Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Silver Hair Moss (Fabronia pusilla) in Canada

Background

Species assessment information from COSEWIC

Common Name: silver hair moss

Scientific Name: Fabronia pusilla Raddi Nov. et Rar. Plant. 2. in Atti dell' Acad. Di Scienze di Siena 9:230 1808

Status: Endangered

Last Examination and Change: November 2002

Canadian Occurrence: British Columbia

Reason for Designation: Silver hair moss is a small species that grows among other mosses, either as an epiphyte on trees or on rock faces. In Canada, it is known from two locations: one that is now submerged and a second associated with a cliff in southwestern British Columbia. The latter is the northernmost location for this species. Although the species was not relocated at its extant site during recent surveys, the expanse of available habitat at the only known sites, combined with small stature of the moss, suggests that the species may still be present in Canada.

Status History: Designated Endangered in November 2002. Assessment based on a new status report.


Description of the species

The silver hair moss is a tiny, creeping moss that grows in thin, flat mats. It has narrow, irregular branched stems with leaves pressed against the stem along their length, except for the leaf tips which tend to bend outwards. Leaves range from 0.4 to 0.85 mm long and from 0.2 to 0.35 mm wide. The leaves are somewhat egg-shaped and have long, clear leaf tips or awns, each ending in a distinctive long cell. The upper two-thirds of the leaf margins are bordered by sharp, cilia-like teeth, with the terminal cells of the teeth usually much longer than the lower cells. The clear awns and teeth give the plant a silvery to whitish-green cast.

The silver hair moss has male and female organs on the same stem. Because of the proximity of sex organs, sporophytes are common in most populations. The erect to somewhat curved stalk that bears the capsule is about 3 mm long. Its capsules are erect, ovate to obovate, with somewhat wrinkled bases when mature.

Although the marginal teeth of the leaves are not readily visible in the field under the low magnification of a hand lens, its diminutive size, long leaf tips, and the general whitish-green cast help to distinguish this species. Its small size and habit of growing with other larger pleurocarpous (creeping and freely branched) mosses may result in the silver hair moss being overlooked in field surveys.

This description is based on information from the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) (2002), Grout (1934), Lawton (1971), and Sharp et al. (1994). Figure 1 illustrates key features of this species and Figure 2 is a photograph of the plant including sporophytes. For additional illustrations refer to Lawton (1971) and Buck (1994).


Figure 1. Illustrations of the silver hair moss

Illustrations of the silver hair moss.

By T. McIntosh 2002. 1 and 2 are outlines of typical leaves (× ~80), 3 is a maturing capsule and upper portion of the seta (× ~40), and 4 shows details of the leaf margin and apex (× ~300; × ~80); illustrations redrawn from Lawton (1971) and Buck (1994), and from microscopic examination of material.

 


Figure 2. Plants of the silver hair moss with sporophytes (rehydrated from first provincial collection)

Plants of the silver hair moss with sporophytes (rehydrated from first provincial collection)

From Species at Risk Act (SARA) website (Environment Canada 2004; photograph by S. Ellis).


Populations and distribution

The silver hair moss has a western North American – western Europe/North African distribution, principally in Mediterranean-type, summer dry/winter wet climates. It has been found in western North America, Mexico, Europe, and North Africa (COSEWIC 2002). In North America, it has been reported from southern British Columbia, Washington, Idaho, Oregon, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, and California (Figure 3). The Canadian records are at the northern limit of the distribution of the silver hair moss in North America. It is more widespread and more plentiful southwards, especially in California.

