Skip booklet index and go to page content

Woodland Caribou (Rangifer Tarandus Caribou)

Biology

General

For more detailed background information on the general biology of caribou, consult (Banfield 1974), the first COSEWIC status report (Kelsall 1984) reviews by Miller (1982) and Bergerud (2000), and recent provincial status reports (Rock 1992, Godwin and Thorpe 2000, Dzus 2001).


Reproduction

Compared with barren-ground caribou, woodland caribou tend to breed younger and have higher calf mortality. Pregnancy was detected in high proportions of yearling females (Rettie and Messier 1998, Dzus 2001) though sample sizes are small. That compares with 12% in the Beverly population of barren-ground caribou (Thomas et al. 1998). The difference between ecotypes can be explained by earlier calving in woodland caribou east of the Cordilleran Mountains, an adaptation to earlier growth of green forage. Green-up is as much as 2 months earlier in the boreal forest and southern mountains compared with barren-ground caribou that migrate to northern calving grounds. Pregnancy rate in Peary and barren-ground caribou is correlated with body weight and degree of fatness (Dauphiné 1976, Thomas 1982, Cameron et al. 1993).

Pregnant females travel to isolated, relatively predator-free areas to calve. Examples are islands in lakes or peatlands, lakeshores, forests, and tundra. Only one calf is born in May or early June. Caribou in the Cordilleran Mountains appear to calve in the first 2 weeks of June (Edmonds 1991) plus the last week of May (Brown et al. 1994). Such timing is comparable to that of barren-ground caribou. Most calves were born mid-May in Saskatchewan (Rettie and Messier pers. comm.) as in eastern Alberta (Fuller and Keith 1981). Peak calving was 17-21 May in the forest-tundra Pen Island population (Abraham and Thompson 1998) similar to caribou in the Boreal population. Therefore, calving is 2-3 weeks earlier in the boreal NEA than in the Cordilleran Mountains. Calves of barren-ground caribou are able to travel within a day or two of birth but there is some evidence that calves of woodland caribou are cached (Chubbs 1993).

Most breeding is by large males with large antlers, which indicates strong sexual selection among males (Butler 1986). Woodland caribou form harems like wapiti (Cowan and Guiguet 1965, Banfield 1974, Geist 1991), whereas barren-ground caribou bulls form loose-tended groups of cows. The mating behaviour of caribou is dictated by the social system, which is considered an adaptive response to the environment and particularly to predators (Butler 1986). Group size is lowest at calving and in summer, increases before the rut, and may decline or increase during the winter. Peak group size may occur at the rut or in early and late winter. Group size at all seasons is much larger in forest-tundra caribou than in forest-dwelling caribou.


Survival

On average only 30-50% of calves survive their first year. Typically, about 70 to 74 calves are produced by 100 adult females (>1 year). Population stability occurs when about 30 calves per 100 adult females survive to autumn (Yukon Renewable Resources 1996), which is survival of about 42%. Survival of calves can vary from almost none to 100%, depending on the abundance of predators and forage accessibility during pregnancy and the first year of life (e.g., Bergerud 1983). High rates of survival occur when populations are irrupting after low numbers or after caribou are introduced to new range with few or no predators. Predation is the major cause of death of radio-collared calves and adults (e.g., Bergerud 2000). Much of the behaviour of caribou is related to reducing risk of predation (Bergerud 2000).

