Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Hoary Mountain-mint (Pycnanthemum incanum (L.) Michx.)

RECOVERY

1.  Recovery Goal

The long-term recovery goal for this species is to ensure that the extant populations are protected with no further losses of habitat or populations.  In addition, it is imperative to implement proper management practices to portions of the recovery habitat of this species in order to allow for the potential reintroduction of self-sustaining populations to historical locations. 

 

2.  Recovery Objectives(2006-2011)

Objective 1: Ensure protection of the habitat of extant populations through implementation of appropriate management techniques

            Strategy 1 Annual monitoring of existing populations & habitat

            Strategy 2 Promotion of stewardship and awareness among landowners and the public

            Strategy 3 Habitat mapping with Ecological Land Classification (ELC) standards and Conservation Land Tax Incentive Program (CLTIP) guidelines

            Strategy 4 Invasive species removal at existing sites & monitoring

Objective 2: Increase population size of existing populations to self-sustainable levels

            Strategy 1 Determination of species requirements

            Strategy 2 Seed collection and propagation of plant material

            Strategy 3 Planting (augmentation) or site maintenance to increase population size at

                            selected areas, if required

Objective 3: Investigate feasibility of restoring recovery habitat and reintroducing individuals to historic sites

            Strategy 1 Investigation of the effects of prescribed burning

            Strategy 2 Investigation of possibilities for species reintroduction

The recovery objectives for this species place great emphasis on ensuring protection of extant populations. The success of these efforts can be measured through ongoing monitoring of populations and threats, assessment of habitat conditions, and evaluation of the effectiveness of management, stewardship and education programs.  

 

3.  Approaches for Meeting Recovery Objectives

A wide range of strategies and approaches are recommended for achieving the short-term and long-term recovery goals for Hoary Mountain-mint in Canada. . A summary of recommended activities for species recovery is provided in Table 1. Each type of activity is categorized according to its priority, actions, and anticipated effects.

Table 1.  Strategies and Approaches for Recovery

PriorityObjective StrategyBroad ApproachThreats AddressedSpecific StepsAnticipated Effect
Critical11yearly monitoring Monitor population annually and maintain database of the data collectedOngoing assessment of population status
Necessary 1yearly monitoringSlumpingMonitor effects of slumping on populationsDetermine if there is a need for bank stabilization
Critical 2habitat protection

Accidental destruction,

Dumping, Succession and Fire suppression

Educate landowners and municipalities about species presence, threats and management optionsEnhanced protection for areas that are recognized as endangered species habitat
Critical 3habitat mapping Map current and potential habitat with ELC standards Improved understanding of habitat and its characteristics; provision of information for habitat protection, and identification of potential habitats for introduction
Critical 4invasive removalInvasive speciesRemove invasive species at existing sitesPrevention of the loss of populations through encroachment
Beneficial21population studies Determine species requirementsIdentification of life history attributes, germination requirements, ecological niche, studies of genetic variation should be initiated
Beneficial 2propagation Collect seed and propagate plant materialProvision of plants that can be used as a basis for further studies
Necessary 3reintroductionSmall population sizeIncrease population size at selected areas through planting (reintroduction) or site maintenanceProvision of plants to augment numbers and ensure genetic variability in natural populations
Necessary31habitat restorationSuccession and Fire suppressionInvestigate effects of prescribed burning on Hoary Mountain-mintBurning may increase habitat quality and suitable habitat available for species reintroduction
Beneficial 2propagationSmall population sizeInvestigate possibilities for species reintroductionDetermination of the suitability of reintroduction in historic habitats

 

4.  Potential Impacts of Recovery Strategy on Other Species/Ecological Processes

Hoary Mountain-mint tends to occur with many prairie/savanna affiliates including:

Andropogon gerardii           Big Bluestem                          S4

Anemone cylindrica            Thimbleweed                         S4

Asclepias tuberosa              Butterfly-weed                       S4

Aster laevis                         Smooth Aster                         S5

Aster oolentangiensis         Sky-Blue Aster                      S4

Elymus canadensis            Canada Wild-rye                   S4S5

Helianthus divaricatus      Woodland Sunflower             S5

Lespedeza capitata            Round-headed Bush-clover    S4

Monarda fistulosa             Wild Bergamot                      S5

Panicum virgatum            Switchgrass                           S4

Quercus velutina              Black Oak                            S4

Schizachyrium scoparium   Little Bluestem                      S4

Most of these species have a rank of S4 in Ontario.  Further inventory of the habitat at these sites may reveal more species that are considered rare in Ontario (S3 or above).  For example, Few-flowered Club-rush is an Endangered species, which occupies similar habitat.  Coordination with the Few-flowered Club-rush recovery team and strategy should be investigated because these species share some similar threats and habitat requirements.  Additionally, both species may benefit from the same recovery actions.  

Much of the habitat in this area appears to be former oak savanna, which is a rare community type in Ontario.  Oak savanna is comprised of open-grown oak trees scattered across the landscape with a ground layer of tallgrass prairie species (Rodger, 1998).  It is possible that Hoary Mountain Mint occurs at these sites due to its affinity for dry open habitats.  It is not considered a prairie species, although other Pycnanthemum species (P. verticillatum var. pilosum, P. virginianum, P. tenuifolium) are considered prairie affiliates and are listed under the Tallgrass Communities Recovery Plan (Rodger, 1998).   Although this habitat may fall under the Tallgrass Communities Recovery plan, the extreme degradation of the habitat, including the lack of sufficient “rare” affiliates may make this area an unsuitable candidate for recovery under the auspices of the Tallgrass Community Recovery plan.  However, this option should be explored in further detail through discussion with members of the Tallgrass Recovery Team.  The small amount of area that represents the current habitat for this species can be easily managed as its own entity, and distinct management practices relating specifically to the habitat requirements of Hoary Mountain Mint should be considered.  

Any management practices put in place for Hoary Mountain-mint would be expected to have a positive effect on all of the species listed above and on the existing habitat.  Much of the habitat is being overrun with invasive species and management processes/activities that focus on the removal of invasive species will be especially important. 

5.  Actions Already Completed or Underway

This species is currently regulated under the Ontario Endangered Species Act.  This affords protection to the species and its habitat.  The current landowners have been informed of the presence of this species on their land through the regulation process (1986).  All landowners and adjacent landowners must be re-contacted in order to establish a communications network and to identify landowner concerns and opinions.

Some recovery actions have already been attempted informally over the last four years (2001-2005).  Small-scale manual removal of invasive species from the area surrounding one population has been ongoing. No assessment of the effectiveness of these actions has taken place.  There have been no recovery actions implemented at the other two sites, apart from the removal of a few shrubs at the "hanging prairie" site.

Seed and plant material were collected by the Royal Botanical Gardens (RBG) in 1999/2000 and preliminary propagation and seedbank studies have been completed.  In addition, plants propagated in 2000 were planted at a demonstration site at the Cootes Paradise Fishway where they will be used for further research and seed collection. 

Census surveys were conducted in 2000/2001 in areas where there were extant and historic records of Hoary Mountain-mint .  Nearby areas with similar habitat characteristics were also investigated for the presence of previously overlooked plants.  All populations were located within 1m with a Global Positioning System.  In addition, representative herbarium specimens were prepared to document each population.  These vouchers are stored at the RBG herbarium (HAM). 

Ecological Land Classification (ELC) surveys were completed for polygons containing Hoary Mountain-mint, noting also the extent of the Occupied Habitat, Endangered Plant Community, and Habitat Protection Zone within or in the vicinity of that polygon, as required for the Conservation Land Tax Incentive Program (CLTIP) (MNR, 1998).  Mapping was based on available airphotos, and is stored at the RBG in GIS files.  ELC data included floral inventory, soil and topographic description, and management/disturbance scoring.  Summaries of adjacent land-use were also provided.  Special note was made of any factors that may present a threat to the Hoary Mountain-mint populations. The results of the census and ELC surveys will be used to develop appropriate action plans for Hoary Mountain-mint populations in Ontario. 