In Canada, this species is restricted to southern British Columbia where it has been found at two locations: below McKee Peak at the west end of Sumas Mountain east of Abbotsford in the southwestern part of the province (Figure 4), and at Deer Park near Lower Arrow Lake in the Kootenay Valley in the south-central part of the province (Tan 1980). The Arrow Lake site is now submerged behind a dam (B.C. Tan, pers. comm., 2001), and the silver hair moss has not been collected from the area since Macoun’s collections in the late 1800s. It was last seen (and collected) at the Abbotsford site in March 1968. W.B. Schofield made two collections on the same date from sites near each other on Sumas Mountain (these are considered part of the same population; COSEWIC 2002); however, exact coordinates of these collections were not reported. It was not found by T. McIntosh and W.B. Schofield (who visited the site on two occasions with T. McIntosh) during fieldwork in 2001, 2003, and twice in 2005. Sites of similar sandstone habitat on Mount Maxwell, Saltspring Island, were surveyed by T. McIntosh in 2001, but this moss was not located.

Its North American distribution pattern, as well as its apparent preference for oak habitats in California, may indicate that the B.C. population is relictual in nature, possibly a remnant of a drier, oak-dominated ecosystem that was relatively extensive in the southern portions of the province during the warmer hypsithermal period some 6000–7000 years ago. A remnant stand of Garry oaks is present on Sumas Mountain about 10 km to the east of the silver hair moss site below McKee Peak.

No population data are available on the Canadian population of the silver hair moss (COSEWIC 2002; follow-up surveys did not relocate the species). Schofield did not collect any information about the population during his initial collection.

 

Table 1. Population data for the silver hair moss in Canada
SiteLocation coordinatesNumber of patchesLand tenure
Sumas Mountain (below McKee Peak)unknownunknownunknown
Arrow Lake AreaextirpatedN/AN/A


Globally, this species is tentatively considered common to uncommon but not rare (G4G5) and is Red-listed (S1) in British Columbia (B.C. Species and Ecosystem Explorer 2005). NatureServe Explorer (2005) lists itas not assessed for the United States (NNR), N1 (critically imperiled) ranking for Canada, S1 (critically imperiled) for Montana, S1 for Oregon, and S1 for British Columbia.

There are no reported estimations of global distribution and abundance for the silver hair moss. There are no detailed data on the size or trends of the Canadian population of this species as it has not been rediscovered since 1968.


Figure 3. Approximate distribution of the silver hair moss in North America and Canada

Approximate distribution of the silver hair moss in North America: southern British Columbia, Washington, Idaho, Oregon, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, and California

Gray area approximates the distribution in the United States, black dot is the Sumas Mountain Canadian location, and the circle is the extirpated Lower Arrow Lake location.

 


Figure 4. Distribution of silver hair moss in Canada

Distribution of silver hair moss in Canada: Sumas Mountain, extirpated Arrow Lake

X = Sumas Mountain site; E = extirpated Arrow Lake site.


Figure 5. Sumas Mountain site with approximate extent of sandstone cliffs noted by yellow dots

Sumas Mountain photo

Length about 1.5 km.


Needs of the silver hair moss

Habitat and biological needs and limiting factors

There is little information about the habitat needs for the silver hair moss in British Columbia or elsewhere. In British Columbia, the reported population of the silver hair moss (at the Abbotsford site) is restricted to semi-shaded, sandstone rock faces or crevices, often alongside other species of mosses, in particular Homalothecium spp., in low elevation, summer dry environments. However, the exact location, and thus habitat, for this collection has not been determined. It was reported from crevices of steep rocks of undetermined type at the Arrow Lake site (now under water). Southwards in North America, it has been found in similar habitats as well as on tree bark, especially oaks (including Garry oak).

Little is known about the biological attributes that may influence the recovery potential of the silver hair moss. Although the silver hair moss produces sporophytes and spores frequently across the southern portions of its range, sporophytes are not abundant in the two Sumas Mountain collections at the University of British Columbia. Thus, reduced spore production may limit recovery. Also, there is no information on spore dispersal distances, viability, or germination success for this species, although moss spores in this type of habitat are most frequently wind-dispersed. The closed habitat where this species lives may restrict wind dispersal of spores. There is no evidence of asexual reproduction by specialized propagules or by fragmentation, and this may also limit its ability to disperse and recovery.

Another limiting factor may be size--this very tiny moss is smaller than other moss species that grow with it. Because of this, it may not have the competitive ability that adjacent mosses possess, and may require open, relatively bare rock surfaces to survive.


