Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Western Spiderwort (Tradescantia occidentalis) in Canada – 2013

4. Threats

4.1 Threat Assessment

Table 2. Threat Assessment Table. Accessible version of Table 2
ThreatLevel of ConcernaExtentbOccurrencecFrequencydSeverityeCausal Certaintyf
Exotic, Invasive or Introduced Species
Invasive alien species
Leafy Spurge (Euphorbia esula)
HighWidespread (Routledge, Lauder, Elbow)CurrentSeasonalModerateHigh
Baby’s-breath (Gypsophila paniculata)
Crested Wheatgrass (Agropyron cristatum)
MediumLocalized (Pakowki, Elbow)CurrentSeasonalLowLow-Medium
Changes in ecological dynamics or natural processes
Alteration to, or suppression of, grazing and/or fire regimesMediumWidespread (All)CurrentSeasonalLow-ModerateMedium
Over-grazing by wild or domestic animalsLow-MediumWidespread (Lauder, Routledge, Elbow)CurrentSeasonalModerateLow-Medium
Habitat Loss or Degradation
CultivationMediumLocalized (Lauder, Pakowki)Historic, CurrentOne-timeModerateHigh
Climate and Natural Disasters
Prolonged wet climatic periodsLow-MediumWidespread (All)Historic, CurrentUnknownUnknownMedium
Habitat Loss or Degradation
Sand and Gravel ExtractionLowWidespread (Lauder, Pakowki)Unknown, AnticipatedOne-time, RecurrentUnknownHigh
Road construction or maintenanceLowLocalized (Elbow, Lauder)Current, AnticipatedOne-time, Seasonal, RecurrentLowMedium-High
Oil and Gas ActivitiesLowLocalized (Pakowki)AnticipatedContinuousLowMedium-High
Disturbance or Harm
Recreational activitiesLowLocalized (Routledge, Lauder)CurrentSeasonal, One-time, RecurrentLowHigh

a Level of concern is defined as to whether managing the threat is an overall high, medium, or low concern for recovery of the species, taking into account all of the above factors.
b Extent – Defined as widespread, localized, or unknown across the species range.
c Occurrence is defined as historic (contributed to decline but no longer affecting the species), current (affecting the species now), imminent (is expected to affect the species very soon), anticipated (may affect the species in the future), or unknown.
d Frequency is defined as a one-time occurrence, seasonal (either because the species is migratory or the threat only occurs at certain times of the year), continuous (on-going), recurrent (re-occurs from time to time but not on an annual or seasonal basis), or unknown.
e Severity is defined as high (very large population-level effect), moderate, low, or unknown.
f Causal certainty is defined as whether the best available knowledge about the threat and its impact on population viability is high (evidence causally links the threat to stresses on population viability), medium (correlation between the threat and population viability, expert opinion, etc), or low (assumed or plausible threat only).

4.2 Description of Threats

Any additional loss of habitat among the known populations of Western Spiderwort would adversely affect the species' survival in Canada (Smith 2002, Remarchuk 2006). Future loss of habitat will most likely be as a result of direct activities like cultivation or oil and gas activities, or through habitat degradation from processes like invasion by invasive alien species and factors affecting dune stabilization (climate, grazing and fire regimes). Threats to Western Spiderwort are not the same across the range, but rather more pervasive in some populations than others. Threats are listed in order of decreasing level of concern.

Invasive Alien Species

Some invasive alien plant species may be relatively unpalatable to livestock and wildlife, or alter fuel properties and fire regimes (Brooks et al. 2004). As a result, an influx of these invasive alien plants could stabilize sand dunes and represent an indirect threat to Western Spiderwort habitat. Direct threats through competition may be posed by invasive alien plants as well which can displace native species, and decrease species diversity or richness through their superior competitive ability and negative effects on ecosystem functioning (Wilson 1989, Wilson and Belcher 1989, Reader et al. 1994, Christian and Wilson 1999, Bakker and Wilson 2001, Henderson 2005, Henderson and Naeth 2005).