Some habitat restoration has begun at one site.  The landowners are attempting to remove invasive species and restore the area to oak savanna and open woodland (O’Hara, 2002).

Planning for a prescribed burn at one site was initiated in the fall of 2005.  This effort is being led by Aurora and Guelph District MNR in cooperation with Halton-Peel Woodlands and Wildlife Stewardship.  Site preparation began in fall 2005 with removal of woody invasives and application of herbicide on stumps.  A successful prescribed burn was undertaken in April 2006 resulting in the clearing of woody debris and invasive species such as periwinkle.  Monitoring will continue through 2006 with a possible follow up prescribed burn in the spring of 2007.  

6.   Statement of When One or More Action Plans in Relation to the Recovery Strategy will be Completed

An Action Plan will be prepared by the Recovery Team, and if necessary with the assistance of a Recovery Implementation Group (RIG) by 2009.  It will address research needs, monitoring, site management and restoration.

7.  Evaluation

Performance measures for evaluation of the success of the approaches to recovery set out in this strategy will include the extent to which goals and objectives have been met, specifically:

Objective 1

1)     All populations have been monitored in a consistent manner for at least 3 consecutive years; monitoring results indicate stable or increasing populations

2)     Landowners and the public are aware of the presence of the species and its importance and are participating in recovery

3)     All habitat has been mapped using ELC and CLTIP mapping guidelines

4)     Invasive species have been removed for at least 1 site and effects have been assessed

Objective 2

1)     Species requirements for germination and survival have been determined

2)     Seeds have been collected and stored in a gene bank

3)     Propagation experiments have been completed

4)     Population sizes for at least 2 small sites have been increased to more than 10 plants through planting or habitat improvement

Objective 3

1)     Effects of prescribed burning have been assessed for this species through research and experimentation

2)     Historic sites have been assessed for suitability of reintroduction by seed or plantings

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Pycnanthème gris (Pycnanthemum incanum (L.) Michx.)

RÉTABLISSEMENT

1. But du rétablissement

Le but à long terme pour cette espèce estd'assurer la protection des populations actuelles et de prévenir toute nouvelle perte d’habitat ou de populations. De plus, il est essentiel de mettre en œuvre des activités de gestion dans certaines parties de l’habitat de rétablissment de cette espèce de façon à permettre la réintroduction potentielle de populations autosuffisantes dans les emplacements historiques.     

2. Objectifs du rétablissement (2006-2011)

Objectif 1 : Assurer une protection efficace de l’habitat de toutes les populations actuelles en mettant en œuvre des techniques de gestion appropriées.

Stratégie 1 :    Suivi annuel des populations et de l’habitat existants.

Stratégie 2 :    Promotion de l’intendance et de la sensibilisation des propriétaires fonciers et du grand public.

Stratégie 3 :    Cartographier l’habitat en s’appuyant sur les normes de la classification écologique des terres et sur les directives du Programme d’encouragement fiscal pour les terres protégées (PEFTP).

            Stratégie 4 : Enlèvement des espèces envahissantes aux sites existants et suivi.

Objectif 2 : Augmenter la taille des populations actuelles jusqu’à un niveau où elles seront autosuffisantes.

Stratégie 1 :    Détermination des exigences de l’espèce.

            Stratégie 2 :    Récolte de semences et propagation de matériel végétal.

            Stratégie 3 :    Plantation (augmentation) ou maintien des sites pour augmenter la taille des populations à certains sites sélectionnés, si nécessaire.

Objectif 3 : Étudier la faisabilité de remettre en état l’habitat de rétablissement et la réintroduction d’individus dans les sites historiques

Stratégie 1 :    Étudier les effets du brûlage dirigé.

Stratégie 2 :    Examiner les méthodes qui pourraient permettre la réintroduction de l’espèce. 

Les objectifs du rétablissement de cette espèce accordent une grande importance à la protection des populations actuelles. Le succès des efforts de rétablissement peut être mesuré par un suivi continu des populations et des menaces qui pèsent sur elles, par l’évaluation de l’état de l’habitat et par l’évaluation de l'efficacité des programmes de gestion, d'intendance et de sensibilisation.   