High calf mortality implicates poor winter energetics or predation or a combination of both. Terrestrial lichen cover and standing crop is low on some winter ranges relative to taiga ranges of barren-ground caribou (Edmonds and Bloomfield 1984, Thomas and Armbruster 1996a). Caribou in the Southern Mountain population may be nutritionally stressed late in winter before they are able to obtain new-growth vegetation. In B.C., they consume arboreal lichens during mid- to late winter and little or no green forage. In the mountains of Alberta, sparse forage is difficult to access in some winters. Some populations in Saskatchewan rely on arboreal lichens in and around peatlands to supplement food under snow (Thomas and Armbruster 1996b). Caribou that are nutritionally stressed in late winter-early spring are likely to produce weak calves. Such calves are more likely to die from predators, pneumonia, and other causes, which points to an interaction of factors. There are few data on the nutritional status of forest-dwelling caribou. Adult female caribou captured in Jasper National Park in October had little back fat (mean = 7 mm, median = 2 mm) (Brown et al. 1994) compared with caribou sampled in the Qamanirjuaq (mean = 15 mm) (Dauphiné 1976) and Beverly (mean = 13 mm) populations of forest-tundra caribou (Thomas et al.1998).

The adult (>1 year) mortality rate of female caribou usually varies between 5% and 15%, with half to two thirds attributed to wolf predation (Bergerud and Elliott 1998, Yukon Renewable Resources 1996, Dzus 2001). Average annual mortality of adults in Alberta averages 14.5% and 11.0% (females only) in the SMP and BP, respectively (Dzus 2001). In Saskatchewan, average annual mortality of adult females was 14% (Rettie and Messier 1998). The mortality of male barren-ground caribou (38%) was more than double that of females (17%) after sexual maturity at age 4 and 3 years, respectively (Miller 1974).

Population ‘stability’ occurs when recruitment (addition of calves 1 year old) and annual mortality of adult females is about equal and typically is 10-16%. Demographics and ‘equilibria’ are dynamic in forest-dwelling populations. Stability cannot be assumed if there is no change in estimated numbers between surveys spaced several years apart. Wide confidence intervals for most surveys almost guarantee that no statistical difference in population size will be found between successive surveys. Similarly, stability cannot be assumed between surveys spaced several years apart even if they yield similar population estimates. Long-term stability is unlikely in caribou populations because major limiting factors such as weather, predation, and hunting are highly variable.

The probability of survival of caribou is age dependent. For example in the Beverly population, the expected 1-year survival of females 3 and 10 years old was 0.89 and 0.78, respectively (Thomas and Barry 1990). The age structure of captured caribou tends to be older than the entire population because cows with calves and cows with large antlers tend to be selected. For example, the average age of females at capture in Jasper National Park was 7.7 years (Brown et al. 1994). By the time of death, the age structure has advanced 1-4 years. Expected survival of those relatively old caribou is lower than in the general population.  For example, two of five deaths among 24 collared caribou in Alberta were old females (Edmonds 1991), which inflated the mortality rate to 22%. Similarly, in Jasper National Park average annual mortality of adult females and males was 31% and 34%, respectively (Brown et al. 1994). However, 5 of 11 females that died were 12 years+ and two of the three males that died were approaching age 10 years. Wolves and a bear accounted for all deaths of those seven old caribou, which were in poor condition when killed in late winter or early spring. Only 2-3% of 2+ year old female and male forest-tundra caribou survive past 12 and 10 years, respectively (Miller 1974, Messier et al. 1988, Thomas and Barry 1990). Therefore, the survival of radio-collared caribou should be adjusted by comparing expected survival of each caribou to actual survival.


Physiology

Most of what is known about caribou function comes from literature on reindeer. Through inductive logic and analogy, some of the results can be extrapolated to woodland caribou. Caribou have adapted to feed on lichens, though they also consume a wide array of plant species. They can withstand severe cold because their thick winter coat contains semi-hollow hair but they are susceptible to over heating because cows do not shed their winter coat until after calving. The dark summer coat absorbs all wavelengths and points to the importance of shade and cool forest cover types. Adaptations to snow include large feet and a furred muzzle. Caribou are the most energetically efficient walkers of ungulates tested (Fancy and White 1987).


