Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Silver Hair Moss (Fabronia pusilla) in Canada

Recovery

Recovery feasibility

Recovery is defined by Environment Canada et al. (2005) as “the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened or extirpated species is arrested or reversed, and threats removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.” For the silver hair moss, the feasibility of recovery may depend on ensuring the survival of the existing population, if found, and the elimination of threats.

As with many other rare plant species, we lack adequate information about the historical distribution of the silver hair moss. There is no evidence to indicate that this species was ever abundant or widespread in British Columbia; therefore, recovery should focus on improving its probability of persistence in the wild, if it is extant. Successful recovery will depend on a combination of research investigations, habitat protection and management activities, and long-term population monitoring. Because the original population has not been rediscovered, there is minimal information about the habitat and ecology of this species in Canada, and thus, current population viability cannot be estimated. Therefore, overall recovery feasibility is unknown until the species is rediscovered through inventory (see Table 3). This determination should be reassessed as the results of additional inventories become known.

 

Table 2. Technical and biological feasibility for recovery of the silver hair moss; criteria from Environment Canada et al. (2005)
Feasibility criteriaAnswer
1. Are individuals capable of reproduction currently available to improve the population growth rate or population abundance?Unknown
2. Is sufficient suitable habitat available to support the species or could it be made available through habitat management or restoration?Yes
3. Can significant threats to the species or its habitat be avoided or mitigated through recovery actions?Yes
4. Do the necessary recovery techniques exist and are they demonstrated to be effective?Yes

 


Recovery goal

To confirm the presence of silver hair moss, and to protectFootnote 1 and maintain any extant populations.


Recovery objectives

  1. To investigate the previously known site and relocate the population of the silver hair moss.
  2. To implement habitat protection and threat mitigation through stewardship activities and other mechanisms, for any extant populations.
  3. To conduct scientific studies on the ecology and habitat requirements of the populations, and on the threats to the populations if found or rediscovered.


Approaches recommended to meet recovery objectives

Information is lacking regarding the potential threats (urban development, recreational activities, and natural rock face degradation) and whether they do threaten any extant populations. If extant populations are found, an initial strategy would be research to identify real threats and possible mitigation measures. Anticipated general strategies to address urban development and recreation would include habitat protection, public education, and stewardship activities. The broad strategies to address the threats are provided in Table 2.


Recovery planning table

Table 3. Recovery planning table
PriorityObj. no.Broad approach/strategyThreat addressedSpecific stepsOutcomes or deliverables
HighIInventoryUrban development and recreational activities
  • Field survey of known and adjacent sites for species’ presence
  • Define and describe specific populations and habitats
  • Detailed location information of species
  • Population numbers
  • List of sites for protection and monitoring
Low (unless rediscovered, then higher)IIProtect extant populations and habitats; stewardship and public awarenessUrban development and recreational activities
  • Investigate extant protection in area, if any
  • Establish protection using legislative mechanisms
  • If rediscovered on municipal land, work with the municipality on the development/use of best management practices, conservation zone, and by-laws
  • Communicate with local authorities and property users about the presence of the species and the importance of protecting habitat
  • Securing of populations and habitats
  • Increased awareness and assistance by the public in the protection and recovery of this species
LowIIIStudy the ecology and habitat requirements of the populations, including the initiation of a monitoring programUrban development and recreational activities
  • Research and document population sizes and health
  • Develop and implement standardized monitoring protocol
  • Report monitoring results annually and assess trends in populations, area of occupancy, and habitat condition every 5 years
  • Submit all data to BC CDC
  • Data on population sizes, reproduction status, and health
  • Detailed data on habitat attributes
  • Regular and standardized monitoring of populations and habitats
  • Annual summary of monitoring results
  • Assessment of status of populations and effects of recovery actions

 


Description of the recovery planning table

Little is known about the biology and habitat of the silver hair moss in Canada and elsewhere, and re-inventory is necessary to confirm the presence of this species. Protection of populations and habitats, habitat and species research, monitoring program, and public awareness are only a priority for this species’ recovery if it is rediscovered (see Table 3).


Performance measures

Criteria for evaluating progress towards the goals and objectives of this strategy include:

  1. Confirmation of the presence of the species in Canada.
  2. If the species is rediscovered, the number of stewardship agreements and/or covenants in place on private lands, or other protective measures on Crown land.
  3. If the species is rediscovered, the number of research projects initiated on existing populations, habitats, understanding of and potential threats, determination of ecological and habitat requirements, and establishment of a monitoring program.
  4. If the species is rediscovered, the number of educational and stewardship activities conducted with landowners and land managers.


