacts personnels. Comme les diverses instances commencent à réunir ce genre de connaissances, le prochain rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le caribou des bois forestier devrait contenir plus d’informations fournies par des Autochtones ou des résidents locaux.


Figure 2 : Proportions des troupeaux du Sud et du Nord dans les populations locales de caribous échantillonnées au Canada

Figure 2 : Proportionsdes troupeaux du Sud et du Nord dans les populations locales de caribous échantillonnées au Canada.

(Dueck, 1998; Dueck et Strobeck, comm. pers.).

Codes des populations : CHS = Chisana, HRV = rivière Hart, ASK = Aishihik, WLF = lac Wolf, JNP = Sud du parc national Jasper, CAR =chaîne Cariboo, SLK = Centre de Selkirk, PRL = Sud de Purcell, SKN = Saskatchewan, PUK = Pukaskwa, NEO = Nord­Est de l’Ontario, MDR = Middle Ridge, HUM = Humber, MLY = Mealy, GRV = rivière George, KMB = cap Churchill, KAM = Qamanirjuaq, BEV = Beverly, BAT = Bathurst, BLN = Bluenose, SIL = Southampton, BFN = Sud de Baffin.


Figure 3 : Aires écologiques nationales définies par le COSEPAC en 1994

Figure 3 : Aires écologiques nationales définies par le COSEPAC en 1994.

Aires écologiques nationales du COSEPAC compilées par le Centre de télédétection des T.N.-O. à Yellowknife (T.N.-O.) à partir de la base de données du Cadre écologique du Canada, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et Environnement Canada, 1995.