Movements/Dispersal

Caribou are almost always on the move. Consequently, predators and parasitic insects cannot predict where caribou will occur and lichen ranges are not overused and trampled. A negative result of movement is that caribou can travel into areas occupied by wolves. Some movements are local or elevational, whereas others are migratory (traditional, twice annual movements between two distinct seasonal ranges). Those movements can be explained as responses to specific seasonal habitat requirements, predators, food quantity and quality, snow conditions, insects, thermal extremes, or combinations of those factors. Their mobility and responses to changing environments means that dispersal is most likely when environmental conditions are extremely unfavourable and during range expansion at population ‘highs.’ Therefore, travel corridors need to be maintained to facilitate inter-population movements and occupation of former range. Forest-dwelling caribou are least mobile in summer and winter with most movement occurring in spring before calving and before the rut and winter (e.g., Brown et al. 1986, Edmonds 1988, Racey et al. 1991, Brown et al. 1994, J. Rettie pers. comm. 2001).

Movement between large fen complexes in northeastern Alberta was only about 5% per year (Stuart-Smith et al. 1997). Local populations in Alberta, with one exception, were discrete based on short-term data mostly for adult females (Dzus 2001). Similarly, in Saskatchewan there was no movement of adult females among five contiguous local populations (Rettie and Messier 1998). Strong fidelity of individuals to their home ranges was also noted in Yukon (Farnell and McDonald 1986), B.C. (Hatler 1986, Seip 1992), Manitoba (Brown et al. 2000b), and Quebec (Brown et al. 1986).

Several authors have noted that radio-collared females will return to the same general area to calve in successive years (Paré and Huot 1985, Brown et al. 1986, Edmonds 1988, Seip 1992, Brown et al. 1994, Brown et al. 2000b). Others have found no fidelity to specific calving sites but definitions of fidelity vary (Rettie and Messier pers. comm.).


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

Caribou are ruminants that have specialized bacteria and protozoa in their rumens that efficiently digest lichens. They are also able to recycle urea to preserve nitrogen, of which preferred lichens are deficient. During winter, they use fat reserves and catabolize protein from muscle when their diet is nitrogen deficient. Caribou are described as catholic, fine feeders. That is, they can eat a wide variety of plants and they select small parts of plants with high nutritional value that are readily digested. In summer they eat sedges, grasses, forbs, lichens, fungi, and the leaves of shrubs, particularly willow. In winter, they eat large amounts of lichens if they are available. Included are lichens that grow on the ground, when snow depth less than 50-100 cm, and arboreal lichens when the availability of surface lichens is poor.

Most interspecific interactions are with predators, particularly the wolf. There is no evidence that caribou actively avoid other ungulates yet separation usually is the case because their use of habitat differs from that of other ungulates.


Behaviour/Adaptability

Caribou have innate behaviour that varies little among populations throughout the world. They often are described as “curious” and will stop and watch a human at a ‘safe’ distance. They often circle a person or even approach to within 50 metres. Distances triggering flight (escape) vary with sex and age, physical condition, and population. Caribou can be enticed to approach humans by unusual activities such as periodically waving an arm. Such behaviour may relay an image of a fit and fearless individual to a predator but it makes caribou highly susceptible to hunters. Caribou have not adapted to hunters with modern rifles and are vulnerable because they aggregate in open areas such as frozen lakes and are easily overtaken by snowmobiles. 

Caribou have considerable genetic variability and are highly adaptable. They occupy diverse range and habitat types, from coniferous forests to tundra. Some populations migrate for several reasons whereas others remain year round in a small area, such as fens. For sedentary populations, there is no real escape from predators, insects, or heat except for specific cover types where some relief is obtained.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Caribou des bois (Rangifer tarandus caribou)

Biologie

Généralités

On trouvera des informations de fond détaillées sur la biologie générale du caribou dans les ouvrages suivants : Banfield (1974), le premier rapport de situation du COSEPAC (Kelsall, 1984), les révisions de Miller (1982) et Bergerud (2000), et de récents rapports de situation provinciaux (Rock, 1992; Godwin et Thorpe, 2000; Dzus, 2001).