Threats

Until this species has been relocated, the following are considered to be potential threats.

Urban development on Sumas Mountain

A large area of dry Douglas-fir/big-leaf maple forest below the probable location where the silver hair moss was found on Sumas Mountain has recently been developed for residential use. However, the cliffs where this moss was found are over 80 m above this area, and this activity may not have affected the population. The City of Abbotsford’s McKee Peak Planning Study indicates that much of the land above the probable location could be subject to urban development in the next 10–15 years. The proposed development is approximately 800 ha, so would result in a significant number of people living near the cliffs.

Recreational activities

Hiking is common along narrow trails beneath the cliffs but no damage to bryophyte populations of other species on the outcrops was observed. Some rock climbing to small ledges and grottos was observed, but this activity is minor. However, given that there is a new housing development in progress below the cliffs, and being planned above the cliffs, hiking and climbing activities will likely increase in the future, and may threaten the populations of this moss.

Natural rock face degradation

If the population of silver hair moss is extant, there are potential, but probably minor, natural environmental threats to the extant population of the silver hair moss, principally rock face degradation. However, it is unlikely that the potential natural threat of rock face degradation can be mitigated.


Knowledge gaps

Our knowledge of the biology and habitat of the silver hair moss in Canada is inadequate to define potential management activities that would protect and maintain populations. Descriptions and assessment of potential threats to this species are not well known or understood. Therefore, inventory, both of the known site as well as similar sites along the coast and possibly near Arrow Lake, is valuable.

If the species is rediscovered, an investigation of hiking use in the area is recommended.

More information is required on the general biology of this species, in particular precise population description information.

Although general characteristics for its habitat are known, more data are needed to fully describe potential critical habitat attributes. Little is known about characteristics of the habitat adjacent to the population. These sites should be surveyed as adjacent habitats may influence the health and status of silver hair moss.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la fabronie naine (Fabronia pusilla) au Canada

Contexte

Évaluation de l’espèce par le COSEPAC

Nom commun : Fabronie naine

Nom scientifique : Fabronia pusilla Raddi Nov. et Rar. Plant. 2. in Atti dell' Acad. Di Scienze di Siena 9:230 1808

Statut : En voie de disparition

Dernier examen ou dernière modification : Novembre 2002

Présence au Canada : Colombie-Britannique

Justification de la désignation : La fabronie naine est une petite espèce qui pousse parmi d’autres mousses, soit sous la forme d'un épiphyte sur les arbres ou sur les surfaces rocheuses. Au Canada, elle se trouve dans deux localités : un site qui est aujourd’hui submergé et un deuxième qui est associé à une falaise dans le Sud-Ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette dernière localité est celle qui se trouve le plus au nord en ce qui concerne cette espèce. Même si l’espèce n’a pas été revue dans ce site existant lors de récents relevés, l’étendue de l’habitat disponible aux seuls sites connus ainsi que la petite taille de cette mousse laissent présager que l’espèce est peut-être encore présente au Canada.

Historique du statut : Espèce désignée « en voie de disparition » en novembre 2002. Évaluation fondée sur un nouveau rapport de situation.


Description de l’espèce

La fabronie naine est une minuscule mousse rampante qui forme des tapis minces et plats. Les tiges sont minces et irrégulièrement ramifiées, et les feuilles sont couchées contre la tige sur toute leur longueur, sauf leur pointe, qui tend à être retroussée. Les feuilles mesurent de 0,4 à 0,85 mm de longueur et de 0,2 à 0,35 mm de largeur. Ces feuilles sont plutôt ovées, elles portent à leur sommet une longue arête incolore, ou hyaline, se terminant par une longue cellule caractéristique. Les deux tiers supérieurs de la feuille sont bordés de dents aiguës ressemblant à des cils; la cellule terminale de ces dents est généralement beaucoup plus longue que les cellules inférieures. Les dents ainsi que l’arête incolore des feuilles donnent à la plante une teinte argentée à vert blanchâtre.