Critical habitat

Identification of the species’ critical habitat

No critical habitat as defined under the federal Species at Risk Act (Environment Canada 2004) is identified at this time. The critical habitat of the silver hair moss cannot be identified until the species is rediscovered. Based on herbarium data, on information provided by W.B. Schofield, and through field visits, the suitable habitat in Canada can be generally described as semi-shaded, sandstone rock faces or crevices, low elevation, probably summer dry environments.


Recommended schedule of studies to identify critical habitat

An accurate delineation of critical habitat for silver hair moss is not possible at this time. If the species is rediscovered, studies would need to be completed to identify critical habitat. Table 4 presents the studies to be undertaken (subject to availability of resources) to identify critical habitat for the silver hair moss. The results of these studies will be included in the action plan for the species.

 

Table 4. Timeline for completion of studies to identify critical habitat for the silver hair moss
StudyCompletion date
Determination of the existence of the silver hair moss at its previously known site in the Sumas Mountain area2010
Determination of rock mineral properties (e.g., pH, composition) to see if these are required for growth and reproduction2010
Determination of light and humidity requirements for growth and reproduction2010
Conduct a species-specific inventory/search of other areas of suitable habitat including other dry cliffs and possibly suitable Garry oak habitat in coastal British Columbia and in the Arrow Lake area2010

 


Existing and recommended approaches to habitat protection

In COSEWIC (Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada) (2002), the Sumas Mountain site for the silver hair moss is listed as being under private ownership, but this is now unclear, as the area above the cliffs, and possibly the cliffs as well, may be owned by the City of Abbotsford. Regardless of ownership, the cliffs themselves are unlikely to be developed due to the steepness of the terrain.

If the population of this moss is rediscovered, it may be protected through stewardship and various legislative tools.

Stewardship approach

For successful implementation in protecting species at risk, there will be a strong need to engage in stewardship on various land tenures. Stewardship involves the voluntary cooperation of landowners to protect species at risk and the ecosystems they rely on. The preamble to the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) recognizes that “stewardship activities contributing to the conservation of wildlife species and their habitat should be supported” and that “all Canadians have a role to play in the conservation of wildlife in this country, including the prevention of wildlife species from becoming extirpated or extinct.” The Bilateral Agreement on Species at Risk between British Columbia and Canada recognizes that “stewardship by land and water owners and users is fundamental to preventing species from becoming at risk and in protecting and recovering species that are at risk” and that “cooperative, voluntary measures are the first approach to securing the protection and recovery of species at risk.”

Stewardship approach for private lands

Additional populations of this species may occur on private lands. As with other species at risk found on private property, stewardship efforts would be the key to their conservation and recovery. To successfully protect many species at risk in British Columbia, voluntary initiatives by landowners will be needed to help maintain areas of natural ecosystems that support these species. This stewardship approach will cover many different kinds of activities, such as: following guidelines or best management practices to support species at risk; voluntarily protecting important areas of habitat on private property; creating conservation covenants on property titles; ecogifting property (in whole or in part) to protect certain ecosystems or species at risk; or selling property for conservation. Both government and non-governmental organizations have had good success in conserving lands in the province.


Effects on other species

Impacts to other species or ecological processes are not anticipated during the recovery process of the silver hair moss. It is expected that some actions during recovery may benefit other species, and this will be assessed as work is undertaken. If actions such as protective measures are undertaken at this site, additional listed species should be identified and their locations documented for inclusion in management plans.

Socio-economic considerations

At this moment, there are no social or economic considerations as this species has not been rediscovered in Canada. If the species is relocated, the socio-economic effects will be minor.

Recommended approach for recovery implementation

This recovery strategy takes a single-species approach. If the species is rediscovered, its recovery implementation may be considered for integration within conservation efforts in the region.

Statement on action plans

The recovery action plan will be completed by December 31, 2010, if the species is rediscovered.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Protection can be achieved through various mechanisms including: voluntary stewardship agreements; conservation covenants; sale by willing vendors on private lands; land use designations on Crown lands; and legal protection on federal, provincial, and local government lands.

