Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Sage Thrasher (Oreoscoptes montanus)

Species Information

Name, Classification and Taxonomy

The Sage Thrasher, Oreoscoptes montanus, is the only member of the genus Oreoscoptes, and is probably more closely related to the mockingbirds of the genus Mimus than to thrashers in the genus Toxostoma (Reynolds et al. 1999).  There are no recognized subspecies, though birds in northern populations tend to have longer tails.

Description

A small thrasher (slightly smaller than an American Robin) with, when compared to other thrashers, a relatively short bill and tail.  Drab greyish-brown above with grey-brown stripes below; face appears streaked with a whitish supercilium and black streaks on the sides of the throat.  Sexes are similar.  Song is a long, musical series of warbling notes.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Moqueur des armoises (Oreoscoptes montanus)

Information sur l’espèce

Nom, classification et taxinomie

Le Moqueur des armoises (Oreoscoptes montanus) est le seul membre du genre Oreoscoptes; c’est probablement un parent plus proche des moqueurs du genre Mimus que de ceux du genre Toxostoma (Reynolds et al., 1999). On ne lui reconnaît pas de sous-espèces, bien que les oiseaux des populations nordiques tendent à avoir la queue plus longue que les autres.

Description

Le Moqueur des armoises est un peu plus petit que le Merle d’Amérique et, comparativement aux autres moqueurs, sa queue et son bec sont relativement courts. Il a le haut du corps brun grisâtre et des lignes brun-gris sur la poitrine et le ventre. La face du Moqueur des armoises porte une rayure superciliaire blanchâtre et des rayures noires sur les côtés de la gorge. Le mâle et la femelle sont d’aspect semblable, et leur chant est une longue série musicale de gazouillements.