La fabronie naine porte les organes mâles et les organes femelles sur la même tige. Vu la proximité des organes sexuels, les sporophytes sont communs dans la plupart des populations. La soie, qui porte la capsule est dressée à légèrement courbée et longue d’environ 3 mm. La capsule est dressée, ovoïde à obovoïde, avec la base un peu plissée à maturité.

Les dents marginales des feuilles ne sont pas facilement visibles avec le faible grossissement d’une loupe simple, mais la taille minuscule de la plante, sa teinte vert blanchâtre et la longue pointe des feuilles aident à reconnaître l’espèce sur le terrain. En raison de sa petite taille et du fait qu’elle pousse souvent parmi de plus grandes espèces de mousses pleurocarpes (rampantes et très ramifiées), la fabronie naine risque de passer inaperçue lors des relevés de terrain.

La présente description est fondée sur l’information tirée de COSEPAC (2002), de Grout (1934), de Lawton (1971) ainsi que de Sharp et al. (1994). La figure 1 illustre les principales caractéristiques de l’espèce et la figure 2 est une photographie de la plante avec des sporophytes. Des illustrations supplémentaires se trouvent dans Lawton (1971) et Buck (1994).


Figure 1. Illustrations de la fabronie naine

Illustrations de la fabronie naine.

Par T. McIntosh 2002. 1 et 2, feuilles typiques (× ~80); 3, capsule en maturation et partie supérieure de la soie (× ~40); 4, marge et sommet d’une feuille (× ~300; × ~80); illustrations redessinées d’après Lawton (1971) et Buck (1994) et d’après l’examen de matériel au microscope.

 


Figure 2. Individus de la fabronie naine avec leurs sporophytes (individus réhydratés de la première récolte faite dans la province)

Plants of the silver hair moss with sporophytes (rehydrated from first provincial collection)

Tiré du site Web de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) (Environnement Canada, 2004; photographie de S. Ellis).


Populations et répartition

La fabronie naine est présente dans l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord ainsi qu’en Europe de l’Ouest et en Afrique du Nord, principalement dans des régions à climat méditerranéen (été sec et hiver humide). L’espèce a été trouvée dans l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, au Mexique, en Europe et en Afrique du Nord (COSEPAC, 2002). En Amérique du Nord, elle a été signalée dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique, l’État de Washington, en Idaho, en Oregon, au Colorado, au Nouveau­Mexique, en Arizona et en Californie (figure 3). Les enregistrements canadiens se situent à la limite nord de l’aire de répartition nord­américaine de l’espèce. L’espèce est plus répandue et plus abondante au sud, notamment en Californie.

Au Canada, la fabronie naine est limitée au sud de la Colombie-Britannique, où elle a été observée dans deux localités, soit au pied du pic McKee, du côté ouest du mont Sumas, à l’est d’Abbotsford, dans le sud-ouest de la province (figure 4), et à Deer Park, près du lac Lower Arrow, dans la vallée Kootenay, dans le centre-sud de la province (Tan, 1980). Le site du lac Arrow est maintenant submergé derrière un barrage (B.C. Tan, comm. pers., 2001), et la fabronie nainen’a pas été récoltée dans cette région depuis les récoltes faites par Macoun vers la fin du 19e siècle. Au site d’Abbotsford, la dernière observation (et récolte) remonte à mars 1968. W.B. Schofield a fait deux récoltes le même jour dans des sites voisins sur le mont Sumas (on considère qu’il s’agit de la même population; COSEPAC, 2002); les coordonnées exactes des lieux de récolte n’ont toutefois pas été mentionnées. T. McIntosh et W.B. Schofield (qui a visité la localité à deux reprises avec T. McIntosh) n’ont pas retrouvé l’espèce lors des travaux effectués sur le terrain en 2001, en 2003 et deux fois en 2005. Des sites de grès constituant un habitat semblable sur le mont Maxwell, sur l’île Saltspring, on fait l’objet de relevés par T. McIntosh en 2001, mais l’espèce n’a pas été observée.