3. Approches proposées pour l'atteinte des objectifs du rétablissement

Un large éventail de stratégies et d’approches sont recommandées pour l’atteinte des buts à court terme et à long terme du rétablissement du pycnanthème gris au Canada. Le tableau 1 présente un sommaire des mesures recommandées pour le rétablissement de l’espèce. Chaque type de mesure est classé en fonction de sa qualité prioritaire, des mesures qu’elle contient et des résultats attendus. 

Tableau 1. Stratégies et approches pour le rétablissement du pycnanthème gris

Niveau de priorité
Objectifs StratégiesApproches généralesMenaces abordéesÉtape spécifiqueRésultats attendus
Essentiel11Suivi annuel Effectuer un suivi annuel des populations et maintenir une base de données rassemblant l'information recueillie.Évaluation continue de la situation des populations.
Nécessaire 1Suivi annuelÉboulementsEffectuer le suivi de l’impact des éboulements sur les populations.Détermination de la nécessité ou non de stabiliser les pentes abruptes.
Essentiel 2Protection de l'habitat

Destruction accidentelle,

dépôt de déchets, succession végétale et suppression des feux

Sensibiliser les propriétaires fonciers et les municipalités à la présence de l'espèce, aux facteurs qui la menacent et aux possibilités de gestion.Protection accrue des zones reconnues comme étant l'habitat d'une espèce en voie de disparition.
Essentiel 3Cartographie de l'habitat Cartographier l'habitat actuel et potentiel selon les normes de la CET. Meilleure compréhension de l’habitat et de ses caractéristiques, collecte d’information sur la protection de l'habitat et identification d'habitats potentiels pour la réintroduction.
Essentiel 4Enlèvement des espèces envahissantesEspèces envahissantesEnlever les espèces envahissantes aux sites actuels.Prévention de la perte de populations causée par l’empiétement.
Utile21Étude des populations Déterminer les exigences de l'espèce.Détermination des particularités du cycle biologique, des exigences pour la germination et de la niche écologique; des études sur la variation génétique doivent être entreprises.
Utile 2Multiplication Recueillir des graines et multiplier le matériel végétal.Production de plants qui pourront être utilisés pour des études.
Nécessaire 3RéintroductionEffectif réduitAugmenter la taille des populations par l’implantation d’individus (réintroduction)ou l’entretien des sites.Fournir des plants pour accroître l’effectif et la diversité génétique des populations naturelles.
Nécessaire31Remise en état de l'habitatSuccession végétale et suppression des feuxÉtudier les effets du brûlage dirigé sur le pycnanthème gris.Utilisation du brûlage dirigé qui pourrait améliorer la qualité de l'habitat et augmenter la quantité d’habitat convenable disponible pour la réintroduction de l'espèce.
Utile 2MultiplicationEffectif réduitExaminer les possibilités de réintroduction de l'espèce.Évaluation de la pertinence de réintroduire l’espèce dans les sites historiques.

 

4. Impacts potentiels sur d’autres espèces ou sur les processus écologiques

Le pycnanthème gris pousse en général en compagnie de nombreuses espèces associées aux prairies et aux savanes :

Andropogon gerardii               Barbon de Gérard                      S4

Anemone cylindrica                 Anémone cylindrique                  S4

Asclepias tuberosa                   Asclépiade tubéreuse                 S4

Aster laevis                              Aster lisse                                  S5

Aster oolentangiensis              Aster azuré                                 S4