Leafy Spurge, an invasive Eurasian species, is present at, or near, all Western Spiderwort populations in Saskatchewan and Manitoba (Smith 2002). It reduces the abundance of native species in areas where it occurs, and is capable of turning sites into a stabilized monoculture (Wilson and Belcher 1989). In Manitoba, it was found that 95% of spurge occurrences were associated with human disturbances such as fireguards or vehicle tracks as it was easier for Leafy Spurge to establish in areas with more exposed soil (Wilson and Belcher 1989); active sand dunes may be particularly susceptible to establishment of Leafy Spurge. Crested Wheatgrass has been observed in the Pakowki and Elbow Sand Hills, and Baby’s-breath in the Pakowki Sand Hills; long term impacts of these species on Western Spiderwort or its habitat are not known. There is also the potential for Western Spiderwort to be killed, or its habitat negatively altered, by indiscriminate use of herbicides intended to control invasive species.

Alteration to, or suppression of, grazing and/or fire regimes

Western Spiderwort prefers dune slope habitat only partially or recently stabilized (Godwin and Thorpe 2006) and could decline without disturbance that creates partially active to active sand patches (Smith 2002, Godwin and Thorpe 2006). Dunes in the southern Canadian prairies have been stabilizing over the last century through a combination of climate and changes in land-use practices since European settlement (Epp and Townley-Smith 1980, Wallis 1988, Wallis and Wershler 1988, Geological Survey of Canada 2001). Changes in land-use practices contributing to dune stabilization primarily includes eradication of Bison (Bison bison), a reduction in the frequency and extent of prairie fires, as well as a more homogenous pattern of grazing (Higgins et al. 1989, Frank et al. 1998, Brockway et al. 2002, Samson et al. 2004, Hugenholtz and Wolfe 2005). It is estimated that less than 1% of dunes are still active in the prairies compared with 10-20% a few hundred years ago (Wolfe et al. 2001); rates of stabilization have been estimated at 10-20% per decade over a 40 year period (Manitoba, Wolfe et al. 2000), although the rate may be as high as 40% per decade over a 50 year period (Middle Sand Hills, Bender et al. 2005) or 30-90% since the 1940’s (Wallis 1988). In the absence of natural disturbances like grazing and fire which interact with cycles of drought and disrupt vegetation growth, natural succession can stabilize and cover sand dunes with vegetation (Potvin and Harrison 1984, Hulett et al. 1966). The stabilization of open sand patches may result in reduced colonization or spread of Western Spiderwort in new and existing areas, respectively, through seed dispersal.

Prairie plants evolved with the ecological processes like fire and grazing. Historically, natural disturbances occurred frequently, randomly, and at different scales and magnitudes across the landscape, and have contributed to plant community composition and structure, and the overall ecological integrity of the prairie (Daubenmire 1968, White 1979, Lesica and Cooper 1999). It is possible that, historically, fires in the summer or fall created lush vegetation the following spring which attracted large herds of grazing animals like bison (Higgins 1986, Vinton et al. 1993) and resulted in reactivation of sand dunes. A combination of fire and grazing likely destabilizes sand dunes and disrupts vegetative succession more effectively than either disturbance independently (Lesica and Cooper 1999). Dunes have been stabilizing in some areas where there have been repeated fires but little grazing, while in other areas dunes have stabilized where there has been grazing but few fires (Wallis and Wershler 1988). Historically, the stabilization of active dunes was thought to be good conservation practice and land managers attempted to stabilize dunes by extinguishing fires, actively reseeding, altering grazing patterns, and placing objects, such as tires or bales, on blowouts (David 1977, Wallis and Wershler 1988). It is only recently that people have realized the benefits of having active dunes for wildlife.

Cultivation

In general, remaining sand dune areas that support Western Spiderwort are not considered high quality land for agriculture due to low soil moisture, low soil fertility, and high risk of wind erosion (Geological Survey of Canada 2001). Nevertheless, these areas are surrounded by Mixed Prairie grasslands which are commonly converted for cultivation resulting in sand dunes becoming islands in a landscape dominated by crops (Neufeld and Henderson pers. obs.). In addition, within sand dune complexes where there is relatively level topography it is possible to irrigate those soils for potato, sugar beet, and corn production (Neufeld, pers. obs.). Much of the Pakowki Sand Hills in Alberta contain nearly level sand plains between dune features. Sand dune complexes in Alberta and Manitoba with similar landscapes have already been converted to irrigated crops (Neufeld and Henderson, pers. obs.); the relative threat is likely limited by economics of irrigation infrastructure development and water supply. Historical conversion of native sandy grassland habitats to cultivated cropland likely contributed to the loss of historical spiderwort habitat as well as to habitat fragmentation. Cultivation will permanently result in habitat loss for which there is no mitigation (Alberta Western Spiderwort Recovery Team 2004).