Return to footnote 1

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la fabronie naine (Fabronia pusilla) au Canada

Rétablissement

Caractère réalisable du rétablissement

Environnement Canada et al. (2005) définissent le rétablissement comme le processus par lequel le déclin d'une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé, et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites, de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l'espèce à l'état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l'état sauvage aura été assurée. Dans le cas de la fabronie naine, le caractère réalisable du rétablissement pourrait dépendre de la capacité d'assurer la survie de la population existante, si elle est retrouvée, et de supprimer les menaces qui pèsent sur elle.

Comme pour de nombreuses autres espèces végétales rares, les données sur la répartition historique de la fabronie naine sont insuffisantes. Il n'existe aucune preuve indiquant que l'espèce ait déjà été abondante ou répandue en Colombie­Britannique. Si l'espèce est toujours présente au Canada, le rétablissement devrait mettre l'accent sur l'amélioration des probabilités de persistance de l'espèce à l'état sauvage. Le succès du rétablissement dépendra d'une combinaison d'activités de recherche, de protection et de gestion de l'habitat, et de suivi à long terme des populations. Puisque la population initiale n'a pas été redécouverte, il existe peu de renseignements sur l'habitat et l'écologie de cette espèce au Canada et par conséquent la viabilité actuelle de la population ne peut pas être évaluée. Il est donc impossible de se prononcer sur le caractère réalisable du rétablissement de la fabronie naine tant que l'espèce n'aura pas été redécouverte par des inventaires (voir le tableau 3). Cette conclusion devra être réévaluée lorsque des résultats de nouveaux inventaires deviendront disponibles.

 

Tableau 2. Caractère réalisable du rétablissement de la fabronie naine du point de vue technique et biologique (critères d'évaluation d'Environnement Canada et al., 2005).
Critères du caractère réalisableRéponse
1. Existe­t­il des individus reproducteurs pour améliorer le taux de croissance ou l’abondance de la population?Inconnu
2. Existe­t­il suffisamment d’habitat convenable pour répondre aux besoins de l’espèce ou pourrait-il devenir disponible grâce à des mesures de gestion ou de remise en état?Oui
3. Les menaces significatives pesant sur l’espèce ou son habitat peuvent­elles être évitées ou atténuées par des mesures de rétablissement?Oui
4. Les techniques de rétablissement nécessaires existent­elles, et leur efficacité a­t­elle été démontrée?Oui

 


But du rétablissement

Confirmer la présence de la fabronie naine, et protégerNote de bas de page 1 et maintenir toute population existante.


Objectifs du rétablissement

  1. Étudier le site où l’espèce a été observée et retrouver la population de la fabronie naine.
  2. Mettre en œuvre des mesures de protection de l’habitat et d’atténuation des menaces au moyen d’activités d’intendance et d’autres mécanismes pour toute population existante.
  3. Effectuer des études scientifiques sur l’écologie et les besoins en matière d’habitat des populations trouvées ou redécouvertes, ainsi que sur les menaces qui pèsent sur ces populations.


Approches recommandées pour l’atteinte des objectifs du rétablissement

L’information est manquante en ce qui concerne les menaces potentielles (développement urbain, activités récréatives et dégradation naturelle des parois rocheuses), et par rapport au fait qu’elles puissent représenter une menace. Si des populations sont trouvées, il faudra faire des recherches afin d’identifier les menaces réelles et de déterminer les mesures d’atténuation possibles. Les stratégies générales prévues pour aborder les menaces liées au développement urbain et aux activités récréatives comprendraient des moyens de protection de l’habitat, des activités de sensibilisation de la population et des mesures d’intendance. Les stratégies générales pour aborder les menaces se trouvent dans le tableau 2.


