Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Western Spiderwort (Tradescantia occidentalis) in Canada – 2013

Appendix C. Effects on the Environment and Other Species

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts upon non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are incorporated directly into the strategy itself, but are also summarized below in this statement.

A number of species rely on sand dunes for their survival, including other species at risk (Table 4) and provincially rare species that co-occur with Western Spiderwort. Most, if not all, of these species should benefit from recovery activities and management of threats intended to maintain dune ecosystems for the benefit of Western Spiderwort. The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered. Some management activities, including prescribed burns and some forms of integrated weed management, have the potential to harm some species, at least in the short term. As a general rule, management actions that incorporate natural disturbance regimes (e.g., fire and grazing) are natural components of prairie ecosystems and should not negatively impact the persistence of other native species particularly if the timing, intensity and frequency mimic natural processes (Samson and Knopf 1994). Recovery activities and beneficial management plans should strive to benefit as many species as possible and the ecological risks of any action must be considered before undertaking them in order to reduce possible negative effects. Efforts should be coordinated with other recovery teams and organizations working in the dune ecosystem to ensure the most efficient use of resources and to prevent duplication of effort and conflicts with research. The broad strategies described in this recovery strategy are expected to benefit the environment and not entail any significant adverse effects on other species at risk or biodiversity of sand dune ecosystems.

Table 4. Species at risk which co-occur in areas occupied by Western Spiderwort. Accessible version of Table 4
Species NameSARA DesignationPopulations
Mammals
Swift Fox (Vulpes velox)EndangeredPakowki (AB)
Birds
Greater Sage Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus)EndangeredPakowki (AB)
Loggerhead Shrike (Lanius ludovicianus)ThreatenedPakowki (AB), Elbow (SK), Routledge (MB), Lauder (MB)
Common Nighthawk (Chordeiles minor)ThreatenedPakowki (AB), Elbow (SK), Routledge (MB), Lauder (MB)
Sprague’s Pipit (Anthus spragueii)ThreatenedPakowki (AB), Elbow (SK), Routledge (MB), Lauder (MB)
Ferruginous Hawk (Buteo regalis)ThreatenedPakowki (AB)
Reptiles
Prairie Skink (Plestiodon septentrionalis)EndangeredLauder (MB)
Invertebrates
Gold-edged Gem (Schinia avementis)EndangeredPakowki (AB)
Dusky Dune Moth (Copablepharon longipenne)EndangeredLauder (MB)
Pale Yellow Dune Moth (Copablepharon grandis)Special ConcernLauder (MB)
Vascular Plants
Hairy Prairie-clover (Dalea villosa var.villosa)ThreatenedLauder (MB)
Smooth Goosefoot (Chenopodium subglabrum)ThreatenedPakowki (AB), Elbow (SK), Routledge (MB), Lauder (MB)

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tradescantie de l’Ouest (Tradescantia occidentalis) au Canada – 2013

Annexe C. Effets sur l'environnement et sur les espèces non ciblées

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est effectuée pour tous les documents de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la LEP, conformément à La Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. L'objet de l’EES est d'incorporer les considérations environnementales à l'élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairée du point de vue de l'environnement.

La planification du rétablissement vise à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant reconnu que des programmes peuvent, par inadvertance, produire des effets environnementaux qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des incidences possibles sur des espèces ou des habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l’EES sont directement inclus dans le programme lui-même, mais également résumés dans le présent énoncé, ci-dessous.

Les dunes sont essentielles à la survie d’un certain nombre d'espèces, incluant d'autres espèces en péril (tableau 4) et des espèces rares à l'échelle de la province qui cohabitent avec la tradescantie de l'Ouest. La plupart, voire la totalité, de ces espèces devraient bénéficier des activités de rétablissement et de la gestion des menaces visant à maintenir les écosystèmes dunaires dans l'intérêt de la tradescantie de l'Ouest. La possibilité que le programme produise par inadvertance des effets négatifs sur d'autres espèces a été envisagée. Certaines activités de gestion, comme les brûlages dirigés et certaines formes de gestion intégrée des espèces adventices, sont susceptibles de nuire à certaines espèces, du moins à court terme. En règle générale, les mesures de gestion qui font appel aux régimes naturels de perturbation (p. ex. les feux et le broutage), qui sont des composantes naturelles des écosystèmes de prairies, ne devraient pas avoir de répercussions négatives sur la persistance d'autres espèces indigènes, en particulier si le moment, l'intensité et la fréquence de ces mesures imitent les processus naturels (Samson et Knopf, 1994). Les activités de rétablissement et les plans de gestion bénéfiques devraient bénéficier au plus grand nombre d'espèces possible et les risques écologiques des mesures doivent être évalués avant que ces mesures soient mise en application, afin de réduire le risque d’effets négatifs éventuels. Il faut donc coordonner les efforts avec les autres équipes de rétablissement et les autres organismes qui travaillent dans les écosystèmes dunaires afin d’optimiser l'utilisation des ressources et prévenir les chevauchements et de ne pas gêner les activités de recherche. On s'attend à ce que les stratégies générales décrites dans le présent programme de rétablissement soient bénéfiques pour l'environnement et n'occasionnent pas d'effets négatifs importants sur d'autres espèces en péril ou la biodiversité des écosystèmes dunaires.

Tableau 4. Espèces en péril présentes dans des secteurs occupés par la tradescantie de l'Ouest. Version accessible du Tableau 4
Nom de l'espèceDésignation en vertu de la LEPPopulations
Mammifères
Renard véloce (Vulpes velox)En voie de disparitionPakowki (Alb.)
Oiseaux
Tétras des armoises (Centrocercus urophasianus)En voie de disparitionPakowki (Alb.)
Pie-grièche migratrice (Lanius ludovicianus)MenacéePakowki (Alb.), Elbow (Sask.), Routledge (Man.), Lauder (Man.)
Engoulevent d'Amérique (Chordeiles minor)MenacéePakowki (Alb.), Elbow (Sask.), Routledge (Man.), Lauder (Man.)
Tétras des armoises (Centrocercus urophasianus)En voie de disparitionPakowki (Alb.), Elbow (Sask.), Routledge (Man.), Lauder (Man.)
Buse rouilleuse (Buteo regalis)MenacéePakowki (Alb.)
Reptiles
Scinque des Prairies (Plestiodon septentrionalis)En voie de disparitionLauder (Man.)
Invertébrés
Héliotin d'Aweme (Schinia avemensis)En voie de disparitionPakowki (Alb.)
Noctuelle sombre des dunes (Copablepharon longipenne)En voie de disparitionLauder (Man.)
Noctuelle jaune pâle des dunes (Copablepharon grandis)PréoccupanteLauder (Man.)
Plantes vasculaires
Dalée velue (Dalea villosa var. villosa)MenacéeLauder (Man.)
Chénopode glabre (Chenopodium subglabrum)MenacéePakowki (Alb.), Elbow (Sask.), Routledge (Man.), Lauder (Man.)