Prolonged Wet Climatic Periods

Climate historically has played an important role in the stability of dunes as it can impact the vegetation cover on the dunes through periods of drought or moisture, exposing more or less of the sand to wind erosion (Thorpe et al. 2001, Wolfe et al. 2001). An increase in wet climatic cycles over the last 100-150 years, despite short periods of drought, has increased vegetation growth and dune stabilization (Wolfe et al. 1995, Vance and Wolfe 1996, Wolfe et al. 2000, Wolfe et al. 2001). Recent climate change models and predictions for the prairie sand dunes in Canada predict eventual reactivation of some dune crests due to increased aridity and temperatures, despite increased precipitation in winter and spring (Thorpe et al. 2001, Wolfe et al. 2001). However, due to the uncertainty surrounding these models, it is difficult to evaluate the impact climate change will have on inhabitants of dune ecosystems and impacts may vary depending on the land use. Therefore, conservation of this unique habitat and its species through proper management should be the focus to ensure the sand dunes and species inhabiting them are maintained.

Over-grazing by domestic livestock and wildlife

Western Spiderwort evolved with ungulate grazing as a natural disturbance, and therefore should tolerate some amount of grazing pressure. However, it is possible that the timing, duration, location and diet selection of cattle and ungulates today is unlike what occurred naturally with ungulates prior to European settlement. Grazing may benefit Western Spiderwort habitat by decreasing vegetation cover, increasing soil disturbance and reactivating more stabilized sand dunes (Lesica and Cooper 1999, Hugenholtz and Wolfe 2005). Conversely, heavy grazing may be harmful if plants are trampled or repeatedly grazed during the sensitive flowering period and not allowed to set seed, as this could affect fitness and productivity. In Saskatchewan, deer herbivory reduced flowering by nearly half in 3 out of 4 years (Godwin and Thorpe 2007). In Manitoba, herbivory by both deer and cattle was directly observed, and significant differences in flowering were observed between cattle grazing and exclusion areas (Goulet and Kenkel 1997). Plants resprout following herbivory and thus long-term survival of parent plants may not be affected by occasional grazing (Hohn 1994, Goulet and Kendel 1997). However, Remarchuk (2006) observed more non-reproductive stems on grazed Western Spiderwort plants. Also, Western Spiderwort occurred at significantly lower frequencies in a 50-year moderately-grazed sand dune pasture versus the adjacent ungrazed dunes in Oklahoma (4.6% versus 18.9% frequency, respectively; Sims et al. 1995).

Other Threats

Sand and gravel extracted from sand dunes is used for road construction, oil and gas activities (e.g., fracking), agriculture (e.g., potato farming), and personal use. Currently, there are active borrow pits near the Lauder Sand Hills population, and sand has been removed from a dune at Pakowki recently and in the past. Although there are no occurrences under immediate threat from large-scale extraction, with the continued need for aggregate it is possible these sand dunes also will be considered as sources.

Western Spiderwort occurs along a few right-of-ways in Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Road maintenance or upgrading activities, such as road widening or repair, mowing and herbicide applications intended to control weeds and woody vegetation are potential threats to these occurrences.

Oil and gas activities have been considered for the Pakowki Sand Hills in the past and they may pose a future threat to the Alberta and Manitoba populations (Hohn 1994, Smith 2002, Remarchuk 2005 and 2006); currently only the Pakowki location has any existing wells within 1 km of Western Spiderwort occurrences.

Recreational use of motorized or recreational vehicles (e.g., dune bikes, snowmobiles, all-terrain vehicles, 4 x 4 trucks) is occurring in Manitoba. In the Lauder Sand Hills, part of the dunes is used as a motocross race track. Some damage has been observed in the Routledge Sand Hills from snowmobiles or dune bikes (Goulet and Kenkel 1997, Krause-Danielson and Friesen 2009). The removal of western spiderwort plants for use in gardens may have occurred in the past at Routledge (Goulet and Kenkel 1997), but is now prohibited under the provincial Endangered Species Act.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tradescantie de l’Ouest (Tradescantia occidentalis) au Canada – 2013

4. Menaces

4.1 Évaluation des menaces

Tableau 2. Tableau d'évaluation des menaces. Version accessible du Tableau 2
MenaceNiveau de préoccupationaÉtenduebOccurrencecFréquencedGravitéeCertitude causalef
Espèces exotiques, envahissantes ou introduites
Espèces exotiques envahissantes
Euphorbe ésule (Euphorbia esula)
ÉlevéGénéralisée (Routledge, Lauder, Elbow)ActuelleSaisonnièreModéréeÉlevée
Gypsophile paniculée (Gypsophila paniculata)
Agropyre à crête (Agropyron cristatum)