Elymus canadensis                  Élyme du Canada                       S4S5

Helianthus divaricatus            Hélianthe à feuilles étalées          S5

Lespedeza capitata                 Lespédèze capitée                     S4

Monarda fistulosa                  Monarde fistuleuse                     S5

Panicum virgatum                Panic raide                                 S4

Quercus velutina                  Chêne noir                                 S4

Schizachyrium scoparium     Barbon à balais                           S4

La majorité de ces espèces ont la cote S4 en Ontario. Des inventaires plus détaillés de l’habitat de ces sites pourraient révéler la présence d'autres espèces qui sont rares en Ontario (S3 ou plus). Par exemple, le trichophore à feuilles plates est une espèce en voie de disparition qui occupe un habitat semblable.Il faudra étudier les possibilités de coordination avec l’équipe de rétablissement du trichophore à feuilles plates et avec son programme de rétablissement car les deux espèces partagent des menaces et des exigences en matière d’habitat qui sont semblables. De plus, les deux espèces peuvent tirer avantage des mêmes mesures de rétablissement.

Il semble qu’une grande partie de l’habitat où on trouve le pycnanthème gris soit une ancienne savane à chêne, un type de communauté végétale rare en Ontario. La savane à chêne se compose d'un sous-étage d'herbes hautes des prairies et de chênes ayant poussé en milieux ouverts et éparpillés dans le paysages (Rodger, 1998). Il est possible que le pycnanthème gris soit présent dans ces sites en raison de son attirance pour les habitats secs et ouverts. Bien que d’autres espèces de Pycnanthemum (P. verticillatum var. pilosum, P. virginianum, P. tenuifolium) soient considérées comme des espèces associées aux prairies et soient inscrites dans le Plan de rétablissement des communautés d’herbes hautes, le pycnanthème gris n’est pas considéré comme une espèce de prairies (Rodger, 1998). L’habitat du pycnanthème gris pourrait s’inscrire dans le Plan de rétablissement des communautés d’herbes hautes mais l’extrême dégradation de l’habitat, incluant le manque d’espèces associées « rares », pourrait faire que cet habitat ne représente pas un candidat convenable pour ce plan de rétablissement. Toutefois, cette possibilité doit être étudiée de façon plus détaillée par des discussions avec les membres de l’équipe de rétablissement des communautés d’herbes hautes. L’habitat du pycnanthème gris possède une petite superficie qui peut facilement être aménagée en tant qu’entité propre, et des pratiques d’aménagement distinctes reliées spécifiquement aux exigences de l’espèce en matière d’habitat doivent être considérées.   

Toutes les mesures de gestion mises en place pour le pycnanthème gris devraient avoir des effets positifs sur les espèces énumérées ci-dessus et l’habitat existant. Une grande proportion de l'habitat du pycnanthème gris subit l’empiètement par des espèces envahissantes, et les activités et processus de gestion axés sur l’enlèvement des espèces envahissantes seront particulièrement importants.

5. Mesures achevées ou en cours

Le pycnanthème gris est actuellement règlementé en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition de l’Ontario, ce qui procure une protection à l’espèce et à son habitat. Les propriétaires fonciers actuels ont été informés de la présence de l’espèce sur leurs terres conformément aux modalités prévues par la règlementation (1986). Il faut communiquer à nouveau avec tous les propriétaires fonciers et avec ceux des terres adjacentes dans le but mettre en place un réseau de communication et de cerner les préoccupations et les opinions de ces propriétaires.

Certaines mesures de rétablissement informelles ont été prises au cours des quatre dernières années(entre 2001 et 2005). On a notamment entrepris l'enlèvement manuel des espèces envahissantes qui entourent une des populations. L’efficacité de ces mesures n’a pas été évaluée. Aucune mesure de rétablissement n'a été prise dans les deux autres sites, sauf pour l'enlèvement de quelques arbustes dans le site de la « prairie suspendue ».

En 1999-2000, les Jardins botaniques royaux ont prélevé des graines et du matériel végétal, et des études préliminaires ont été réalisées sur la multiplication de l’espèce et le réservoir de graines. De plus, les plants produits en 2000 ont été transplantés dans une parcelle de démonstration à Cootes Paradise Fishway et seront utilisés pour la recherche et la récolte de graines.

