Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Sage Thrasher (Oreoscoptes montanus)

Limiting Factors and Threats

Because of the Sage Thrasher's dependence on the sagebrush environment, almost all of the factors limiting its populations concern the loss, alteration, or degradation of this environment.

Loss of sagebrush habitat to agriculture, strip mining and residential developments has caused great concern for birds dependent on that environment in the United States (Braun et al. 1976).  Huge areas of sagebrush in Washington state have been converted to wheatfields in the past century, especially since the construction of the Grand Coulee Dam (Weber 1980).  Sizeable areas of Alberta Sage Thrasher habitat have been lost to agricultural development of dryland farming areas (Bruce MacGillivray, pers. comm.).

Approximately half of the historic area of sagebrush steppe in the United States has been lost to intensive agriculture, and only half of the remaining portion is in good grazing condition with native understory remaining (West 1996).

There are few data concerning the effects of pesticides on Sage Thrashers.  Aerial application of Malathion (585 gm/ha) in Idaho reduced the insect population available to breeding thrashers, but there were no significant effects on nestling survival (Howe et al. 1996).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Moqueur des armoises (Oreoscoptes montanus) au Canada – Mise à jour

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Comme le Moqueur des armoises dépend des armoises, presque tous les facteurs qui limitent ses populations concernent la perte, l’altération ou la dégradation des habitats abritant ces arbustes.

La perte des habitats d’armoises au profit de l’agriculture, de l’extraction à ciel ouvert et du lotissement résidentiel est une grande source de préoccupation à l’égard des oiseaux qui dépendent de cet écosystème aux États-Unis (Braun et al., 1976). Au Washington, d’immenses zones d’armoises ont été converties en champs de blé depuis un siècle et, plus particulièrement, depuis la construction du barrage de Grand Coulée (Weber, 1980). En Alberta, de vastes portions d’habitat du Moqueur des armoises ont été perdues au profit du développement agricole de zones d’aridoculture (Bruce MacGillivray, comm. pers.).

Environ la moitié de la superficie historique des steppes d’armoises aux États-Unis a disparu à cause de l’agriculture intensive, et seulement la moitié de la portion restante a de bonnes conditions de pâturage et conserve son sous-étage indigène (West, 1996).

On n’a guère de données sur les effets des pesticides sur le Moqueur des armoises. L’application aérienne de malathion (585 g/ha) en Idaho a réduit la population d’insectes disponible pour les moqueurs reproducteurs, sans toutefois avoir d’effet significatif sur la survie des oisillons (Howe et al., 1996).