Reproduction

Le caribou des bois a tendance à se reproduire plus jeune que le caribou de la toundra et ses faons affichent des taux de mortalité plus élevés. Malgré la petite taille des échantillons, on a observé des taux élevés de gravidité chez des femelles d’un an (Rettie et Messier, 1998; Dzus, 2001), à comparer avec 12 p. 100 dans la population de Beverly de caribou de la toundra (Thomas et al., 1998). La différence entre les écotypes peut s’expliquer par une reproduction précoce chez le caribou des bois à l’est de la Cordillère, une forme d’adaptation à l’apparition plus rapide du fourrage vert. Le verdissement de la végétation survient en effet jusqu’à deux mois plus tôt dans la forêt boréale et les montagnes du Sud que sur les territoires du caribou de la toundra qui migre vers des aires de mise bas nordiques. Les taux de gravidité chez les caribous de Peary et les caribous de la toundra sont corrélés avec la masse corporelle et les réserves lipidiques (Dauphiné, 1976; Thomas, 1982; Cameron et al., 1993).

Les femelles gravides gagnent pour la mise bas des endroits isolés relativement à l’abri des prédateurs, comme des îles sur des lacs ou des zones de tourbières, de rives, de forêts et de toundra. Les faons, un par portée, naissent en mai ou début juin. Dans les montagnes de la Cordillère, les biches semblent mettre bas dans les deux premières semaines de juin (Edmonds, 1991) et la dernière semaine de mai (Brown et al., 1994), soit à peu près au même moment que chez le caribou de la toundra. La plupart des faons naissent à la mi-mai en Saskatchewan (Rettie et Messier, comm. pers.) et dans l’Est de l’Alberta (Fuller et Keith, 1981). La période de pointe de la mise bas se situait entre le 17 et le 21 mai chez la population toundrique de l’île Pen (Abraham et Thompson, 1998), comme chez le caribou de la population boréale. La mise bas survient donc deux à trois semaines plus tôt dans l’AEN boréale que dans les montagnes de la Cordillère. Les faons du caribou de la toundra sont capables de suivre le troupeau un jour ou deux seulement après la naissance, mais on a des indications que ceux du caribou des bois sont gardés cachés un certain temps (Chubbs, 1993).

Les mâles reproducteurs sont surtout les individus de grande taille, aux ramures imposantes, ce qui indique une forte sélection sexuelle parmi les mâles (Butler, 1986). Le caribou des bois forme des harems, comme le wapiti (Cowan et Guiguet, 1965; Banfield, 1974; Geist, 1991), alors que le caribou de la toundra a tendance à former des groupes de biches moins défendus. Le comportement d’accouplement du caribou est régi par le système social, ce qui est considéré comme une réponse d’adaptation à l’environnement, en particulier aux prédateurs (Butler, 1986). La taille du groupe est à son minimum lors de la mise bas et en été, augmente avant le rut et peut varier dans un sens ou dans l’autre pendant l’hiver. L’effectif maximum peut être atteint au moment du rut, ou au début et à la fin de l’hiver. Quelle que soit la saison, le groupe est plus important chez le caribou toundrique que chez le caribou forestier.


Survie

En moyenne, seulement 30 à 50 p. 100 des faons dépassent l’âge d’un an, et il naît en général de 70 à 74 faons pour 100 femelles adultes (>1 an). La population est stable lorsqu’environ 30 faons par tranche de 100 femelles adultes survivent jusqu’à l’automne (Yukon Renewable Resources, 1996), soit une survie d’environ 42 p. 100. Les taux de survie des faons peuvent aller de près de zéro à 100 p. 100, selon l’abondance des prédateurs et l’accessibilité du fourrage pendant la gestation et la première année de vie (p. ex. Bergerud, 1983); ils sont élevés lorsque des explosions démographiques surviennent après des années d’effectif réduit, ou lorsque des caribous sont introduits dans un nouveau territoire où les prédateurs sont rares, voire absents. C’est en effet la prédation qui est la principale cause de mortalité chez les faons et adultes munis d’un collier radio (p. ex. Bergerud, 2000). Une grande partie du comportement du caribou est donc liée à la réduction des risques de prédation (Bergerud, 2000).