 

Moyen

 

Localisée (Pakowki, Elbow)

 

Actuelle

 

Saisonnière

 

Faible

 

Faible à moyenne

Changements à la dynamique écologique ou aux processus naturels
Altération ou suppression des régimes de pâturage et d’incendieMoyenGénéralisée (toutes les dunes)ActuelleSaisonnièreFaible à modéréeMoyenne
Broutage excessif par les animaux domestiques ou sauvagesFaible à moyenGénéralisée (Lauder, Routledge, Elbow)ActuelleSaisonnièreModéréeFaible à moyenne
Perte d'habitat ou dégradation de l'habitat
AgricultureMoyenLocalisée (Lauder, Pakowki)Historique, actuelleUniqueModéréeÉlevée
Climat et catastrophes naturelles
Périodes climatiques humides prolongéesFaible à moyenGénéralisée (toutes les dunes)Historique, couranteInconnueInconnueMoyenne
Perte d'habitat et dégradation de l'habitat
Activités d’extraction (sablières et gravières)FaibleGénéralisée (Lauder, Pakowki)Inconnue, prévueUnique, récurrenteInconnueÉlevée
Entretien des routes ou construction de routesFaibleLocalisée (Elbow, Lauder)Courante, anticipéeUnique, saisonnière, récurrenteFaibleMoyenne à élevée
Activités pétrolières et gazièresFaibleLocalisée (Pakowki)AnticipéeContinueFaibleMoyenne à élevée
Perturbations ou destruction
Activités récréativesFaibleLocalisée (Routledge, Lauder)CouranteSaisonnière, unique, récurrenteFaibleÉlevée

a Niveau de préoccupation – indique si la gestion de la menace est, dans l’ensemble, une préoccupation de niveau élevé, moyen ou faible pour le rétablissement de l’espèce compte tenu de tous les facteurs énumérés ci-dessus.
b Étendue – indique si la menace est généralisée, localisée ou inconnue dans l’ensemble de l'aire de répartition de l'espèce.
c Occurrence – indique si la menace est historique (elle a contribué au déclin, mais n'a plus d'incidence sur l'espèce), courante (elle a actuellement une incidence sur l'espèce), imminente (elle devrait prochainement avoir une incidence sur l'espèce), anticipée (elle pourrait avoir une incidence sur l'espèce dans l’avenir) ou inconnue.
d Fréquence – indique si la menace a une occurrence unique, saisonnière (soit parce que l’espèce est migratrice ou que la menace n'a lieu qu'à un certain moment de l'année), continue (la menace se poursuit), récurrente (la menace a lieu de temps à autre, mais non sur une base annuelle ou saisonnière) ou inconnue.
e Gravité – indique si le niveau de la gravité de la menace est élevé (un très grand effet sur l’ensemble de la population), modéré, faible ou inconnu.
f Certitude causale – indique si les meilleures connaissances disponibles au sujet de la menace et de son impact sur la viabilité de la population sont de qualité élevée (les preuves établissent un lien causal entre la menace et les stress sur la viabilité de la population), moyenne (corrélation entre la menace et la viabilité de la population, opinion d'un expert, etc.) ou faible (si la menace est seulement présumée ou plausible).

4.2 Description des menaces

Toute perte supplémentaire d'habitat des populations connues de tradescanties de l'Ouest aurait un effet défavorable sur la survie de l'espèce au Canada (Smith, 2002; Remarchuk, 2006). Toute les pertes futures d'habitat découleront très probablement d'activités ayant un impact direct, comme l’agriculture ou les activités pétrolières et gazières, ou d’une dégradation de l'habitat résultant de processus comme l'invasion par des espèces exotiques envahissantes et de facteurs ayant une incidence sur la stabilisation des dunes (climat, broutage et régimes d’incendie). Les menaces qui pèsent sur la tradescantie de l'Ouest ne sont pas les mêmes dans toute l'aire de répartition et sont plus pressantes pour certaines populations que pour d'autres. Les menaces sont classées de la plus préoccupante à la moins préoccupante.