La répartition de l’espèce en Amérique du Nord et sa préférence apparente pour les chênaies en Californie pourraient indiquer que la population de la Colombie-Britannique serait une population relique, peut-être un vestige de l’écosystème plus sec et relativement étendu, dominé par les chênes qui occupait les régions méridionales de la province durant l’hypsithermal, période à climat plus chaud il y a six ou sept mille ans. Il existe un peuplement relique de chênes de Garry sur le mont Sumas, à environ 10 km à l’est du site de la fabronie naine du pied du pic McKee.

Aucune donnée démographique sur la population canadienne de la fabronie naine n’est disponible (COSEPAC, 2002; les relevés de suivi n’ont pas permis de retrouver l’espèce). Schofield n’a recueilli aucune information sur la population lors de sa première récolte.

 

Tableau 1. Données démographiques sur la fabronie naine au Canada
SiteCoordonnées de la localitéNombre de coloniesRégime foncier
Mont Sumas (au pied du pic McKee)InconnuesInconnuInconnu
Région du lac ArrowDisparue de la régions/os/o


À l’échelle mondiale, l’espèce est provisoirement considérée commune à peu commune mais non rare (G4G5) et en Colombie-Britannique, elle figure sur la liste rouge (S1) (B.C. Species and Ecosystem Explorer, 2005). NatureServe Explorer (2005) lui a attribué la cote NNR (non évaluée) pour l’ensemble des États-Unis, la cote N1 (gravement en péril) au Canada et la cote S1 (gravement en péril) au Montana, en Oregon et en Colombie-Britannique.

Il n’existe aucune estimation de la répartition et de l’abondance mondiales de la fabronie naine. Des données détaillées sur la taille ou les tendances de la population canadienne de cette espèce n’existent pas, puisque celle-ci n’a pas été redécouverte depuis 1968.


Figure 3. Répartition approximative de la fabronie naineen Amérique du Nord et au Canada

Répartition approximative de la fabronie naineen Amérique du Nord: sud de la Colombie-Britannique, Washington, Idaho, Oregon, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, et Californie

La zone ombrée indique la répartition approximative de l’espèce aux États-Unis, le point noir indique l’emplacement canadien du mont Sumas, et le cercle indique l’emplacement disparu du lac Lower Arrow.

 


Figure 4. Répartition de la fabronie naine au Canada

Distribution of silver hair moss in Canada: Sumas Mountain, extirpated Arrow Lake

X = site du mont Sumas; E = site disparu du lac Arrow.


Figure 5. Site du mont Sumas

Sumas Mountain photo

L’étendue approximative des escarpements de grès est indiquée par la ligne de points jaunes (environ 1,5 km).


Besoins de la fabronie naine

Besoins biologiques, besoins en matière d’habitat et facteurs limitatifs

Il existe peu de renseignements sur les besoins en matière d’habitat de la fabronie naine en Colombie-Britannique ou ailleurs. En Colombie-Britannique, la population signalée à Abbotsford est limitée à des parois et des crevasses de rochers de grès partiellement ombragées situées à faible altitude dans des milieux secs en été. Elle y pousse souvent en compagnie d’autres mousses, notamment du genre Homalothecium. L’emplacement exact et, par conséquent, l’habitat des spécimens récoltés n’ont cependant pas été déterminés. Au site du lac Arrow, l’espèce a été observée dans des crevasses de rochers escarpés de type indéterminé (aujourd’hui submergé). Plus au sud en Amérique du Nord, l’espèce a été trouvée dans des habitats semblables, de même que sur des arbres, notamment des chênes (dont le chêne de Garry).