La mortalité élevée des faons est liée à la médiocrité de l’apport énergétique en hiver, à la prédation ou à une combinaison des deux. La couverture et la biomasse de lichens terrestres sont basses sur certaines aires d’hivernage, comparativement aux aires de taïga du caribou de la toundra (Edmonds et Bloomfield, 1984; Thomas et Armbruster, 1996a). Les caribous de la population des montagnes du Sud sont parfois soumis à un stress nutritionnel à la fin de l’hiver, avant que la nouvelle végétation soit accessible. En Colombie-Britannique, ils consomment des lichens arboricoles du milieu à la fin de l’hiver, et peu ou pas de fourrage vert. Dans les montagnes de l’Alberta, à cause de sa rareté, le fourrage est parfois difficile d’accès en hiver. Certaines populations de la Saskatchewan doivent compléter l’alimentation trouvée sous la neige par les lichens arboricoles présents dans les tourbières et aux alentours (Thomas et Armbruster, 1996b). Si les caribous subissent un stress nutritionnel à la fin de l’hiver et au début du printemps, les femelles donneront probablement naissance à des faons peu vigoureux, qui risqueront plus d’être les victimes de la prédation, de la pneumonie et d’autres causes, ce qui suggère une interaction de divers facteurs. On dispose de peu de données sur l’état nutritionnel des caribous forestiers; des femelles adultes capturées en octobre dans le parc national Jasper avaient peu de gras (moyenne = 7 mm, médiane = 2 mm) (Brown et al., 1994), comparativement aux caribous échantillonnés dans les populations de Qamanirjuaq (moyenne = 15 mm) (Dauphiné, 1976) et de Beverly (moyenne = 13 mm) de caribous toundriques (Thomas et al.,1998).

Le taux de mortalité des caribous femelles adultes (>1 an) varie généralement entre 5 et 15 p. 100, la prédation par le loup y contribuant pour la moitié ou les deux tiers (Bergerud et Elliott, 1998; Yukon Renewable Resources, 1996; Dzus, 2001). La mortalité annuelle chez les adultes en Alberta est en moyenne de 14,5 et 11,0 p. 100 (femelles seulement) dans la PMS et la PB, respectivement (Dzus, 2001). En Saskatchewan, la mortalité annuelle moyenne des femelles adultes était de 14 p. 100 (Rettie et Messier, 1998). Chez le caribou de la toundra, la mortalité des mâles (38 p. 100) était plus du double de celle des femelles (17 p. 100) après la maturité sexuelle, aux âges de quatre et trois ans, respectivement (Miller, 1974).

La population atteint la stabilité lorsque le recrutement (ajout des faons d’un an) et la mortalité annuelle des femelles adultes sont à peu près égaux, en général de l’ordre de 10 à 16 p. 100. La démographie et l’équilibre sont des notions dynamiques chez les populations forestières. On ne peut pas prendre pour acquis qu’il y ait stabilité simplement parce que les effectifs estimatifs restent les mêmes entre deux recensements espacés de plusieurs années. En raison des grands intervalles de confiance de la plupart des recensements, il est presque assuré qu’on ne trouve pas de différences statistiques dans la taille des populations entre deux recensements successifs. Il est peu probable que les populations de caribou connaissent une stabilité à long terme, parce que des facteurs limitatifs importants, comme les conditions météorologiques, la prédation et la chasse, sont eux-mêmes très variables.