Tableau de planification du rétablissement

Tableau 3. Tableau de planification du rétablissement
PrioritéObjectifApproche ou stratégie généraleMenaces abordéesMesures proposéesRésultats attendus
ÉlevéeIInventairesDéveloppement urbain et activités récréatives
  • Effectuer un relevé de terrain sur le site où l’espèce a été observée et sur les sites adjacents.
  • Définir et décrire les populations particulières et leur habitat.
  • Information précise sur la position géographique de l’espèce
  • Effectif des populations
  • Liste des sites à protéger et où effectuer le suivi
Faible (sauf si l’espèce est redécouverte, alors la priorité sera plus élevée)IIProtection des populations existantes et de leurs habitats; intendance et sensibilisation du publicDéveloppement urbain et activités récréatives
  • Examiner les mesures de protection existantes dans le secteur, s’il en existe.
  • Mettre en place la protection au moyen des mécanismes législatifs.
  • Si l’espèce est redécouverte sur des terres municipales, collaborer avec la municipalité à l’élaboration et à l’utilisation de pratiques exemplaires de gestion, de zones de conservation et de règlements.
  • Communiquer avec les autorités locales et les utilisateurs des propriétés afin de les aviser de la présence de l’espèce et de les sensibiliser à l’importance de protéger l’habitat.
  • Sécurisation des populations et de leurs habitats
  • Sensibilisation accrue et participation du public aux mesures de protection et de rétablissement de l’espèce
FaibleIIIÉtudes sur l’écologie des populations et leurs besoins en matière d’habitat, y compris la mise en place d’un programme de suiviDéveloppement urbain et activités récréatives
  • Réaliser des études et documenter la taille et la santé des populations.
  • Élaborer et mettre en œuvre un protocole normalisé de suivi.
  • Présenter un rapport annuel des données du suivi et évaluer les tendances démographiques des populations, l’état de leur habitat et leur zone d’occupation tous les 5 ans.
  • Acheminer toutes les données au CDC de la C.­B.
  • Données sur la taille des populations, la situation de leur reproduction et leur santé
  • Caractérisation détaillée des attributs de l’habitat
  • Suivi régulier, selon un protocole normalisé, des populations et de leur habitat
  • Sommaire annuel des résultats du suivi
  • Évaluation de la situation des populations et des incidences des mesures de rétablissement

 


Description du tableau de planification du rétablissement

Il existe peu de renseignements sur la biologie et l’habitat de la fabronie naine, au Canada ou ailleurs, et un nouvel inventaire est nécessaire afin de confirmer la présence de l’espèce. La protection des populations et de leurs habitats, les recherches sur l’espèce et sur son habitat, le programme de suivi et les activités de sensibilisation du public ne s’imposent que si l’espèce est redécouverte (voir tableau 3).


Mesures de rendement

Les critères pour évaluer les progrès accomplis vers l’atteinte du but et des objectifs du programme de rétablissement comprennent :

  1. La confirmation de la présence de l’espèce au Canada.
  2. Si l’espèce est redécouverte, le nombre d’accords d’intendance et/ou de conventions signés avec les propriétaires de terres privées, ou d’autres mesures de protection sur les terres de la Couronne.
  3. Si l’espèce est redécouverte, le nombre de projets de recherche entrepris sur les populations existantes et leurs habitats, sur la compréhension des menaces actuelles ou potentielles, sur la détermination des exigences écologiques et des besoins en matière d’habitat, ainsi que la mise en place d’un programme de suivi.
  4. Si l’espèce est redécouverte, le nombre d’activités de sensibilisation et d’intendance auprès des propriétaires et des gestionnaires des terres.


Habitat essentiel

Désignation de l’habitat essentiel pour l’espèce

Aucun habitat essentiel n’est défini en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (Environnement Canada, 2004) du gouvernement fédéral à l’heure actuelle. L’habitat essentiel pour la fabronie naine ne peut être désigné tant que l’espèce n’aura pas été redécouverte. Toutefois, en se fondant sur les données d’herbier, sur les renseignements fournis par W.B. Schofield et sur les observations effectuées sur le terrain, l’habitat convenable au Canada peut être décrit, en général, comme les parois et les crevasses de rochers de grès partiellement ombragées, situées à faible altitude, dans des milieux qui s’assèchent probablement en été.


Calendrier recommandé des études visant à désigner l’habitat essentiel

À l’heure actuelle, il n’est pas possible de délimiter précisément l’habitat essentiel de la fabronie naine. Si l’espèce est redécouverte, des études devront être réalisées pour être en mesure de désigner l’habitat essentiel. Le tableau 4 présente le calendrier des études nécessaires (selon la disponibilité des ressources) à la désignation de l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce. Les résultats de ces études seront inclus dans le plan d’action pour l’espèce.

 

Tableau 4. Calendrier des études nécessaires à la désignation de l’habitat essentiel de la fabronie naine
ÉtudeDélai d’exécution
Confirmation de la présence de la fabronie naine au site où elle a été signalée dans la région du mont Sumas2010
Analyse des propriétés minérales de la roche (p. ex. pH, composition) afin de déterminer si elles sont essentielles à la croissance et à la reproduction de l’espèce2010
Analyse des exigences de l’espèce en matière de lumière et d’humidité pour sa croissance et sa reproduction2010
Inventaire ou recherches de l’espèce dans d’autres secteurs d’habitat convenable, y compris dans d’autres escarpements secs et possiblement, dans l’habitat du chêne de Garry convenable de la région côtière de la Colombie-Britannique et de celle du lac Arrow2010

 


Approches existantes et recommandées en matière de protection de l’habitat

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) (2002) précise que le site de la fabronie naine du mont Sumas est situé sur un terrain privé, mais cela est moins clair aujourd’hui car le secteur au-dessus des escarpements, et peut-être les escarpements eux-mêmes, appartiennent peut-être à la Ville d’Abbotsford. Quel que soit le propriétaire, il est très peu probable que les escarpements feront l’objet d’un développement en raison de la pente abrupte du terrain.

