Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Western Spiderwort (Tradescantia occidentalis) in Canada – 2013

Preface

The federal, provincial, and territorial government signatories under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996) agreed to establish complementary legislation and programs that provide for effective protection of species at risk throughout Canada. Under the Species at Risk Act (S.C. 2002, c.29) (SARA), the federal competent ministers are responsible for the preparation of recovery strategies for listed Extirpated, Endangered, and Threatened species and are required to report on progress within five years.

The Minister of the Environment is the competent minister for the recovery of the Western Spiderwort and has prepared this strategy, as per section 37 of SARA. It has been prepared in cooperation with:

  1. provincial jurisdictions in which the species occurs – Saskatchewan, Alberta and Manitoba
  2. industry stakeholders – Canadian Cattlemen’s Association
  3. federal land managers –Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada – Agri-Environment Services Branch (previously known as Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration)

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Environment Canada, or any other jurisdiction alone. All Canadians are invited to join in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the Western Spiderwort and Canadian society as a whole.

This recovery strategy will be followed by one or more action plans that will provide information on recovery measures to be taken by Environment Canada and other jurisdictions and/or organizations involved in the conservation of the species. Implementation of this strategy is subject to appropriations, priorities, and budgetary constraints of the participating jurisdictions and organizations.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tradescantie de l’Ouest (Tradescantia occidentalis) au Canada – 2013

Préface

En vertu de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux signataires ont convenu d’établir une législation et des programmes complémentaires qui assureront la protection efficace des espèces en péril partout au Canada. En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (L.C. 2002, ch. 29) (LEP), les ministres fédéraux compétents sont responsables de l’élaboration des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces inscrites comme étant disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées et sont tenus de rendre compte des progrès réalisés d’ici cinq ans.

Le ministre de l'Environnement est le ministre compétent pour le rétablissement de la tradescantie de l'Ouest et a élaboré le présent programme, conformément à l'article 37 de la LEP. Ce programme a été préparé en collaboration avec :

  1. les compétences provinciales où l'espèce est présente – Saskatchewan, Alberta et Manitoba;
  2. les parties intéressées de l'industrie – Canadian Cattlemen's Association;
  3. les gestionnaires du territoire domanial – Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada – Direction générale des services agroenvironnementaux (anciennement connue sous le nom d'Administration du rétablissement agricole des Prairies).

La réussite du rétablissement de l'espèce dépendra de l'engagement et de la collaboration d'un grand nombre de parties concernées qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer seulement sur Environnement Canada ou sur toute autre compétence. Tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes sont invités à appuyer ce programme et à contribuer à sa mise en œuvre pour le bien de la tradescantie de l'Ouest et de l'ensemble de la société canadienne.

Le présent programme de rétablissement sera suivi d'un ou de plusieurs plans d'action qui présenteront de l’information sur les mesures de rétablissement qui doivent être prises par Environnement Canada et d'autres compétences et/ou organisations participant à la conservation de l'espèce. La mise en œuvre du présent programme est assujettie aux crédits, aux priorités et aux contraintes budgétaires des compétences et organisations participantes.