Espèces exotiques envahissantes

Certaines espèces de plantes exotiques envahissantes peuvent être relativement non appétissantes pour le bétail ou la faune, ou peuvent modifier les caractéristiques des combustibles et les régimes d’incendie (Brooks et coll., 2004). Une invasion de ces espèces de plantes exotiques envahissantes pourrait ainsi stabiliser les dunes et représenter une menace indirecte pour l'habitat de la tradescantie de l'Ouest. Certaines plantes exotiques envahissantes peuvent entrer directement en compétition et donc représenter une menace directe : grâce à leur compétitivité supérieure, ces espèces peuvent supplanter des espèces indigènes et réduire ainsi la diversité ou la richesse des espèces, et avoir une incidence négative sur le fonctionnement de l'écosystème (Wilson, 1989; Wilson et Belcher, 1989; Reader et coll., 1994; Christian et Wilson, 1999; Bakker et Wilson, 2001; Henderson, 2005; Henderson et Naeth, 2005).

L'euphorbe ésule, une espèce eurasienne envahissante, est présente aux endroits ou à proximité des endroits où se sont établies les populations de tradescanties de l'Ouest en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba (Smith, 2002). Elle réduit l'abondance des espèces indigènes dans les secteurs où elle est présente et elle est susceptible de transformer ces secteurs en peuplements monospécifiques stabilisés (Wilson et Belcher, 1989). Au Manitoba, 95 % des occurrences d'euphorbe ésule étaient associées à des perturbations anthropiques telles que des coupe-feu ou des pistes laissées par les véhicules, car il est plus facile pour l'euphorbe de s'établir dans des secteurs où le sol est plutôt dénudé (Wilson et Belcher, 1989); les dunes mobiles peuvent être particulièrement vulnérables à l'établissement de l'euphorbe ésule. L'agropyre à crête a été observé dans les dunes Pakowki et Elbow, et la gypsophile paniculée dans les dunes Pakowki; les effets à long terme de ces espèces sur la tradescantie de l'Ouest ou son habitat ne sont pas connus. Il est aussi possible que la tradescantie de l'Ouest soit détruite ou que son habitat soit altéré par l'emploi inconsidéré d'herbicides dans l'intention de contrôler les espèces envahissantes.

Altération ou suppression des régimes de pâturage et d’incendie

La tradescantie de l'Ouest préfère les habitats dunaires, spécifiquement les versants de dunes récemment ou partiellement stabilisées (Godwin et Thorpe, 2006); sans les perturbations qui contribuent à créer des parcelles de sable partiellement mobiles ou mobiles, l'espèce pourrait connaître un déclin (Smith, 2002; Godwin et Thorpe, 2006). Les dunes du sud des Prairies canadiennes se sont stabilisées au cours du dernier siècle par l'effet combiné du climat et des changements dans les pratiques d'utilisation des terres depuis la colonisation européenne (Epp et Townley-Smith, 1980; Wallis, 1988; Wallis et Wershler, 1988; Commission géologique du Canada, 2001). Les changements dans les pratiques d'utilisation des terres qui contribuent à la stabilisation des dunes sont notamment l'éradication du bison (Bison bison), une réduction de la fréquence et de l'étendue des feux de prairies, ainsi qu'une uniformisation des régimes de pâturage (Higgins et coll., 1989; Frank et coll., 1998; Brockway et coll., 2002; Samson et coll., 2004; Hugenholtz et Wolfe, 2005). On estime que, dans les Prairies, moins de 1 % des dunes sont toujours mobiles, alors que 10 % à 20 % l’étaient il y a quelques centaines d'années (Wolfe et coll., 2001), et que le taux de stabilisation a été de 10 % à 20 % par décennie sur une période de 40 ans (Manitoba; Wolfe et coll., 2000), quoiqu’on ait vu des taux aussi élevés que 40 % par décennie sur une période de 50 ans (Middle Sand Hills; Bender et coll., 2005) ou que 30 % à 90 % depuis les années 1940 (Wallis, 1988). À défaut de perturbations naturelles comme le broutage et les feux, qui interagissent avec les cycles de sécheresse et perturbent la croissance de la végétation, la succession écologique peut mener à la stabilisation et à végétalisation complète des dunes (Potvin et Harrison, 1984; Hulett et coll., 1966). La stabilisation des parcelles de sable ouvertes peut entraîner une diminution de la capacité de colonisation (de nouveaux secteurs) ou de dispersion (dans les secteurs qu’elle occupe déjà) de la tradescantie de l'Ouest par dissémination de ses graines.