En 2000-2001, des recensements ont été menés dans les secteurs d’où proviennent les mentions actuelles et historiques du pycnanthème gris. Les secteurs voisins présentant un habitat aux caractéristiques similaires ont également été explorés pour détecter une présence de l’espèce qui pourrait avoir été oubliée par les recherches précédentes. Toutes les populations ont été localisées à un mètre près à l’aide d’un système mondial de localisation GPS. De plus, des spécimens d’herbier représentatifs ont été préparés pour caractériser chaque population. Ces spécimens témoins sont conservés à l'herbier des JBR (HAM).

Des relevés des polygones contenant le pycnanthème gris ont été réalisés conformément aux normes de la classification écologique des terres (CET). Lors de ces relevés, on a également enregistré l’étendue de l’habitat occupé, de la communauté d’espèces en voie de disparition et de la zone protégée dans ces polygones et les environs, tel que requis pour le Programme d’encouragement fiscal pour les terres protégées (PEFTP (MRN, 1998). La cartographie a été réalisée à partir des photos aériennes disponibles et est conservée aux JBR dans des fichiers SIG. Les données des relevés CET comprennent l’inventaire floristique, une description des sols et de la topographie ainsi qu’une évaluation de la gestion des terres et des perturbations. Des résumés sur l’utilisation des terres adjacentes ont également été inclus. On a également pris en note tous les facteurs pouvant représenter une menace pour les populations de l’espèce. Les résultats des recensements et des relevés CET seront utilisés pour l’élaboration de plans d’action appropriés pour les populations du pycnanthème gris en Ontario.

Certaines mesures de remise en état de l’habitat ont été mises en oeuvre dans un des sites. Les propriétaires fonciers tentent d’enlever les espèces envahissantes et de remettre en état la savane à chênes et la forêt ouverte (O’Hara, 2002).

À l’automne 2005, on a commencé la planification d’un brûlage dirigé dans un des sites. Cette initiative est dirigée par le personnel du MRNO des districts d’Aurora et de Guelph, en collaboration avec le Halton-Peel Woodlands and Wildlife Stewardship. On a commencé à préparer le site à l’automne 2005 en enlevant les espèces envahissantes arbustives et en appliquant un herbicide sur les souches. Un brûlage dirigé a été entrepris avec succès en avril 2006. Celui-ci a permis d’éliminer des débris de bois et les espèces envahissantes comme la pervenche. Le suivi se continuera pendant toute l’année 2006 et il y aura possiblement un brûlage dirigé de suivi au printemps 2007.

6.   Échéancier prévu pour l’élaboration d’un plan d’action ou de plusieurs plans d’action

L’équipe de rétablissement préparera un plan d’action d’ici 2009, en faisant appel à un groupe de mise en œuvre du rétablissement, si nécessaire. Le plan abordera les besoins en matière de recherche, de suivi, de gestion et de remise en état des sites.

7. Évaluation

Le succès des approches de rétablissement définies par le présent programme pour l’atteinte des buts et des objectifs du rétablissement du pycnanthème gris peut être évalué par les mesures de rendement ci-dessous :

Objectif 1

1)     Toutes les populations ont été suivies de façon cohérente durant au moins trois années consécutives, et les résultats montrent qu’elles sont stables ou en croissance.

2)     Les propriétaires fonciers et le grand public sont sensibilisés à la présence et à l’importance de l'espèce et participent à son rétablissement.

3)     Tous les habitats ont été cartographiés conformément aux lignes directrices de la CET et du PEFTP.

4)     Les espèces envahissantes ont été enlevées dans au moins un site, et les effets ont été évalués.

Objectif 2

1)     Les exigences de l’espèce en matière de germination et de survie ont été déterminées.

2)     Des graines ont été récoltées et sont conservées dans une banque génétique.

3)     Des essais de multiplication ont été réalisés.

4)     L’effectif d'au moins deux petits sites est passé à plus de dix individus grâce à la transplantation ou à l'amélioration de l'habitat.

Objectif 3

1)     Les effets du brûlage dirigé sur l’espèce ont été évalués par des recherches et des expériences.

2)     Les sites historiques ont été évalués afin de déterminer s’ils sont appropriés pour la réintroduction par ensemencement ou par la transplantation de plantules.