Si la population de cette mousse est redécouverte, elle pourrait être protégée par l’intendance et divers outils législatifs.

Approche d’intendance

Une participation à l’intendance dans divers régimes fonciers sera grandement nécessaire dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre réussie de la protection des espèces en péril. L’intendance fait appel à la collaboration volontaire des propriétaires fonciers à la protection des espèces en péril et des écosystèmes dont elles dépendent. Il est reconnu dans le préambule de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) que « les activités d’intendance visant la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leur habitat devraient bénéficier de l’appui voulu » et « que tous les Canadiens ont un rôle à jouer dans la conservation des espèces sauvages, notamment en ce qui a trait à la prévention de leur disparition du pays ou de la planète ». En outre, il est reconnu dans l’Accord sur les espèces en péril conclu entre le Canada et la Colombie-Britannique que « l’intendance par les propriétaires de terres et de plans d’eau, ainsi que par leurs utilisateurs, est essentielle afin d’éviter que des espèces ne deviennent en péril et pour protéger et rétablir les espèces qui sont en péril » et que « des mesures coopératives et volontaires sont les premières approches pour assurer la protection et le rétablissement des espèces en péril ».

Approche d’intendance visant les terres privées

Il est possible que d’autres populations de cette espèce se trouvent sur des terres privées. Comme dans le cas d’autres espèces en péril se trouvant sur des terres privées, les activités d’intendance constitueront l’élément clé de leur conservation et de leur rétablissement. Afin de protéger avec succès de nombreuses espèces en péril en Colombie-Britannique, des initiatives volontaires des propriétaires fonciers seront nécessaires afin d’aider au maintien des superficies d’écosystèmes naturels abritant ces espèces. Cette approche en matière d’intendance couvrira un grand nombre de types d’activités, notamment le respect des lignes directrices ou des pratiques de gestion exemplaires afin de soutenir les espèces en péril; la protection volontaire des secteurs importants d’habitat sur des terres privées; la création de conventions de conservation visant les titres de propriété; le don écologique de propriété ou d’une partie de celle-ci afin de protéger certains écosystèmes ou certaines espèces en péril; ou la vente de la propriété pour des besoins de conservation. Des organismes gouvernementaux et des organisations non gouvernementales ont bien réussi à conserver des terres dans la province.


Effets sur les espèces non ciblées

Le programme de rétablissement de la fabronie naine ne devrait avoir aucune incidence sur les espèces non ciblées, ni sur les processus écologiques. Certaines mesures pourraient être bénéfiques pour d’autres espèces et ceci sera évalué en cours de réalisation. Si des mesures telles que des mesures de protection sont prises sur ce site, il faudra vérifier si d’autres espèces en péril s’y trouvent et, le cas échéant, enregistrer leur position géographique afin de les inclure dans les plans de gestion.

Considérations socioéconomiques

Pour l’heure, la question des incidences socioéconomiques du programme de rétablissement de la fabronie naine ne se pose pas, puisque la présence de l’espèce au Canada n’est pas confirmée. Si l’espèce est retrouvée, les mesures visant son rétablissement auront une incidence socioéconomique négligeable.

Approche recommandée pour la mise en œuvre du rétablissement

Le présent programme de rétablissement adopte une approche monospécifique. Si la fabronie naine est redécouverte, la mise en œuvre de son rétablissement pourrait être considérée dans le cadre des mesures de conservation de la région.

Énoncé sur les plans d’action

Si l’espèce est redécouverte, le plan d’action visant son rétablissement sera achevé d’ici le 31 décembre 2010.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

La protection peut être réalisée au moyen de divers mécanismes, y compris : accords volontaires d’intendance; conventions de conservation; vente par des vendeurs consentants dans des terres privées; désignations relatives à l’utilisation des terres sur les terres de la Couronne; protection légale sur les terres des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux et sur celles des administrations municipales.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1