L’évolution des plantes de prairies a été influencée par des processus écologiques comme les feux et le broutage. Historiquement, les perturbations naturelles, qui se produisaient fréquemment, au hasard et à différentes échelles et ampleurs dans l'ensemble de l’habitat, ont contribué à la structure et à la composition des communautés végétales ainsi qu'à l'intégrité écologique générale des prairies (Daubenmire, 1968; White, 1979; Lesica et Cooper, 1999). Il est possible que, historiquement, les feux survenus en été et en automne aient contribué à la génération d’une végétation luxuriante au printemps suivant, végétation qui aurait attiré de grands troupeaux de ruminants, comme le bison (Higgins, 1986; Vinton et coll., 1993), ce qui aurait entraîné la réactivation des dunes. La déstabilisation des dunes et la perturbation de la succession végétale sont plus susceptibles d’être provoquées par la combinaison des feux et du broutage que par chacune de ces perturbations prises séparément (Lesica et Cooper, 1999). Les dunes se sont stabilisées dans des secteurs soumis à des feux répétés, mais à peu de broutage, de même que dans des secteurs ayant subi un broutage intensif, mais peu de feux (Wallis et Wershler, 1988). Historiquement, on pensait que la stabilisation des dunes mobiles était une bonne pratique de conservation, et les gestionnaires de terres essayaient de stabiliser les dunes en éteignant les feux, en ressemant intensivement, en changeant les régimes de pâturage et en comblant les creux dunaires en y plaçant des objets (comme des pneus ou des balles) (David, 1977; Wallis et Wershler, 1988). Ce n'est que récemment que l'on a compris l’importance des dunes mobiles pour la faune.

Agriculture

En général, les secteurs dunaires actuels qui sont occupés par la tradescantie de l'Ouest ne sont pas considérés comme étant de grande qualité pour l'agriculture en raison du faible taux d’humidité du sol, de la pauvreté du sol et du risque élevé d'érosion éolienne (Commission géologique du Canada, 2001). Néanmoins, ces secteurs sont entourés de prairies mixtes qui sont généralement converties en terres cultivées; les dunes deviennent alors des îlots dans un paysage dominé par les cultures (Neufeld et Henderson, obs. pers.). En outre, au sein des complexes dunaires où la topographie est relativement plane, l’irrigation est possible pour la culture de la pomme de terre, de la betterave à sucre et du maïs (Neufeld, obs. pers.). Une bonne partie des dunes Pakowki (en Alberta) est constituée de plaines sablonneuses pratiquement planes, bordées de dunes. Des complexes dunaires de l'Alberta et du Manitoba, qui ont un modelé semblable, ont déjà été convertis en cultures irriguées (Neufeld et Henderson, obs. pers.); cette menace relative est vraisemblablement atténuée par l’investissement qu’exige l'aménagement des systèmes d'irrigation et d'approvisionnement en eau. La conversion historique des habitats de prairies sablonneuses indigènes en terres cultivées a sans doute contribué à la destruction et à la fragmentation de l'habitat historique de la tradescantie de l'Ouest. L'agriculture entraînera des pertes d'habitat définitives pour lesquelles aucune mesure d'atténuation n'existe (Alberta Western Spiderwort Recovery Team, 2004).

Périodes climatiques humides prolongées

À l’échelle historique, le climat a joué un rôle important dans la stabilité des dunes, car les périodes de sécheresse et d'humidité peuvent avoir une incidence sur la couverture végétale des dunes en exposant plus ou moins le sable à l'érosion éolienne (Thorpe et coll., 2001; Wolfe et coll., 2001). Une augmentation des cycles climatiques humides au cours des 100 à 150 dernières années a stimulé la croissance de la végétation et la stabilisation des dunes, en dépit des courtes périodes de sécheresse (Wolfe et coll., 1995; Vance et Wolfe, 1996; Wolfe et coll., 2000; idem, 2001). Les prévisions et les modèles récents en matière de changements climatiques pour les dunes des Prairies canadiennes prévoient la réactivation de certaines crêtes dunaires en raison de l'augmentation de l'aridité et des températures, et ce, malgré une augmentation des précipitations en hiver et au printemps (Thorpe et coll., 2001; Wolfe et coll., 2001). Toutefois, en raison de l'incertitude liée à ces modèles, il est difficile d'évaluer l'incidence que les changements climatiques auront sur les espèces des écosystèmes dunaires, et les répercussions peuvent varier selon l'utilisation des terres. Par conséquent, l’adoption de mesures de gestion adéquates de conservation de cet habitat unique et des espèces qu'il abrite doit être l'objectif principal si l'on veut préserver les dunes et assurer le maintien des espèces y vivent.