Il existe peu de renseignements sur les caractéristiques biologiques qui peuvent influer sur le potentiel de rétablissement de la fabronie naine. Bien que dans toute la partie sud de son aire de répartition l’espèce produise fréquemment des sporophytes et des spores, les sporophytes ne sont pas abondants dans les deux récoltes effectuées au mont Sumas et conservées à la University of British Columbia. Le rétablissement de l’espèce pourrait donc être limité par une faible production de spores. De plus, il n’existe aucune information sur la distance de dispersion des spores ainsi que sur la viabilité et le succès de la germination de cette espèce; cependant, dans ce type d’habitat, les spores des mousses sont le plus souvent dispersées par le vent. Le caractère abrité des milieux où vit la fabronie naine pourrait limiter la dispersion éolienne de ses spores. Il n’existe aucune preuve de reproduction asexuée par des propagules spécialisées ou par fragmentation, ce qui pourrait limiter la capacité de dispersion et le rétablissement de l’espèce.

Un autre facteur limitatif pourrait être la taille de la mousse. La fabronie naine est en effet une mousse minuscule, plus petite que les autres mousses qui poussent avec elle. Elle pourrait donc avoir une moins grande aptitude pour la compétition que les mousses près desquelles elle pousse, et avoir besoin de surfaces rocheuses dégagées et relativement nues pour survivre.


Menaces

Jusqu’à ce que l’espèce soit retrouvée, les éléments suivants sont considérés comme des menaces potentielles.

Développement urbain sur le mont Sumas

Un vaste secteur de forêt sèche à Douglas taxifolié et à érable grandifolié, situé au­dessous de l’emplacement où la fabronie naine a probablement été trouvée sur le mont Sumas, a récemment été déboisé à des fins de lotissement. Les escarpements où la mousse a été observée se trouvent toutefois à plus de 80 m au-dessus du secteur en question, et la population n’a peut-être pas été perturbée. L’étude de planification du pic McKee de la ville d’Abbotsford indique qu’une grande partie des terres au-dessus de l’emplacement probable pourrait être sujette au développement urbain au cours des 10 à 15 prochaines années. Le développement proposé est d’une superficie d’environ 800 ha, ce qui ferait en sorte qu’un nombre important de gens habiterait près des escarpements.

Activités récréatives

Les sentiers étroits longeant les escarpements sont assez fréquentés par les randonneurs, mais aucun dommage aux populations des autres bryophytes poussant sur les affleurements rocheux n’a été observé. Il se fait de l’escalade jusqu’aux petites corniches et aux grottes, mais cette activité demeure négligeable. Toutefois, le projet de lotissement en cours au-dessous des escarpements et celui prévu au-dessus de ces derniers, risquent d’entraîner une augmentation des activités de randonnée et d’escalade, ce qui pourrait menacer les populations de la fabronie naine.

Dégradation naturelle des parois rocheuses

Des menaces environnementales naturelles potentielles, mais probablement mineures, notamment la dégradation des parois rocheuses, risquent de menacer la population de la fabronie naine, en supposant que celle­ci existe toujours. Cependant, il est peu probable que la menace naturelle potentielle posée par la dégradation des parois rocheuses puisse être atténuée.


Lacunes dans les connaissances

Les connaissances actuelles sur la biologie et l’habitat de la fabronie naine au Canada ne sont pas suffisantes pour définir des mesures de gestion qui permettraient de protéger et de maintenir les populations. Les descriptions et l’évaluation des menaces potentielles ne sont pas bien connues ou comprises. Par conséquent, il serait utile d’effectuer des inventaires tant à l’emplacement du site répertorié que dans les sites présentant des caractéristiques semblables sur la côte et peut-être aussi dans la région du lac Arrow.

Si l’espèce est redécouverte, il est recommandé de réaliser une enquête sur la fréquentation du secteur par les randonneurs.

Il faut également plus d’information sur la biologie générale de l’espèce, plus particulièrement, une description détaillée de ses populations.

Bien que les caractéristiques générales de l’habitat de l’espèce soient connues, un plus grand nombre de données est nécessaire pour fournir une description complète des attributs de l’habitat essentiel potentiel. Les caractéristiques de l’habitat adjacent à la population sont peu connues. Ces sites devraient faire l’objet d’un relevé, car l’habitat adjacent peut avoir une incidence sur la santé et la situation de la fabronie naine.