La probabilité de survie du caribou est fonction de l’âge de l’individu. Par exemple, dans la population de Beverly, l’espérance de survie sur 1 an des femelles âgées de trois et dix ans était de 0,89 et 0,78, respectivement (Thomas et Barry, 1990). La structure d’âge des caribous capturés est généralement plus élevée que celle de la population totale, parce qu’on tend à choisir les biches suitées et celles portant de grands bois. Par exemple, l’âge moyen des femelles au moment de la capture dans le parc national Jasper était de 7,7 ans (Brown et al., 1994). Au moment de leur mort, la structure d’âge avait avancé d’un à quatre ans. L’espérance de survie des individus relativement vieux est plus basse que celle de la population en général; par exemple, deux des cinq individus morts parmi les 24 porteurs de colliers en Alberta étaient des femelles âgées (Edmonds, 1991), ce qui a porté le taux de mortalité à 22 p. 100. De même, dans le parc national Jasper, les taux de mortalité annuels moyens chez les femelles et les mâles adultes étaient de 31 et 34 p. 100, respectivement (Brown et al., 1994). Cependant, cinq des 11 femelles qui sont mortes étaient âgées de 12 ans ou plus, et deux des trois mâles morts approchaient de l’âge de dix ans; ces sept individus âgés étaient en mauvaise santé lorsqu’ils ont été tués par des loups et par un ours à la fin de l’hiver ou au début du printemps. Seulement 2 à 3 p. 100 des caribous toundriques mâles et femelles âgés de deux ans ou plus dépasseront les âges de 12 et 10 ans, respectivement (Miller, 1974; Messier et al., 1988; Thomas et Barry, 1990). C’est pourquoi il faudrait ajuster la survie des caribous porteurs de colliers radio en comparant l’espérance de survie de chacun à sa survie réelle.


Physiologie

La plus grande partie des connaissances sur le caribou provient de la littérature sur le renne. Par induction et analogie, on peut extrapoler certains de ces résultats au caribou des bois. Le caribou s’est adapté à une alimentation à base de lichens, mais il consomme aussi de nombreux autres végétaux. Il peut supporter un froid rigoureux grâce à son épais pelage d’hiver qui contient des poils semi-creux, mais la femelle risque l’hyperthermie parce qu’elle ne perd ce poil d’hiver qu’après la mise bas. Le poil d’été, sombre, absorbe toutes les longueurs d’onde; il est donc important pour l’animal de jouir de la présence d’ombre et d’un couvert forestier frais. L’adaptation à la neige est mise en évidence par les pieds larges et le museau velu. Parmi les ongulés testés, les caribous sont les marcheurs présentant la meilleure efficacité énergétique (Fancy et White, 1987).


Déplacements et dispersion

Les caribous restent peu de temps au même endroit. De ce fait, les prédateurs et les insectes parasites ne peuvent pas prédire où se trouveront les animaux, et les pâturages de lichens ne sont pas surutilisés ni piétinés; par contre, ces déplacements peuvent amener les caribous dans des régions fréquentées par des loups. Certains des déplacements se font à l’échelle locale, ou sont des changements d’altitude; d’autres sont des migrations (déplacements semi-annuels traditionnels entre deux territoires saisonniers distincts). Ces déplacements peuvent être expliqués comme des réponses à des exigences saisonnières en matière d’habitat, à la présence de prédateurs ou d’insectes, à l’abondance et à la qualité de la nourriture, aux conditions de neige, à des extrêmes de température, ou à une combinaison de ces facteurs. En conséquence de cette mobilité et de ces réactions aux changements du milieu, c’est lorsque les conditions environnementales sont très défavorables et lors d’une expansion du territoire due à un pic des effectifs que la dispersion est le plus susceptible de se produire. Il faut donc conserver des corridors de déplacement pour faciliter les mouvements entre populations et l’occupation de l’ancien territoire. C’est pendant l’été et l’hiver que les caribous forestiers sont le moins mobiles, la majorité des déplacements ayant lieu au printemps avant la mise bas, et avant le rut et l’hiver (p. ex. Brown et al., 1986; Edmonds, 1988; Racey et al., 1991; Brown et al., 1994; J. Rettie, comm. pers., 2001).