Broutage excessif par les animaux domestiques ou sauvages

Le broutage par les ongulés est une perturbation naturelle historique pour tradescantie de l'Ouest; elle devrait donc tolérer un certain niveau de broutage. Il est cependant possible que le mode d’alimentation (moment, durée, lieu, contenu) d’aujourd’hui des animaux, bétail ou ongulés sauvages, diffère du mode d’alimentation des ongulés sauvages avant la colonisation européenne. Le broutage peut bénéficier à l'habitat de la tradescantie de l'Ouest en réduisant la couverture végétale, et en augmentant la perturbation des sols et la réactivation des dunes stabilisées (Lesica et Cooper, 1999; Hugenholtz et Wolfe, 2005). Cependant, le broutage excessif peut être dommageable : si les plants sont piétinés ou broutés à répétition au cours de la période névralgique de floraison et que la production de graines est gênée, cela pourrait avoir une incidence sur leur aptitude phénotypique et leur productivité. En Saskatchewan, l'herbivorie par les cerfs a entraîné une réduction de près de 50 % de la floraison trois années sur quatre (Godwin et Thorpe, 2007). Au Manitoba, l'herbivorie par les cerfs et le bétail a été observée directement, ce qui a permis de constater des différences marquées dans la floraison entre les secteurs de pâturage du bétail et les zones d'exclusion (Goulet et Kenkel, 1997). Les plants broutés produisent des rejets; selon toute vraisemblance, la survie à long terme des plants mères n'est pas menacée par le broutage occasionnel (Hohn, 1994; Goulet et Kendel, 1997). Toutefois, Remarchuk (2006) a observé un plus grand nombre de rejets non reproducteurs sur les plants de tradescantie de l'Ouest qui avaient été broutés. De plus, en Oklahoma, la tradescantie de l'Ouest était beaucoup moins répandue dans les pâturages dunaires ayant été broutés modérément sur une période de 50 ans que dans les dunes non broutées situées à proximité (fréquence de 4,6 % contre 18,9 %, respectivement; Sims et coll., 1995).

Autres menaces

Le sable et le gravier extraits des dunes sont utilisés pour la construction des routes, les activités pétrolières et gazières (p. ex. fracturation), l'agriculture (p. ex. culture de pommes de terre), et à des fins personnelles. À l'heure actuelle, des sablières sont en activité près de la population des dunes Lauder, et du sable a été extrait d'une dune au site Pakowki, récemment et dans le passé. Bien qu’aucune occurrence ne soit menacée dans l'immédiat par des activités d'extraction à grande échelle, il est possible que ces dunes soient également considérées comme des sources de granulats si les besoins continuent d'augmenter.

La tradescantie de l'Ouest est présente le long de quelques droits de passage au Manitoba et en Saskatchewan. Les activités d'entretien et d'amélioration des routes telles que l'élargissement et la réparation des routes, le fauchage et les traitements herbicides visant à contrôler les mauvaises herbes et la végétation ligneuse sont des menaces potentielles pour ces occurrences.

Des activités pétrolières et gazières ont déjà été envisagées dans les dunes Pakowki. Elles pourraient un jour représenter une menace pour les populations de l'Alberta et du Manitoba (Hohn, 1994; Smith, 2002; Remarchuk, 2005; idem, 2006). À l'heure actuelle, le site Pakowki est le seul où des puits sont situés à moins de un kilomètre de populations de tradescanties de l'Ouest.

Des véhicules motorisés ou récréatifs (p. ex. motos tout-terrain, motoneiges, véhicules tout-terrain, camions à quatre roues motrices) sont utilisés au Manitoba. Dans les dunes Lauder, une partie des dunes sert de piste de motocross. Certains dommages attribuables aux motoneiges ou aux motos tout-terrain ont été observés dans les dunes Routledge (Goulet et Kenkel, 1997; Krause-Danielson et Friesen, 2009). Il est possible que des plants de tradescantie de l'Ouest aient déjà été prélevés à Routledge pour être transplantés dans des jardins (Goulet et Kenkel, 1997), mais cette pratique est maintenant interdite en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition du Manitoba.