Les déplacements entre les grands complexes de tourbières minérotrophes du Nord-Est de l’Alberta n’étaient que d’environ 5 p. 100 par an (Stuart-Smith et al., 1997). Les populations locales d’Alberta, à une exception près, étaient distinctes, d’après des données à court terme concernant presque uniquement des femelles adultes (Dzus, 2001). De même, en Saskatchewan, il n’y avait pas de déplacements de femelles adultes entre cinq populations locales contiguës (Rettie et Messier, 1998). On a également remarqué une grande fidélité des individus à leur domaine natal au Yukon (Farnell et McDonald, 1986), en Colombie-Britannique (Hatler, 1986; Seip, 1992), au Manitoba (Brown et al., 2000b) et au Québec (Brown et al., 1986).

Plusieurs auteurs ont remarqué que des femelles porteuses de colliers radio retournaient d’une année à l’autre mettre bas à peu près au même endroit (Paré et Huot, 1985; Brown et al., 1986; Edmonds, 1988; Seip, 1992; Brown et al., 1994; Brown et al., 2000b). D’autres n’ont noté aucune fidélité à des aires de mise bas particulières, mais les définitions de la fidélité varient (Rettie et Messier, comm. pers.).


Nutrition et relations interspécifiques

Le caribou est un ruminant dont le rumen contient des bactéries et des protozoaires spécialisés qui digèrent efficacement les lichens. Il est également capable de recycler l’urée pour en conserver l’azote, dont manquent ses lichens préférés. En hiver, il utilise ses réserves lipidiques et catabolise les protéines de ses muscles lorsque son régime est trop pauvre en azote. Le caribou est décrit comme un consommateur éclectique et délicat. En effet, il peut s’alimenter d’une grande variété de végétaux, et en choisit de petites parties qui ont une grande valeur nutritive et sont facilement digérées. En été, il mange des carex, des herbacées, des dicotylédones, des lichens, des champignons et les feuilles d’arbustes, surtout du saule. En hiver, il consomme de grandes quantités de lichens, quand il y en a; il s’agit de lichens qui poussent sur le sol, lorsque l’épaisseur de neige est inférieure de 50 à 100 cm, et de lichens arboricoles quand les lichens terrestres sont difficilement accessibles.

La plupart des interactions avec d’autres espèces concernent les prédateurs, en particulier le loup. Rien n’indique que le caribou évite activement les autres ongulés, mais il en est généralement séparé, parce que son utilisation de l’habitat est différente de la leur.


Comportement/adaptabilité

Les caribous ont un comportement inné, qu’on retrouve sans beaucoup de changements dans toutes les populations du monde. Ils sont souvent décrits comme « curieux », et s’arrêteront pour examiner un humain à distance sécuritaire. Ils vont souvent décrire un cercle autour de la personne et même s’en approcher à moins de 50 mètres; les distances déclenchant la fuite varient selon le sexe et l’âge, la condition physique et la population. Devant des mouvements inhabituels, comme un bras agité à intervalles réguliers, un caribou peut être incité à s’approcher des humains. Ce comportement donne peut-être à un prédateur l’impression d’un individu en bonne condition physique et sans peur, mais il dessert le caribou face aux chasseurs. En effet, les caribous ne se sont pas adaptés aux chasseurs armés de fusils, et le fait qu’ils se rassemblent dans des espaces ouverts, comme des lacs gelés, et sont facilement rattrapés par les motoneigistes, les rend très vulnérables.

Les caribous présentent une grande variabilité génétique et sont très adaptables. Ils occupent des types divers de territoires et d’habitats, de la forêt de conifères à la toundra. Certaines populations migrent pour diverses raisons; d’autres restent toute l’année sur un petit domaine, tel qu’une tourbière minérotrophe. Les populations sédentaires ne peuvent pas vraiment se mettre à l’abri des prédateurs, des insectes ou de la chaleur, sauf dans certains types précis de couvert végétal.